We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely location, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A lovely location, lovely hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the 29th and 30th of October 2012. Booking was easy and booking in at reception was easy too. We were a little early to be given the key to the room, as the room was only ready at 3pm, but we knew this and so went for a walk into Ambleside. The room was great, had everything we needed. It was very clean and tidy. A few tiny cobwebs were missed during cleaning though over the top of the pelmets, but I left a note accordingly. The bathroom was large and took a while to warm up, but the shower made up for it as it was lovely and warm. We found that the floor would get extremely wet, and worked out that the shower curtain didn't go right round the roll top bath, and so water splashed out cause a puddle.

We went into the hotel restaurant on the Monday night, and cannot fault the food. It was delicious and the waiters was very attentive. The room itself had lovely decor and later we moved into the lounge area. Unfortunately the bar in the lounge area was closed, but the waiter was able to get drinks it they were required.

Breakfast was lovely, with great choice. Hot cooked breakfast or cereals, yogurts and fruit, cold meats, muffins, porridge, you could also order kippers or salmon at an extra cost.

The highlight for us was the leisure centre. We loved the jacuzzi but the main delight for us was the hot tub, which you had to just nip just out side of the leisure centre to get to, but it was only a few steps, once in it, it was fantastic, and you could see the sun going down over the lake.
All in all we really enjoyed the stay and on checking out were given a 10% discount for a return visit. I would definately stay here again I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: we were in room 418, it was large, and quiet, we had undisturbed sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trabic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your rewarding review regarding your recent stay at Low Wood Bay.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your break and in particular the food and décor and breakfast in the Windermere restaurant, the peaceful nights sleep and especially the outdoor hot tub with the view of the lake, I am glad you were able to catch the sun setting on the lake as it is stunning.

Thank you once again for your excellent review and I will ensure you comments are passed on to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break.

Kind RegardsMichelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    453
    176
    78
    37
See reviews for
407
833
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for two nights as it was our 35th wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the service was generally very good. The room was clean and comfortable with all of the expected amenities, but I have stayed in better equally priced hotel rooms. The leisure facilities were very good. We had a bar snack on the first evening, which was very good and the second evening we booked into the main restaurant for evening meal and the quality of the food was excellent. There are a number of very comfortable and private seating areas to chill out and have a quiet relaxing drink. The only negative note was that I discovered a long hair in my breakfast, which was reported, but when I collected a fresh breakfast the same thing occurred. This was reported to the manager who offered an immediate apology.

Despite this, I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wished to visit this part of the Lake District and would return myself in the future

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have excellent views across Windermere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tug568wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent 35th Wedding Anniversary stay with us at Low Wood Bay, congratulations once again. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay.

It was rewarding to read your comments regarding the friendly staff, the room and its cleanliness, the leisure facilities and the food in both the Langdale bar and the Windermere Restaurant.

Once again thank you for your review and I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team. I hope you deem us "well worth another visit" in the near future for another enjoyable break or anniversary celebration. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Low Wood which is situated between Windermere and Ambleside.

The room had a lovely view of the lake and we enjoyed an excellent massage in the hotel spa.

The food was very good, both dinner and breakfast and the staff helpful.

Room Tip: Go for the executive rooms, worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review since staying with us at the Low Wood Bay Resort hotel and Marina. It was pleasing to read you thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back in the near future. Kind regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights with the family, 3 kids and 6 adults. The hotel is beautifully appointed and in a great location however our room was dated and a little too far from the communal areas. The pool is great and the health club's facilities, food and drink were all excellent. We had some positive and negative service issues. Firstly one bar was loathe to get a bottle of wine from the the restaurant menu despite our sizeable order and bill. We were however able to get breakfast for our daughter after the official time and were offered coffee which was very thoughtful. Considering the standard of our room, this hotel is expensive so on balance we would probably look elsewhere before returning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andypandymacanandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest, Firstly I would like to thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at Low Wood Bay for your group of 6 adults and 3 children, it was great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.

I was disappointed to read that you had a mixed review in terms of service, there should never have been an issue providing you with a bottle of wine from the restaurant in the bar, I would like to apologise for this and assure you I will look into this matter and ensure that the same issue does not occur again. I was however pleased that we also demonstrated excellent service in that we were able to cater for the later requirements for your daughters breakfast.

Once again thank you for your comments and should you wish to visit the area again please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel where I will ensure you have another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived late Saturday afternoon after meandering our way over stopping off to admire the views and have a late lunch in a welcoming pub. The room was a little way from reception but perfect for the leisure club and another entrance that was easy to traverse. The food was first class - whether prime meat or fish which I love and the courses very ample - not forgetting a delicious pud.

The leisure club is small but includes a squash court, pool that serves both kids and adults but don't expect to put in the lengths to stave off that weight gain... I enjoyed a well deserved back massage and replaced the nails I had broken off while hurrying about my day to business..if only we had come sooner!

Room Tip: 278 or along that corridor places you very near the Spa and Leisure Pool and it is easy to get to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquitteesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your rewarding review – I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent chill out break, especially the food in the Windermere Restaurant and the very well deserved back massage. I will ensure you comments are passed on to the team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break. Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have been using this hotel with my disabled daughter three or four times a year since 1999. Can't beat it. Staff cannot do enough for you, very friendly. Restaurant serves a great meal. Bar snacks good! Lounge areas very comfortable. Reception staff very efficient. Rooms usually ready early.

Room Tip: Get a lake view well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear very regular guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent and often visits to us. It is as much a pleasure for us to welcome you and your daughter to the hotel as it is as you describe when you visit. Once again, many thanks for the review and I look forward to seeing you at New Year for another enjoyable stay. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here Sat 27th Oct after a fab activity day at Homescales Activity Centre
We were in a large group of 35 and all arrived together in coach. Check in was very quick and efficient. Staff looked after us all very well. Evening food gorgeous and all 35 of us served together. Well Organised breakfast. Plenty of choice and everything fresh.
Really enjoyed the stay and would like to visit again with my family

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your great comments about hotel, it is good to hear that your group of 35 enjoyed you’re stay and local activities. We do hope that you do choose to visit us again for either business or leisure. I will ensure your lovely comments are passed on to the team. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
320 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
1,020 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
927 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing