We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Villa Next Time….”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Villa Next Time….”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights recently, the room (15) was compact with a double bed but had everything needed. Toiletries weren't replenished daily but Im sure if we had asked they would have been. We had dinner on the first night which was superb. Service is very good, breakfast is ordered and they bring everything to you. The location was great right in the centre of Windermere close to lots of eateries and bars. The hosts were very good and considerate. We paid £160 per night for BB which I thought was a little on the high side but having checked other "boutique" hotels it is very reasonable. Plus you have access to the lovely Spa just down the road in Bowness. Would go again to take advantage of their Dinner at the Villa offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyceinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments regarding Applegarth and our location. We are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant and the service you received both during breakfast and dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back to Applegarth in the future to take advantage of our "Dinner on the Villa offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    112
    43
    22
    11
See reviews for
28
965
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have just returned from our third stay at Applegarth - we're not sure why we haven't reviewed it before but it's probably partly due to the fact that it's hard to find the words to do it justice. Basically we just love everything about it!

All of the rooms are excellent, individually designed and each with their own emphasis....the view, or the bath, or the outside space etc (look on their website for full descriptions about each room). We have stayed in a few rooms but our absolute favourite is room 2 which we feel has everything. The bedroom has 2 huge windows, one providing beautiful views of the fells from the huge window seat, and a massive round bed in the centre of the room which is unbelievably comfortable. The bathroom is simply amazing with a double spa bath in it's own little alcove, with mood lighting and TV set into the wall opposite, and the toilet, double basins and then large walk-in shower in the other half of the bathroom. Underfloor heating and the fact that it is always spotlessly clean (as is all of the hotel) mean that we could happily live in this one room alone!

The owners, Alan and Suzanne and all of the other staff are so friendly and welcoming, they clearly understand what guests want and get the perfect balance of service without being pushy. This is a place you can relax, enjoy the rooms without being interrupted, enjoy a drink in the gorgeous bar and a chat if you fancy it, and enjoy a meal without your conversations being interrupted by someone popping up over your shoulder to pour wine or constantly check that everything is ok. We feel very comfortable here...unpretentious luxury is as close as we can get to describing it accurately!

We have always eaten in the hotel in the evenings, with a 3 course meal thrown in with the room rate. The food is fantastic, from the canapés to dessert (which we usually fail to finish *sad face*) and there is plenty of choice. The wine menu is great and not over priced at all and we have yet to find something that the bar doesn't stock! Breakfast is great too, very high quality, and with lots of choice and this review would not be complete without mentioning the scrambled eggs...I have no idea how they make them so perfectly but I can't replicate them so I'm choosing to believe they use magic!

The hotel, and room 2 in particular, is so peaceful, you can't fail to completely relax which is exactly why we go away, and why Applegarth is now our favourite place! Thanks again to all the staff for another wonderful stay, we will be back very soon x

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
It is always great to welcome you both back to Applegarth. As extremely busy as you are we are so pleased Applegarth offers you the relaxation you justly deserve. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a brief but hugely enjoyable stay at the Applegarth. The entire hotel is superbly furnished, and everything has been carefully chosen with the comfort of guests in mind. The biggest, fluffiest towels you can imagine are provided, as well as important touches like a full size ironing board and iron in the wardrobe. Breakfast is superb, and only a few hotels offer my personal favourite - pancakes. A big thank you from me!

The location is excellent, and overall we can't fault the Applegarth for the attention to detail and the welcome offered to guests. I hope to return soon. We didn't take advantage of the fitness facilities on offer, but maybe next time ....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your short stop over with us and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just spent two nights at the Villa to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. Alan, Suzanne and the staff made our stay very special, including a card on our table in the restaurant on our big day! Service in the hotel was good when needed without being overpowering and pretentious as can be the case in some 5 star places. We stayed in room 16 which was wonderfully furnished and decorated. We dined in the restaurant both nights and found both the service and food faultless (especially the chowder !). The bar was relaxed and very stylishly furnished. Fully intend to return and try another of the rooms in the future. Perfect for a relaxing few days away.

Room Tip: Read the website which gives details of every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTaySAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing Applegarth Villa for your silver wedding celebrations We are so pleased you found Applegarth to be relaxing and unpretentious. That is exactly the environment we set out to create so it is rewarding to hear you felt we had achieved this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a warm welcome and beautiful Villa. We stayed out of season in November '13 on our honeymoon, it more than exceeded expectations. Staff were attentive and warm, and the family running Applegarth were amazing hosts.
If you stay here take time to enjoy the Villa (a great fusion of art Deco meets modern interior design) and relax in the bar, my husband would recommend to try the Applegarth whisky too.
We stayed in room 2 and could not fault it, however seeing other rooms also I would feel happy to recommend them also.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparklydebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very lucky to be custodians of such a magnificent building as Applegarth Villa. It does have some amazing features and architecture. Since your last visit we have totally refurbished the bar area and the result has exceeded our expectations. Hope you get the opportunity to come and see it soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Excellent room with fantastic views and a superb bathroom. We really enjoyed this special treat at Applegarth. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. This is a fantastic find giving us a relaxing and peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveg280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are delighted you chose Applegarth for your 50th birthday celebrations and that you considered it to be a fantastic find and a relaxing and peaceful place to stay. We really are so lucky to have such a great location.Hope to see you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

From the moment we first arrived, Alan, the owner greeted us with much warmth and made us feel welcome. Being from the States, I picked this B&B because many Brits gave the ApppleGarth rave reviews. The room was TOP NOTCH as shown on their website and my wife took pictures of the bathroom to use as a model for our own bathroom remodel project. We stayed in room number 9 which was on the top floor of this beautifully remodeled B&B. The bathroom and corner views from the windows made this a great choice. The dinner that was included with the rate was very very good and the service from the staff simply excellent! The bar and Deck rock as we enjoyed some great wine on a sunny afternoon upon arrival. Upon departure, Suzzane, the owner took some time to serve us coffee and cakes as I did some work on the free wifi in the lounge. What a wonderful lady! We will return to the AppleGarth!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you consider our new bar "rocks". We are also delighted with it. As always Val Dunn, our Interior designer has created a fabulous, comfortable and relaxing environment and we cannot thank her enough for all her hard work..Look forward to welcoming you back to Applegarth on your next visit to England
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,141 reviews
24.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing