We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 19, 2008

Recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with family.

The hotel had 2 nice lounge areas to relax as well as a good pool and well equipped gym. Perfect for everyone to do their own thing. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and had lovely meal.

Room was nice and clean but could do with updating a bit. We got a special deal on the hotels site, otherwise i think £200 a night would have been a bit over the top. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying their again.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Chez5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,679 - 1,685 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2008

Having read some of the reviews after we had booked ,I was a little worried about the weekend. I am very pleased to say that it exceeded our expectations. Friendly staff ,great view from the room and pool within a very short distance of our room. It was lovely to be able to swim and enjoy the liesure facilities until 10.00 pm.
We had two great walks directly from the hotel ,up towards Wansfell and Troutbeck.
We will definitely return

Stayed: March 2008
Thank BlueskiesYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

My partner took me for my 30th birthday for something a little special. The hotel was beautiful and staff very helpful. Not in the ideal location to walk on foot into the towns and also set on a busy main road. Our room was nice and overlooked the lake if not a little on the small side, however the white towelling dressing gowns and fresh coffee more than made up for it and the bathroom was immaculate. Leisure facitlies good and the outdoor hot tub amazing with views over lake (however don't wait for it to become vacant as you will be waiting forever so just gatecrash). Ate dinner in the hotel which was gorgeous and very swanky (although at £35 each for a set menu not cheap)! Second night ate out in Bowness at a tapas place which was really good and next door to a bar with a vast arrange of continental beers and cocktails. Ordered taxi from hotel at a cost of £6 each way which was well worth it. Don't order the packed lunch - it was dreadful 'a curled up sarnie, can of pepsi, piece of fruit and a fun size mars bar' all for a cost of £12 (it was missing a few items though). Overall a relaxing and classy hotel for those of you who want a little something special!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VonnieNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We spent the weekend here as part of a large family birthday celebration. The staff are, without exception, polite, cheerful and helpful. The rooms are adequate but as others have said disappointing for a 4 star. All was clean and tidy but our lakeside room on first floor had a very small shower room and the wind howled through the window. The newer rooms at the rear of the hotel (no view) have much better bathrooms. The lounge was great and allowed are large party to gather and enjoy drinks and lunch. Dinner was good but expensive. Breakfast was delcious and fresh bunches of flowers for mums on mother's day a bonus.
We all enjoyed the swimming pool and outdoor hot tub and my massage was great. Lovely walks from the hotel door and close to Ambleside and Windermere.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We paid extra for a "feature" room with a lake view. Little did I know that the "feature" would be the wind whistling through the ill fitted double glazed window. Admittedly it was a particularly windy couple of nights, but that isn't unusual in the Lake District in winter!

I asked to be moved to another room, but the hotel was fully booked, and the receptionist didn't really seem that bothered. After a very disturbed nights sleep, I complained again to the duty manager, he said he would try and sort something out, but nothing materialised, and there was no offer of compensation either.

Apart from the wind, there was also the main road from Windemere to Ambleside that runs right outside the hotel, so that added to the noise. I wish I'd come to trip advisor first as the hotel website obviously doesn't mention the road.

The website advertises a feature room as having either a four poster, or a canopy bed, neither of which we had. It also says "Luxury" bathroom. Well "luxury" in this case meant a whirlpool bath that didn't work properly, and a shower over it that took ages to warm up. There was a very fine line between scalding & freezing and it took several minutes of miniscule knob twiddling to get it right!

Outside of the room, the hotel was shabby in places with threadbare carpet, and gaps between carpet and skirting boards. The reception area, bar, lounge & restaurant were all very impressive. The staff on the whole were very polite and helpful. The meal we had in the restaurant was very nice, but quite expensive for what it was. We also ate in the attached bistro, but this was little better than a cheap cafe. It mainly offered Italian fare, but the Carbonara & Spaghetti bolognaise that we had were well below par. I can do better myself!!

Enjoyed the breakfast, although it was extremely busy on the Sunday morning and we had to wait for a few minutes.

For a 4 star hotel, I'd say it's pretty poor, and certainly not worth the money I paid. Would I recommend it to a friend? NO.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Easy_Rider_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

Stayed for my 50th birthday. First floor room with lake view - supposed to be superior room in 4 star hotel. Room was not very big and bathroom was size of a shower and wc. (with leaflets suggesting we ordered champagne to drink in the bath). TV has limited range of channels. Fairly clean but very pretty cover on bed was worn and looked grubby along the edges. Lovely lake view but spoilt by traffic thundering almost directly under the window all day. Did go quiet at night. Pool inadequate and open to outside guests so on returning one day we had to use overflow car park about about 100 yds from hotel. Buffet breakfast not up to usual 4 star standard and you had to make your own toast. Staff very pleasant and helpful though. Did not eat in hotel in evening too expensive. (Went into Ambleside which was great). Overall disappointed for what it cost us. Needs a bit of sprucing up

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sheepdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my sister's 50th birthday. It is a big rambling lakeside hotel in between Windermere and Ambleside. Our room was fine - but it lacked all the amenities one would expect in a four star hotel like a fridge or minibar or really nice toiletries. The TV was pathetic - no BBC 3 or 4, or News24 or any other freeview channels or movie channels.
The hotel appeared to be thrown together with no planning. To go to breakfast or reception we had to walk through endless staircases & corridors and through what appeared to be the laundry room even though we were paying a premium for an upgraded room.
There were no plans for the hotel. To go to the 'leisure club' i.e. swimming pool and spa and gym we had to either leave the building and cross through a parking lot in the freezing cold or to charge through 2 and a half floors of staircases and corridors. The leisure club itself was barely adequate apart from the gym. The pool was small; the sauna and changing rooms were miniscule and the latter was wet and dirty.
Breakfast was a real disappointment. There was the usual range of cheap fried ingredients one would find in a cheap b&B. The only cereals were Kellogs. The bread was supermarket sliced bread. The only saving grace was that they immediately supplied my coeliac suffering niece with gluten free bread at dinner (but not breakfast). Dinner itself was good however but very expensive.
Considering this hotel was £128 a night for B&B only- it was shocking

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
468 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,080 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $198 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing