We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Low Wood Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Low Wood Bay
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

To be fair we have visited this hotel now four times in the last few years and have to say it just gets beter. The staff are exeptionally helpfull and friendly nothing is ever to much trouble my husband decided he would like some toast unfortunatley it was in the evening and was not on the menu at his request he received not only some hot toast also assorted jams and marmalade on the subject of food breakfasts first class.

Room Tip: we like a quiet room so we do request a room at the back of the hotel as the main road infront of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casper021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear regular guest, once again thank you so much for your wonderful review – It is always good to receive feedback from our guest but even better when it is returning guests who continue to enjoy the hotel stay after stay. Again thank you for your review and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    451
    176
    78
    37
See reviews for
405
831
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just spent the 23rd-27th December at the low Wood on a Xmas package and we cannot thank the staff enough for the amazing Xmas they gave us. We have stayed at this hotel before and even on a New Year Package and always had a fabulous time, but this visit was exceptional. We travelled as 2 families children, teenager and grandparents and everyone of our group had a great time. The activities they had for the children, jet skiing santa, the hotel presents, the decor , the food/ gala dinners all were fabulous. We didnt turn the Tv on in our room once which is usually un heard of in our home at Xmas! It is the wonderful staff at this hotel that make it special , nothing is too much trouble and you feel like an old friend within minutes of arriving.
We even stayed an extra day and had the most beautiful Vow Renewal Ceremony and wedding dinner , all organised by the hotel.( special thanks to Gemma and Rhia)
We have never spent Christmas away from home before but I think the Low Wood Xmas is a family tradition we will be keeping. Many Thanks to Neville and his wonderful team for a fabulous staff

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the main building not the courtyard, especially the Lake View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy70Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
First on behalf of the Low Wood Bay Team we would wish to firstly thank you for staying during our Christmas Package and secondly wish you Happy New Year.

Your review is invaluable to other readers and is a first hand account of the effort undertaken by the team in ensuring firstly we are friendly but most of all enjoy working and providing great memories for all our guests.

Once again thank you for you words of encourage and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and indeed hopefully again at Christmas or indeed our New Year celebration

kind regards Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went on one of the winter deals which was excellent value for money. The staff are helpful & friendly food wonderful, view of the lake is lovely, pool & hot tub fabulous, beds big and lots of comfy cosy corners to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Rooms in the deal seem to be furthest away from restaurant, spa etc. but can be reached without goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNic_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent stay with us at Low Wood Bay, I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break for you time Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Our stay last night was superb. Rooms were excellent . Really nice clean bathroom. Bed very comfy and lots of choices of hot drinks.
Breakfast was of the highest quality with huge choice.
Spa facilities were great and the hot tub outside was amazing.
Prices were the only down side
Lager £4.50 a pint
Wine £18 per bottle or £6 per glass.
Burger in hotel £15

Bistro next to hotel is better value
It is worth paying prices for a one off as we found the facilities absolutely spot on and the service was friendly. Big mention for breakfast chef from Valencia Spain .
Very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the friendliness of our team, the breakfast, the clean and comfy room, the hot drinks, leisure club with hot tub and the location, I am sorry If you feel our drinks are slightly overpriced, we do aim to keep all costs to a reasonable amount and inline with the cost we incur from our suppliers.

When you next decide to visit Low Wood Bay please do not hesitate to contact me personally and I will try to ensure you have another enjoyable stay. Once again thank you for your review. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We came to the Low Wood Bay en masse - around 20 people who work together, so that might have been daunting for some establishments. Not this hotel - the staff went out of their way ti make us welcome and cater to us all and our requirements.
A cosy, friendly welcome, with excellent rooms and first-class facilities - all we could ask for and more besides!
I'll be back - and heartily recommend this delightful hotel in its stunning location to all who want to enjoy the Lakes.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay for the Christmas party night. It was great to hear that all 20 members of your party thoroughly enjoyed themselves and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the service you experienced. Once again, many thanks for the review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel for another enjoyable stay in 2013. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

had to give huge congrats and compliments to all the saff at the hotel for their hard work on the evening, the chanpagne reception was fabby, then the Piper to lead us into the most amazingly decorated dinning room, could have been in Holliwood, the meal was fantastic, the entertainment was fantastic and the firework display after the Bells was great, I will have to book this New year, the best ever, Thank you all xxx

Room Tip: Sorry, we can't comment on the rooms as we were only there for the New Years eve party,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for choosing to see in the New Year of 2013 with us here at Low Wood Bay, I was delighted to read that that you enjoyed all aspects of our New Year Eve non resident dinner, especially the decorated rooms and the fireworks. We would love to welcome you to the hotel once again for another enjoyable gala dinner. The team at the hotel wish you a happy 2013 and Once again, many thanks for the review. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh,Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

just arrived back home from a two night break at the low wood bay hotel which was just perfect, nothing to much trouble and the very friendly staff just made it that bit more special for us. The loction just perfect with great views across lake windermere and Bowness just along the main road it was nice to get out and about and potter around the shops and tea rooms and off course a boat trip up & down lake windermere

Room Tip: rooms to the back are much quieter but if you want to upgrade for a lake view then there is that opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggystardust92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent stay with us at Low Wood Bay, I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break for you time Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay

Property: Low Wood Bay
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Low Wood Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing