We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a joy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boston House
Ranked #68 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

We arrived at Boston House tired after a long drive from Inverness on the return leg of our holiday but John 's welcome was genuine and we immediately felt at home.

Our room was spotless (and stayed that way throughout our stay) and the bed extremely comfortable. The shower was excellent and solidly installed - unlike many we've encountered on our travels.

Our breakfasts were served piping hot and the marmalade certainly lived up to its billing in the "information pack".

Although we have visited the area before John introduced us to new places to visit and we would love to come back again.

Kevin McIlroy

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

We booked Boston House for a long weekend break to celebrate our anniversary. As this was a special occassion I was hoping for something a bit special and while Boston house is lovely it did not quite meet my expectations. Our room was tastefully furnished and cleaned everyday and the breakfast which was served was delicious. However, while some reviewers described the owners as unobtrusive, i have to agree with a previous reviewer who felt that guests where an inconvenience. While i can fully appreciate that this is also a family home, i did feel that it was taking 'bed and breakfast' to the extreme! While the rooms where comfortable and the food good, you were certainly not encouraged to spend any time in the house.

Obviously as this is the lake district it is reasonable to expect that people will be out and about exploring but it is not exactly conducive to a romantic weekend!

Overall our stay in the lake district was brilliant but i have to say that despite its lovely decor and great breakfast Boston house is not the best B&B i have ever stayed in.

  • Liked — good breakfast
  • Disliked — Very small shower room, owners a bit off hand
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StokeOnTrentCarlos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

Our first visit to the area, and one to remember. Boston House shows all the signs of a keen eye on detail. This may come from John's considerable skill as an artist. When talking to our host he is more than happy to give you some ideas on where to visit, and we werent disappointed with any of them.One word of caution if would like to visit Ravenglass and fancy going via the Wynose Pass,your host will give you a wry smile (he been there before!!!) its not for the faint hearted. But joking apart great place to stay and we will be back.

  • Liked — Its presentation
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Golfnutlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

We stayed at the Boston House over a Bank Holiday weekend when there were not many rooms even available in the Lake District. The B&B was clean, quaint, and the owners were helpful and nice. The breakfast each morning was hearty and good. The Boston House is conveniently located next to a grocery store and the train/bus station, as well as the bike rental shop. However, it is a bit of a walk into the main city, which we didn't mind, but some might. Overall, a great place to stay for the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2007

We have just come back from a wonderful and friendly stay at Boston House. The hosts Pauline and John were so helpful from the moment we walked in the door.

We could not believe the quality of our room. We had a lovely 4 poster bed. Everywhere was spotless and so nicely done.

The breakfasts were so well presentated and VERY tasty.

In all i could not fault this B&B in any way and will defo recommend to all my friends and look forward to returning soon.

Thanks for a lovely stay

Mrs Nicola Groome

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

We will never forget our Easter break at Boston House.
The Guest House is ideally situated minutes from Windermere and the Lake at Bowness. John and Pauline are the perfect hosts; friendly yet unobtrusive. The bedroom was immaculate and the bed wonderfully comfortable. John in particular was always forthcoming with a recommended walk or restaurant - all of which were spot on! Breakfast was a real treat, and after the full English, I highly recommend a trip to Orrest Head just over the road to walk it off - the view at the summit is spectacular!

During the 3 days in Cumbria, we walked for miles, ate like kings, slept like babies and enjoyed the scenery and tourist attractions of the area.

It was such a delightful place that on our final day, at the top of Orrest Head, I proposed to Nicole who said yes.

We will be back soon!

Kris and Nicole Robertson (well, soon anyway!)

  • Liked — The bed and the breakfast!
  • Disliked — Honestly cannot think of anything.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristofferwithak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfiield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

We have just arrived back home after our first trip to the Lake District, and we have had a lovely relaxing time, made all the better by the high standard of accomodation at Boston House. From the lovely breakfasts to the little touches such as fresh flowers in our room, nothing seemed to much trouble, and the hosts were perfect, unobtrusive but friendly. We definitely would like to go back, and would love to have a room at the front with a four poster bed!

  • Liked — clean, friendly but unobtrusive, lovely food
  • Disliked — bed was comfortable - but, and I know that beds have to have a plastic cover on the mattress but it could get a bit hot and you stick to it! thats all
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Annesdale House
Annesdale House
#38 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#41 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#14 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cottage
The Cottage
#51 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#25 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake District Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston House

Property: Boston House
Address: 4 The Terrace, Windermere LA23 1AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Boston House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing