We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The phrase; 'I'll be back' >> is not understated !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The phrase; 'I'll be back' >> is not understated !!!!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I have travelled to many places around the UK as we enjoy travelling and having short breaks away, our experience when we first visited the Applegarth Villa was one of pure delight, our stay was fantastic, which is why this hotel is now an annual appointment of ours and after getting married, we even snuck in a short visit for a cheeky second honeymoon!.
When you buy a house, it's all about the 'location - location - location', when you visit this hotel, everything is just so right, the service, the cleanliness and presentation, the food, etc... in our opinion, they rightly deserve their AA 5 Star accommodation rating :)
I would certainly endorse this luxurious hotel to any adults who are looking for somewhere special to stay in the Lakes.

Room Tip: If you haven't already booked a room with a spa bath, when you arrive, ask the owners if there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review it is always a delight to welcome you both back to Applegarth for your annual visit and any other visit you can fit in between. Applegarths business is now heavily based on repeat Guests such as yourselves and this makes working here so rewarding. Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    115
    43
    23
    13
See reviews for
29
1,002
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I brought my partner here for his 30th birthday at the start of December 2013 and we were so impressed with the service, the rooms, the restaurant...the list goes on! We would recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms were stunning, especially the bathroom with the Jacuzzi bath, the food was beautiful, the location even better and the staff were fantastic. We will definitely be back. Thank you for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, the staff always find it so rewarding to be appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a relaxing stay here. The service was excellent, the staff were lovely, the food was absolutely beautiful. Thoroughly enjoyed our chilled out break we stayed in room 7 it was smaller than expected but the bathroom was beautiful. We enjoyed drinks in the bar area which was such a relaxed atmosphere. Dinner was £25 each for 3 courses followed by tea or coffee and was very tasty
The breakfast was beautiful also

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezza79kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our bar and restaurant and really relaxed during your stay with us. I'm sure you will agree that it does make a difference having these onsite instead of having to venture out on a cold and blustery night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We recently stayed at Applegarth and were very impressed by the standard of accommodation ( definitely 5 *) and the food in the restaurant. On arrival we received a warm welcome and were pleased to be upgraded. Whilst the hotel and restaurant were quiet (end January) there was always someone around to answer questions . Highly recommended .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
We are delighted by your kind review especially as at the time of your visit we were in the process of decorating the bar and lounge areas. Thank you for your patience and hopefully we may see you again when the new bar, dining room and lounge are complete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croston lancs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The room and bathrooms are good. The welcome and service poor. The food ok but lacking in finesse .

The canapés are a joke, why bother with a bit of cheese with pickle on the top ? Would we return ?

I think not, shame because it could be wonderful

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for acknowledging the high quality of our bathrooms and bedrooms. The rest of your review is unfortunately rather vague. We are sorry that the food served in our restaurant is not to your taste but if Head Chef had served "cheese with pickle" as part of his canape selection then it would have been an individual tasting cheese with a home made speciality chutney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in november for my partners 30th. We stayed in room 17 which is absolutly gorgeous and just what we needed to relax as thats all i wanted to do being 8month pregnant. The food is gorgeous and plenty to choose from. The staff are warm and friendly and its a lovely welcoming hotel. Cant wait to return as soon as we get chance. Book through the hotels own website, they do great deals and you can look through the rooms as each one is different.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stacelou14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
We really do appreciate you mentioning that you can choose your own particular room and that the best offers are through our own website rather than booking through an on line travel agent. We look forward your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Applegarth for my boyfriends 30th birthday. I booked it after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We stayed in room 7. The bathroom is amazing the only criticism is that it seems as though the toilet has a self flushing mode, as during the night we could hear running water from the toilet, the next night we made sure the bathroom door was shut properly. The lighting in the room was perfectly we felt warm and cosy. The attention to detail is of a very high standard. The whole hotel was immaculately clean. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel, there was a good selection to choose from and everything was cooked to perfection. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return and recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday stay at Applegarth and that you enjoyed your dining experience. Im sure you will agree that it really does make a difference having an onsite bar and restaurant, especially through the cold and wet winter months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,167 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing