We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentine weekend 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Valentine weekend 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed in room 11 and it was just amazing. Very warm welcome and very friendly. The food in the restaurant was absolutely fantastic. Everything had a taste and the steaks were melting in the mouth. We had a very relaxing evening. I can only recommend this hotel if relaxing and getting spoiled is what you want. We will go back there any time. Money well spent! Hope they keep up the standard. I have however a little complaint, there was no hot water late in the evening to use the wonderful big tub in the bathroom. A minor flip and I am sure.

Room Tip: What I've seen all the rooms are just fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ute410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the Valentines dining experience. The minor blip with the water temperature was due to the failure of a blending valve on the hot water system. Fortunately our service engineer managed to replace this within the hour. We hope this did not cause you to much inconvenience and look forward to welcoming you back when you are in need of some rexalation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    106
    41
    22
    10
See reviews for
26
934
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

After browsing the internet for several days chose Applegarth Villa, Room 9, ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! A lovely warm welcome by The Manager & all the Staff.
A perfect romantic break away and a nice surprise for my husband who was home from the Barracks for the weekend.
From the moment we arrived till we sadly left we had a fantastic time. Definately 5*
The view from the room was beautiful. The room was amazing. Huge comfortable four poster bed and large luxurious room. Stunning extra large modern bathroom with the deepest bath ive seen. TV over the bath to which the Hubby loved , with space for our Champers and glasses also.
The Bar area very cosy and relaxing . Also had a lovely meal in the restaurant to which the service and food was top class. The meal was delicious and presented lovely. Highly recommended.
Thank you soooo much for our stay. Had a fantastic time! We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Take a browse on Applegarths own website. You can view all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 731Diane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Enormous thanks for making Applegarth Villa your first review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to tell others of your experience. We look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here in November with the, what he likes to call, 'better half'. Absolutely perfect for a romantic break away in lovely Windermere. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor we knew we would be getting a treat but noone could have aticipated just how much.

We chose room 9 which boasted a huge four poster bed, chaise lounge, television and lots of wardrobe space. Probably the biggest selling point of this room other than the bed was the amazing bathroom...it was out of this world!! Lovely and modern, huge and with a television at the end of the bath, my fella thought it was brillliant he could sit and relax watching the rugby in the bath with a glass of champagne!

The view from the room was lovely also, overlooking sports playing fields and a little hamlet like row of houses off the main road. Real picture perfect scenery.

We chose to dine int he restaurant of the hotel and would highly recommend eating here to anyone else, food was delicious, made with all local produce and was possibly one of the nicest meals I've ever had, it's definately up there in my top 5 at least!

Staff all warm and welcoming, due to this being a family run business it's clear to see that they take great pride in the establishment which they are running and so they should its wondeful!

Will definately be returning sometime soon!

Room Tip: Room number 9 with a 4 poster bed is well worth it for a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Its really rewarding to see that you have thoroughly embraced all that Applegarth has to offer and have enjoyed our luxurious rooms, relaxed in our bar and have enjoyed the views and sampled the finest lakeland produce in our conservatory restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here the weekend before Valentines and have never been made to feel more welcome by the owners. We where told check in wasn't until 3 but yet when we arrived at around 1.30 we where told our room was ready and we could check in there and then which was a massive help that you dont even get at some of the bigger hotels.

Unfortunately the weather was awful so we made the most of the spa which is a short drive towards the lake. The spa was lovely it had a massive pool, a ice room, sauna and steam room which we made full use off. I would definitely recommended trying to fit in an hour at here.

After our spa day we had a drink from the bar and whilst we where waiting to be sated for our evening meal we where treated to some gorgeous canapés. Once our table was ready we had our amazing 3 course meal. I would highly recommend leaving space for the deserts they where out of this world. The prices at the bar where a bit steep but it depends on what you drink. In the end we drank the wine which was very reasonable.

The rooms in the hotel where clean and spacious our bed is unbelievably comfy we paid for a superior room with the amazing view. This hotel can only get better with them planning to update it within the next few weeks and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam-EFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We thank you so much for your heartfelt review. It is such a pleasure to know that you have had a
great stay and we look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I have travelled to many places around the UK as we enjoy travelling and having short breaks away, our experience when we first visited the Applegarth Villa was one of pure delight, our stay was fantastic, which is why this hotel is now an annual appointment of ours and after getting married, we even snuck in a short visit for a cheeky second honeymoon!.
When you buy a house, it's all about the 'location - location - location', when you visit this hotel, everything is just so right, the service, the cleanliness and presentation, the food, etc... in our opinion, they rightly deserve their AA 5 Star accommodation rating :)
I would certainly endorse this luxurious hotel to any adults who are looking for somewhere special to stay in the Lakes.

Room Tip: If you haven't already booked a room with a spa bath, when you arrive, ask the owners if there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review it is always a delight to welcome you both back to Applegarth for your annual visit and any other visit you can fit in between. Applegarths business is now heavily based on repeat Guests such as yourselves and this makes working here so rewarding. Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I brought my partner here for his 30th birthday at the start of December 2013 and we were so impressed with the service, the rooms, the restaurant...the list goes on! We would recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms were stunning, especially the bathroom with the Jacuzzi bath, the food was beautiful, the location even better and the staff were fantastic. We will definitely be back. Thank you for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, the staff always find it so rewarding to be appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a relaxing stay here. The service was excellent, the staff were lovely, the food was absolutely beautiful. Thoroughly enjoyed our chilled out break we stayed in room 7 it was smaller than expected but the bathroom was beautiful. We enjoyed drinks in the bar area which was such a relaxed atmosphere. Dinner was £25 each for 3 courses followed by tea or coffee and was very tasty
The breakfast was beautiful also

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezza79kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our bar and restaurant and really relaxed during your stay with us. I'm sure you will agree that it does make a difference having these onsite instead of having to venture out on a cold and blustery night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing