We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here Sat 27th Oct after a fab activity day at Homescales Activity Centre
We were in a large group of 35 and all arrived together in coach. Check in was very quick and efficient. Staff looked after us all very well. Evening food gorgeous and all 35 of us served together. Well Organised breakfast. Plenty of choice and everything fresh.
Really enjoyed the stay and would like to visit again with my family

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazzyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your great comments about hotel, it is good to hear that your group of 35 enjoyed you’re stay and local activities. We do hope that you do choose to visit us again for either business or leisure. I will ensure your lovely comments are passed on to the team. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,319 - 1,325 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked the Lowood resort because the staff were so helpful finding a family room as need to share a room with 3 grandchildren. The booking staff were most helpful and the room perfect.

The pool & changing area was attractive & always clean. All staff were helpful courteous. The food was plentiful & good quality, with reasonably priced childrens food in each restaraunt. There were many comfortable private areas to sit, read or play quite games.

The lakeside location was very pretty with small but provate gardens down to the lake. The spa area and sports facilities looked excellent for breaks without children.

Room Tip: Call direct and discuss your requirements. I had a junior suite on two levels with two TV's. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review about hotel, I am pleased to read that your family enjoyed the hotel, I hope your grandchildren made the most of Sam’s club and became members! It was also good to read that you enjoyed all of the hotels facilities including our leisure club! You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A splendid hotel nicely located on the east shore of Windermere 5 mins drive from Ambleside. Great leisure facilities and nice rooms. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast (available from 7am, essential for early starters). Lots of parking and occasionally some very attractive rates if you can get them. At full price the hotel becomes less attractive, Why? The evening meals are pricey so you have to drive to eat at a more reasonable price, which detracts from the overall experience. May as well stay in Ambleside or Bowness if you are going to have to drive there for a reasonably priced meal.

Room Tip: The newer part of the hotel is naturally more modern and futrher from the busy road hence quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear guest, many thank you so much for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially in terms of the friendliness of our team, the breakfast and location,

I am sorry If you feel our evening menu is slightly overpriced, we do aim to cater for all our guest needs and source most of out food within a local radius, with such we have three varying bars and restaurant, all of which serve food priced from £8.25 for a pizza in Café Del Lago’s to £15.50 for the famous Low Wood Bay Burger in our Windermere Restaurant. When you next decide to visit Low Wood Bay please do not hesitate to contact me personally and I will try to ensure you have another enjoyable stay.

Once again thank you for your review. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel and once again it did not disappoint. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food in the Restaurant was first class.
If the weather is not good the spa facilities still alllow you to have a nice relaxing time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent wonderful review. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your comments with other Trip advisor readers and we very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

WOW! No other word for it! both me and my now husband got marreid at the low wood this year and i cannot fault it at all ! we were made to feel sooo special the staff were amazing , it was like home from home! The wedding planner was fab and our family and friends were looked after just as well , highly reccomended ! The food was to die for and the rooms were something else , should be 5 star and not 4!

Room Tip: all our family and friends said all rooms were fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shani t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Smith, thank you for your WOW review and the fantastic comments about the hotel and the team. I am so pleased that you chose Low Wood Bay, It was a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day. I will pass on your comments to Gemma our Wedding Co-coordinator.

We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel to enjoy your first wedding anniversary in 2013. Once again congratulations. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times, two years in a row. We found the hotel to be very comfortable with spacious family rooms and good facilities. The public areas are extensive, nicely decorated in a modern style and very comfortable with lots of corners with squashy sofas that you can disappear into for a drink, read the paper etc. What really made this hotel special for us was the staff, they're exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were traveling with a baby and nothing was too much trouble, they even remembered us in the restaurant and remembered our daughters name! The restaurant is huge so run with military precision. The breakfast choice was excellent, huge buffet with all kinds of fruit and healthy options. Good cooked breakfast choices for the not so health conscious. Evening meals were lovely with lots of choice and surprisingly grown up for a family environment which was quite welcome. Combined with the Leisure club attached to the hotel Low Wood makes a great choice for families of all ages, come rain or shine!

Room Tip: The hotel does front onto a marina but the road runs in between the two so if you like your windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadySeddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you once again chose Low Wood Bay as a place to enjoy a short break for you and your family. I was pleased to read that you thought our team made your stay extra special and that you enjoyed the public areas, with the squashy sofa’s as well as the breakfast and evening meals in the Windermere Restaurant.

Once again, many thanks for the review and I look forward to seeing you both and you baby daughter again soon for another enjoyable stay. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

fantastic over night stay great food, and amazing staff, nothing too much trouble, we go every year around October and we are never disappointed. We only live 40 minutes drive from the heart of the lakes so we have tried numerous hotels and b&bs over the years, but Low Wood is bar far the best, so all being well we'll be back next year.

Liz and Les

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Liz and Les, many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent 25th Wedding Anniversary stay with us at Low Wood Bay, congratulations once again. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel in October next year (if not before). Once again thank you for your review and I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
555 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $211 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing