We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Ranked #30 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Montfort Cottage...

Paul and Sue instantly made us feel welcome and comfortable. They were very friendly and helpful when we asked for information on different walks that we could experience and their recommendations matched exactly what we wanted from our stay in the lakes. The room we stayed in (Kentmere with a separate but private bathroom) was extremely clean, comfortable and had good facilities including a sink, tv with free view and DVD player, iPod alarm clock and a lovely view towards the town and lake. Paul and Sue also provided us with a wifi code to access free wifi during our stay.

The location is superb, located between Winermere and Bowness with a 10 minute walk to either of them. We walked to both but found Bowness to be a bit livelier with a bigger choice of places to eat and drink. Sue had recommended Shahib's Indian restaurant in Bowness and it didn't disappoint (we even spotted Paul and Sue dining their that evening).

Breakfast at Montfort Cottage is a must. We stayed for two nights so on the first morning we enjoyed cereal (from a selection) followed by a traditional English breakfast. On the second morning we ate savoury pancakes and scrambled eggs, one with bacon and one with smoked salmon, both were delicious. Highly recommend the scrambled eggs! Tea and coffee alongside orange juice were all available and Sue made sure we didn't go without if we wanted refills. A brilliant start to the day and the breakfast times were great, allowing an earlier or later start.

We highly recommend this bed and breakfast to any couple who want to stay in the lakes. We were so impressed that we couldn't wait to write a review. Thank you for a great stay. We hope to see you again when the whirlpool is in :)

Sarah and Steve

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Lovely review and wonderful comments, thank you very much. We loved having you stay with us and look forward to your next. Don't leave it too long before you come and stay with us again. Remember to call us direct. Cheers Paul & Sue x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
151
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Had a brilliant stay in this bed and breakfast. Very accommodating, friendly owners( Paul&Sue).Accessible to the towns. Room is spotless, comfy with free wifi and you can watch films too which they also provides. You will really feel at home. Breakfast is excellent. Don't miss to try the pancake with salmon or either bacon with scrambbled egg.;)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowana210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. Sue and I love it when guests enjoy their stay and also find the time to write a review. Very much appreciated and love to see you both again soon. Cheers Paul & Sue x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year in the summer, and again for valentines weekend. Paul and Sue are so welcoming and friendly, and instantly you feel relaxed. Rooms are clean, comfy and nicely decorated. We even had complimentary wine and chocolates too! Last year we stayed in room 'Thirlmere' and this year 'Windermere' - both were lovely although we preferred Thirlmere. Breakfast is amazing - cereals, fruit or croissants followed by a cooked breakfast of your choice in a cosy dining room. The location is pretty good for both Windermere and Bowness, although the walk back from the lake is uphill! Thoroughly enjoy our stays here and will most definitely return. Sue and Paul are wonderful hosts

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lepe1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
It was lovely having you both stay with us again and to read your lovely review comments. Sue and I loved your company and look forward to your "third visit" with us! All the best Paul & Sue xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just got back from a great weekend staying with Sue & Paul at Montfort.

My partner booked 2 nights in Kentmere for Friday and Saturday night.

Location:
The B&B is situated between Windermere & Bowness and very easy to find by driving.
A 10/15 minute walk to both villages or £3.50 in a local cab (numbers left in the B&B hallway). We preferred Bowness for a drink as it had more of a lively feel.

Room:
Kentmere is on the top floor and has a great view of the village and mountains. We found the room very comfortable for two nights. The bathroom is seperate and located on the first floor - it is private and only Kentmere guests use it - however the room also has a small sink which is useful for teeth brushing/filling the kettle. Sue & Paul gave us a complimentary bottle of wine & chocolates on arrival for valentines weekend which was greatly appriciated. They also kit out the room with a hairdryer, iron/ironing board, tea, coffee, biscuits. There is also general information left in the room with attraction leaflets available in the hallway.

Breakfast:
Really enjoyed both our breakfasts, great choices hot & cold. I recommend the savory pancake with eggs & salmon. Nice pressed coffee too.


Sue & Paul were great hosts, very helpful and friendly. Would visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickleMitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent, sue & paul make you feel welcome from the moment you walk through the door, rooms are very modern & well decorated, everything as new. Very well situated for all the local attractions, very quiet area, seriously if you are heading this way this is not to be missed, five stars A+ keep up the amazing work

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simhus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas period. We have a truly wonderful stay - the hosts Sue and Paul were so helpful and knowledgeable of the local area. They recommended Shahib's Indian Restaurant in Bowness for dinner one night and we enjoyed a delicious meal there. The rooms were tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Very fluffy white towels and comfortable bed.

Breakfast was excellent.

The review below is totally ridiculous???

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brimarLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

1st time at Montfort Cottage situated central for both Windermere & Bowness no need to get the car out. Paul & Sue were lovely hosts, we were given Thirlmere room warm as toast and the comfiest bed with lovely linen and soft towels.Breakfast is ordered the night before on the menu will fit most guests there is an excellent chose of locally sourced produce lovely farm sausages , and if you change your mind in the morning that's fine Paul will cook just what you fancy . A really homely B&B will return without a doubt 10/10

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mavisker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at Montfort Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for a lovely review Mavis and Peter, it's been great having you stay with us and thanks for the laughs! Don't leave it too long before you come and stay at Montfort Cottage again.
All the best Sue and Paul x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#26 of 108 in Windermere
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#22 of 108 in Windermere
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#14 of 108 in Windermere
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montfort Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montfort Cottage Guest House

Property: Montfort Cottage Guest House
Address: Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montfort Cottage Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montfort Cottage Guest House is a lovely, compact and bijou 19th-century Lakeland stone terrace cottage, ideal as a romantic getaway for couples looking for comfortable, excellent Visit England 4* quality standard and affordable bed & breakfast accommodation in Windermere, the heart of the English Lake District.The guest house is personally run by its owners, Paul and Sue Blackburn, and is the perfect accommodation base from which to explore the stunning scenery and natural beauty of the Lake District. Situated in a quiet residential area close to Baddeley Clock Tower, the midway point between Windermere and Bowness, Montfort Cottage is just a 10 minute walk from either village and their abundance of shops, restaurants and traditional pubs, and a short distance from Lake Windermere itself. There is also free parking available outside or near to the cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and LateRooms so you can book your Montfort Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montfort Cottage Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing