We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is an average tourist hotel. Staff are friendly. Nothing exciting about food. Views of lake forefront of hotel superb but the main road between hotel and lake is a real drawback. Perfect as a base for touring but not really value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seanpmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for the review - You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having now stayed at the Low Wood on a number of occasions this latest visit was not a disappointment. However, for the first time ever we took advantage of one of the 'offers', for which we were 'relegated' to the fifth floor of the 'house' - wouldn't recommend this, especially if the lift breaks down! Breakfast excellent, dinner reasonable, service generally good. Some parts of the hotel are beginning to look as though a new lick of paint wouldn't come amiss, but that's probably being over fussy and used to hotels outside the UK!

Room Tip: Avoid the fifth floor in 'the house' - like being 'in the attic'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear regular guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you once again chose Low Wood Bay as a place to enjoy a short break. As you know from previous stays we do have many different room types and “House” rooms are quite often those associated with special offers that we have. I am sorry that you felt the room you were allocated was not up to our usual standard and I can assure you that next time you wish to stay we will ensure you are not allocated the same rooms type (just mention it on booking).

I was pleased however that overall you enjoyed your stay. Once again, many thanks for the review and I look forward to seeing you again soon for another enjoyable stay. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Low Wood hotel several times over the past few years, the last time being October 2011. The hotel is set on the shore of Windermere, halfway between Bowness and Ambleside, which makes it a great base for exploring the Lake District.

The hotel has its own leisure facilities including a pool, gym and sauna. There is also an outdoor hot-tub overlooking the lake. We have stayed in several rooms, all have been of a nice size and decor, but needless to say the rooms overlooking the lake have the best view. Breakfast is served in the main dining room and is fantastic - you will not go hungry! We have never had dinner here, but the food has always looked good.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a good quality hotel to enjoy the delights of the lakes. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear regular guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and used the time here to enjoy all of the hotels facilities, as well as make the most of the wonderful surrounding areas. Once again, many thanks for the review and I look forward to seeing you again soon for another enjoyable stay. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Excellent two night stay for my wife's birthday. Staff as friendly and efficient as ever and breakfast and dinner the highlight. Room not the biggest we have had at the hotel in the past but still very pleasant and very clean. We look forward to being back at the hotal soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaintKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear regular guest, thank you so much for the review - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay for your wifes birthday. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband & I took my brother Hereford last minute stay for one night.

The hotel was cleans running, clean and had a lovely setting. We used all leisure facilities and again they were spic and span. The food too was lovely, lots of choice.

Our room was a great size and the staff service was great, the bar staff, room service staff and breakfast team were all pleasant.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you so much for the review - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my son for my brothers wedding. The wedding was due to start at 3pm only to be told we couldnt check in till 3pm. Having no time to prepare for a very important day. Hence i had to sit in reception and keep pushing the receptionist for times. The staff were very ubfriendly and seemed to not really want to help. The foreign staff were by far the nicest ones there. The wedding day was fantastic because friends and family made it. I am a wedding co-ordinator and i have never been anywhere so unorganised and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellyAndkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review, I am sorry that, unlike the vast majority of our guests and online reviewers, you didn't enjoy your stay with us. For your benefit and that of the TA community, I would like to address the points you have raised in your review.

First and foremost, I apologise that you felt our team are not very friendly and that we caused stress on your brothers wedding day. Having looked into your booking I have found that all room keys were issued and guest checked in by 1.30pm that day although our check in policy clearly states that rooms are not guaranteed until 3pm, where possible will we will try to allow guests into their rooms earlier, the earliest time however is 2pm.

On the day of your brothers wedding we had a full hotel departure and a full hotel arrive, this is always made clear to guest on bookings, we do also stress this point to all guest attending weddings. We do also provide a changing room for guest attending weddings on the day but do strongly advise if they are wishing to ensure they are ready earlier for the wedding that they book in the night before.

Your point regarding the wedding day only being fantastic due to the guest and not because of the hotel saddens me as we host over 50 weddings a year and to date we have not had an unsuccessful wedding and to the best of mine and the teams knowledge your brothers wedding day was enjoyed very much by all.

I do hope that the above goes some way in explaining the upset you feel has been caused.

Thank you once again for your review.
Kind regards – Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in August. There were definite pluses: the location, the breakfast, the pool and hot tubs, and our contact with the staff, though minimal, was fine. However, our so-called superior room was decidedly shabby and tired - scratched furniture, stained curtains, that sort of thing. And does anyone really want to buy a fluffy dog, left on the bed, for £15?....not sure, but it may have been a pyjama case. Worst of all, having booked some months ahead, we paid £633 for 3 nights bed and breakfast which was way, way more than I overheard others paying at checkout. I know that's a chance you take, and all hotels have to have offers to fill rooms as best they can, but we felt thoroughly ripped off and won't return.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Zangreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Guest, I was pleased to read that you found our location, breakfast, leisure facilities and staff a plus point although I am sorry that, unlike the vast majority of our guests and online reviewers, you didn't enjoy your stay with us and did not feel it was worth the money. The hotel does have 111 bedrooms with over 5 different room types ranging from a house room up to a feature lake view room, all of which carry different prices and special offers, this being the reason that some guest may pay more or less than other guests.

With reference to the quality of the room we do have an ongoing refurbishment schedule in place which aims to upgrade the few rooms we believe are in need of upgrading, I am unable to ascertain the room you were in from the information provided in your review. However we are very proactive in dealing with the few complaints that we receive and I am unable to find in our guest history any concerns of the nature you described, if you did bring this to our attention I am confident we would have been able to better meet your needs and ensure you did enjoy your stay.

I read with concern that you said you will not be willing to stay at the hotel again, should you change your mind about this please do not hesitate to contact me personally where I will be only to happy to . Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#15 of 20 in Windermere
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $183 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing