We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect luxury 'get-away' in the Lake District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you're looking for a top quality hotel with fantastic rooms and superb food then look no further than Applegarth Villa. We stayed in room 17 which was impeccably decorated and had the added luxury of a TV mounted in the tiles at the end of the enormous jacuzzi bath. The bed was huge and very comfortable. We viewed a couple of other rooms and next time we'll be pushing the boat out to stay in Room 1......fabuloiusly decorated with a separate lounge area, massive TV and an amazing bathroom. The restaurant food is as good as it gets and the hotel owners Suzanne and Alan are very friendly and cannot do enough to help. Use of the leisure facilities at the Macdonald Hotel in Bowness was an added bonus. My wife's treat for my 50th birthday and an experience that won't be forgotten. A simply faultless stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian8469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing Applegarth as the place to celebrate your wife's 50th birthday. We are delighted you consider your stay to be "simply faultless" and hope you get the opportunity to replicate the experience in the not to distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Applegarth villa from Friday 7th Feb to Sunday 9th and took advantage of their dinner, bed and breakfast package. Check in was painless with Alan, the owner and we were directed to our room,7.
The room was comfortable even if a tad small, pictures can be deceiving, but the en_suite was a good size. This room faces across the street so don't expect Lakeland views and the blinds in the bedroom and en_suite remained closed for most of our visit, but not a problem as it went dark early anyway.
We had a problem with the sink but a call to reception and Alan was soon there with his trusty screwdriver.
We changed and went down to the lounge for a Pre diner drink, there is a good choice of wines and spirits but the real ales were sadly served out of bottles so not the choice of two or three guests ales on tap I'm used to in my local.
We ate both evenings in the restaurant and the food was excellent, and the table was prepped specially for my wife's birthday on the Saturday night. Thanks guys. The full English also set us up for the day of walking into Bowness and a bit of window shopping before walking back up the hill for a well deserved bottle of bubbles in the large jacuzzi bath.
The place was pretty quiet when we were there, the weekend before valentines, so we had the chance to chat with both Alan and his wife Suzanne. At the time of our visit a refurb of the bar area was just about to start, I hope they go for comfy chilled furniture rather than formal seats, but. I guess that's done now. And I'd still say rip that ugly fire out and put a log burner in!
Overall a comfortable stay in a good location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthwestDeputyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The bar is pretty much finished now with the new furniture arriving later on this month, hope you get the opportunity to come back and try them out. Just a quick point, we do have a real ale and peroni lager on draft as well as many bottled beers not forgetting an extensive wine menu and one of the largest selections of whiskies in the area.Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked Applegarth villa for a special weekend, spent hours choosing the room as there are so much to chose from, and we eventually settled and agreed on a room. booked it online and were excited and started planning the rest of the trip. The following morning and email pings in the inbox informing us the room we booked is not available....long story short after some dissapointment and a quick phone call we were upgraded to Room 2...All we can say is WOW! What a room. The interior design and layout of the room is fantastic. We loved the day bed by the bay window and could have stayed in the room all weekend! The bathroom, jacuzzi, shower, heated floor, everything just perfect. We had great weather too. The room won it for me. Having a quiet drink in the bar/lounge was nice too and met and got chatting with a couple who use this hotel regularly. our only dissapointment was the restuarant. The meals were not 5 Star with just some minor details that really let the place down. The lamb didnt taste of lamb or look like lamb, pointed out and assured it was a specific cut of lamb. Not convinced. The veggies were the same for both our meals and rather "ordinary". My steak on the second night was medium rare either, a Chef should know how to cook a steak!! I also get annoyed when waiter/waitress service are setting tables for breakfast, whilst you are eating your evening meal, this is rude! The same was at breakfast, the food was good at breakfast, but we wanted to sit in the conservatory on the second morning, but the staff wouldn't let us as they had already started making tables up for the evening meal. This hotel would have gotten 5 star review from us, had it not been for the restuarant staff and the food. Please take a look at this and correct it before you start losing custom. It doesnt take much, the staff just need to be in tune with the rest of the hotel values. I hope this is taken as positive and constructive criticism. Would definitely go back, but would prefer not to eat here until they sort it out!

Room Tip: Room 2 is Amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris4Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

So pleased you loved your room. Our Interior designer does have expensive taste but the end results are definitely worth it.
I am a little disappointed that you did not enjoy our restaurant. I think the countless Guest reviews before and after the time of your visit add great balance and perspective to your opinion of our restaurant. The lamb served by our Head Chef is the finest and most expensive cut of lamb, that being the loin of lakeland lamb and it bears no resemblance in either taste or shape to say, lamb henry which you may be more familiar with.
I feel that no apology is necessary with regard to our waitress as she quietly relayed tables with crisp fresh linen and polished cutlery as would happen in the vast majority of restaurants.If this annoyed you so much why did you want our waitress to relay a table for you next to the window at breakfast the next morning knowing that it may possibly have annoyed those guests who were having their breakfast at the time as it had done to you the previous evening especially when there were tables already laid for breakfast in other areas of the breakfast room. I appreciate your concern that our current procedures may loose us business however it is important to maintain a high standard of presentation within the restaurant and I feel that guests dining later on in the evening would prefer not to enter a dining room full of unlaid tables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I booked Applegarth Villa and Restaurant for my husband's birthday... We had a fantastic time.... The room was beautiful, the food was fantastic Compliments to the Chef and the staff were all lovely and friendly... Highly Recommend staying here Kevin and Michelle and family they are lovely very helpful and the staff team all work very hard to ensure a relaxing break... The atmosphere was so calm and quiet very relaxing... We can't wait to visit again...
Rebecca and Davy.....

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

So pleased you had a relaxed stay, its always good to get the chance to recharge your batteries and we are delighted you thought Applegarth was the perfect place to do just that. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our first visit and it certainly won't be the last. We were in room 16 which didn't disappoint, spotlessly clean with many luxurious touches. The bathroom was a little on the small side, however, the power shower and jacuzzi bath with a TV on the wall more than made up for this, oh! and the soft fluffy towels. The food was first class, we had DBB, there was plenty of choice both for breakfast and dinner. The inclement weather didn't spoil our break as it meant that we spent more time relaxing in our room. If you are looking for a luxury break Applegarth Villa won't disappoint. Many thanks to the owners and staff for a truly wonderful stay. Good luck with your new addition 'The Stables'. This can only lead to many more customers who are able to come and recharge their batteries in a friendly, relaxed, five star establishment. Jackie & Graham

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is alway rewarding to be appreciated. There is always plenty of change going on at Applegarth, from new bar, complete with Italian furniture and Portugese crystal lighting to the expansion into more luxurious suites at the Stables, so plenty for you to come back and see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Applegarth Villa in Windermere. It's perfectly located off the High Street and in walking distance of Bowness on the lake. Furthurmore, it's perfectly positioned to explore the rest of the rest of the Lake District. The owners Alan and Suzanne Mumford made us feel very welcome in their beautiful Villa and the staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms are well appointed and finished to a high standard. The breakfast and dinners were very good and plentiful.

The atmosphere at Applegarth was warm, comfortable and upscale. This is a great couples get away or for families with children over 18. We look forward to our next visit!

The Jones Family, London, UK

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. As you rightly say Applegarth is beautifully positioned, being very central, yet set on a quiet street so it is easy to walk out and enjoy everything the Lake District has to offer without getting in the car but we still can enjoy mountain views and fabulous sunsets from our terrace and most of our rooms. We hope to see you again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Don't know where to start with this one as there are so many nice things to say .. start with Kevin who I've got to say works incredibly hard and what he doesn't know about the hotel business isn't worth knowing started pot washing at the age of 15 and carried on from there which brings us to the beautiful applegarth villa hotel which he Co owns with his in laws. Lovely family run business and in my opinion run exceptionally well, everything was really well put together and well organised. Absolutely no complaints at all in this area. Kevin does a brilliant job front house everything's done with enthusiasm and a smile which I think makes a big difference to your stay. Really nice chap and very chatty.

The Hotel is beautifully decorated through out and absolutely spotless it's a very charming and inviting property with lots of lovely features. The entrance hall in particular was very nice with all glass windows, beautiful tiled flooring and a nice seating area lit with candles in the evening which was very nice. The bar and restaurant where both just as nice, warm and comfortable again all candle lit of a evening which just adds to a nice stay and for me makes it extra romantic and special. Our room I've got to say was really really spectacular with views over the windermere roof tops and bathroom complete with a big jacuzzi tub fit for a king.. room 7 defo recommend! Very comfortable stay so much so we didn't budge out of our room for one of the nights... took full advantage of the jacuzzi which is kitted out with special lighting to suit whatever mood your in, champaign on ice and the i pod station that's in the room to play our music. Perfect!!!!!

We booked the bed , breakfast and evening meal offer which was well worth it... excellent breakfast choice all made to order with eggs benedict on the menu which I thought was really nice. Evening meal was a 3 course dinner again all made to order with plenty different locally produced foods on it, good portion sizes but not over faced. Drinks priced well had no complaints about the bar.

Overall if you're looking for somewhere very relaxing with a friendly atmosphere and good taste in decor then this is the place for you.... very close to all the amenities literally a stones throw away, 5 mins into bowness, good food and beautiful rooms.

Execellant stay and will be definitely be returning. Thank you applegarth for making our mini honeymoon perfect for us! Mr and Mrs Daniels xxxx

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank lancashire17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you so much for your fabulous review, it is delightfully overwhelming and especially appreciated by our son in law, Kevin, who you may have made unbearable to live with now after such praise!
We are delighted you chose Applegarth for your mini moon and look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary, if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,442 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
351 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $187 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing