We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Beck Cottage

Beck Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beck Cottage
Beck Cottage Traditional Victorian Hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Beck Cottage
Beck Cottage
Traditional Victorian Hallway
Luxurious comfy lounge
Traditional wood burning stove
Large Dining Area
Dining room with real fire
Well equipped kitchen
Rear patio area
Master bedroom with Super King size bed
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2 with Super King size bed
bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Modern Bathroom
Modern Bathroom
Private & secure garden
Langdales
Local Walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Westiekho...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We traveled in June to the Lake District and stayed at Beck Cottage. We were very pleased with the house and the facilities that came with it! Loved the place. There were 3 adults and a 4 year old in total. You cannot find a nice holiday home :)

The Wifi worked so we could stay connected and the lady who checked us in Michelle was extremely friendly and helpful. The location too is great! Walking distance to shops and stores. Would go back again!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adorable, well located, cottage”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Loved out stay here. It felt very "English cottage," while still having the modern amenities we required. The ceiling situation in the bath, was a pain, but not unmanageable, and a washer/dryer would have been really useful. The laundry mat in Windermere closes at 5 PM. (We used the one in Ambleside & had dinner at the pub across the street.) The beds & rooms were comfy & spacious. The quick walk into town was lovely. We would recommend this to friends & family, and hope to return someday soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it felt like a cottage, but still had necessities.
Liked least: Low ceiling in bath & lack of washer/dryer.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of Beck Cottage. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We do take on board any suggestions by guests and, as such, we are organising some building work over the winter months which should enable us to fit in both a washing machine and an additional toilet.
Once again many thanks for your review and I do hope we can welcome you to Beck Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy_S...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It would get a 5 star rating if standard items were included.”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Overall, the house was cosy and comfortable and in a good location. However towels, washing machine and wifi were not provided, which were standard items at 8 other apartment / B&B's we stayed. We incurred a £20 charge for use of 3 small bath towels which we thought was rather unnecessary! Previous guests had mentioned these issues in a comments book over the past year but no action had been taken. Also, payment was difficult as credit card is not an option; had to pay via bank cheque. Also, the bathroom is impractical with bath only (low ceiling, no standing room) and only 1 toilet with no fan or opening window. With some upgrades to facilities and ability to pay via credit card, I would have given this accommodation a much higher rating.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you found Beck Cottage to be comfortable, clean and in a good location.
We don't provide bath towels as standard, which is clear in the description of our property, but on the occasions guests have been travelling from abroad and requested towels they have been provided and a charge has never been incurred by the guests.
I'm afraid wi-fi is not available in the cottage, again, like the washing machine, this is made clear in our property description. The lack of wifi is a choice we have made at the moment as we find it more relaxing! There are many places in the village where free wifi is available so we hope this is satisfactory.
We have taken on board the requests for a washing machine and are currently in the process of creating a utility room which will have a washing machine and also an additional toilet. We hope this will prove useful for future guests when it is available next year.
I agree that the bathroom is unusual in it's design but this is due to the fact it is a cottage with traditional features which we have taken care to retain, reflecting it's age and character. Whilst there is not an extractor fan in the bathroom there is an opening window. If you had difficulties with this I do wish you had contacted our manger, who is on hand to help with this type of difficulty/query, as she lives very close by.
Thank you once again for your comments, they are always useful for us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaWa...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home in the heart of Windermere”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Beck Cottage for 3 nights at the end of October, and couldn't recommend it enough.
With three adults and a toddler, it was the perfect place to stay as it had all the amenities required and plenty of room for us all to live comfortably. The beds were so comfy, and all the bedrooms were plenty spacious.
The kitchen was fully equipped, and lovely large living room was perfect to stay in on chilly nights.

Plenty of parking if you have a car, both on the street and in the driveway/entrace, and Windermere town was only a short drive, or 10 minute walk away. Very convenient and lovely quiet neighborhood to stay in.
Would definitely stay here again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaytw0
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Had a lovely time, very clean and comfortable, lovely beds and well equipped. Small downside, the DVD player had been broken by the previous visitors and they hadn't had a chance to replace it but a very small quibble.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable and clean the cottage was.
Liked least: We weren't staying longer
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's charm.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing