We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out for all the family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crags Adventures

Crags Adventures
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a small, family run outdoor activity company. Our activities are ghyll scrambling/gorge walking/canyoning, abseiling, via ferrata, guided rock climbing, learn to lead climbing and scrambling. Our mission is to provide you with fun and exhilarating adventures of the highest quality for the lowest possible price. We truly love what we do and are genuinely passionate and enthusiastic about giving you the adventure you deserve. We aim to give you the type of memories that will last forever. Our age limit is 7 upwards and we take out individuals, couples, groups of friends & families right through to stag & hen parties and corporate groups. We are unique in how we operate as we keep our groups small and intimate to maximise your experience. We also provide you with the best equipment and we manage to do it all without raising the costs.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Yarm , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Absolutely fantastic day ! Craig was a great instructor, explaining everything really well and encouraging everyone throughout. We were a party of 2adults and 3children (10 yrs -14 yrs) and had never done ghyll scrambling before (or anything like it ) but wanted a great family experience we would always remember. This ticked all the boxes and our girls said it was the "best day ever" we all surprised ourselves with what we could do and had a great sense of achievement. Would highly recommend Craig's adventures as a safe , well informed and fun company who thought risk assessed every activity.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 705Kerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CragsCrew, Owner at Crags Adventures, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi,

I have just figured out how to respond to a review. Thank you so much for your feedback. I am overwhelmed by how much effort has gone into everyone's reviews and how nice everyone is being.

Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“So much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've done the gyhll scramble three times last year & loved every minute. I was with a big group of girls and our competiveness got us all through the course. Craig is a fab instructor as he does it along with you. Well recommened for a day of fun!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amyy_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CragsCrew, Owner at Crags Adventures, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi,

I have just figured out how to respond to a review. Thank you so much for your feedback. I am overwhelmed by how much effort has gone into everyone's reviews and how nice everyone is being.

Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“So much fun; you jump off waterfalls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Even though it might seem daunting to climb up waterfalls and jump off them ... Craig is a really knowledgeable, low-pressure instructor and he makes the experience so much fun. It's awesome, definitely do it. You'll likely surprise yourself with what you're willing to do ;)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank afbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CragsCrew, Owner at Crags Adventures, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi,

I have just figured out how to respond to a review. Thank you so much for your feedback. I am overwhelmed by how much effort has gone into everyone's reviews and how nice everyone is being.

Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Ghyll Scrambling Experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had an amazing time Ghyll Scrambling with Craig from Crags Adventures. This was our first time doing this kind of activity and we were a bit nervous before we met Craig, who made us instantaneously feel at ease. He is a very nice guy with a wealth of experience and knowledge. His wife is also very helpful and lovely when we were booking for the session.

We were the only people in the session which made it feel very personal, special and safe, rather than going as a part of a big group (15-20 people) like many other companies do. We had so much fun during the session, jumping, sliding and diving off rocks. Craig even take photos for you with his waterproof camera, which will be downloadable via facebook. We loved every minute of it and highly recommend Crags Adventures. Thank you so much for the amazing and unforgettable experience!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaron_Nanako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CragsCrew, Owner at Crags Adventures, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi,

I have just figured out how to respond to a review. Thank you so much for your feedback. I am overwhelmed by how much effort has gone into everyone's reviews and how nice everyone is being.

Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Very safe, professional and encouraging instructor, Craig made our experience so memorable. Highly recommended to everyone...........................................

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oooooooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CragsCrew, General Manager at Crags Adventures, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi,

I have just figured out how to respond to a review. Thank you so much for your feedback. I am overwhelmed by how much effort has gone into everyone's reviews and how nice everyone is being.

Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crags Adventures also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Crags Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing