We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent Christmas at Applegarth, our first one ever away and we have no regrets.
The atmosphere was brilliant, all the little touches made it seem very Christmassy.
Like mince pies in our room, a stocking on your bedroom door, tasteful decorations around the hotel, and sherry, mince pie and carrot left for Santa and his reindeer on Xmas eve.The staff were great, our room (Number 7) was gorgous and the food devine. Compliments to the chef.
No children was a plus for us too.
Quizzes were available and a race night on Boxing Day was very enjoyable.
Applegarth is situated in Windermere itself and is and ideal base for seeing the Lakes.
Shopping Xmas Eve in Keswick was great we even saw some snow !!!!
Walking to the Lake on Christmas Day was also good.......everyone wishing each other a Merry Christmas.
On the whole a very relaxing break hardest decision was what to drink at the bar.

Room Tip: No lift so be careful which floor your room is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It is wonderful that all the hard work and little touches the staff have created have been appreciated not just from our Guests but from Santa and Rudolph!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

959 - 965 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel 1/1/2014 . Our welcoming was very basic with a just smile. We were left to find the room ourselves and carry our own bags. For a five star we were excpecting alot better for the money we spent which was 160 pound for room 15 a very dissapointing as all we had was a bed a T.V and a shower room with a cupboard with just coat hangers inside. This room was very claustrophobic. No safety locks on windows wich was the highest level of the hotel. Me and my partner excpected a lot better as we spend alot of time at the lakes and have paid less for a higher standard room. Also the spa is at a diffrent hotel what is around 5 minutes drive away and a walk of 15 to 20 minutes. Not our kind of hotel at all, different information on website that changes once you arrive, an awkward situation that managment could not assist me and my partner in any way other than paying a stupid amount of money to upgrade after paying alot of noney in the first place. Also we could not sit down to eat as they dont serve any type of food during the day after a long exciting drive to visit Applegarth we were very dissapointed

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oggy425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

You are quite right Applegarth is probably not the place for you. After making the reservation you were unable to pay the deposit as your credit card declined on numerous occasions eventually requiring your Mother to pay. When you arrived you requested an upgrade and your Partner was shown to a Luxury room which she loved but you were unwilling to pay the additional cost and wanted it for free. I fear this may have tainted your opinion of Applegarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our engagement and the Hotel and staff made it the perfect place to be. From start to finish we were looked after perfectly, the staff were fantastic and the Hotel itself is beautiful. We will definitely be making a return as soon as we can!
Room 2 is fantastic, an 8' round luxury bed, 2 bay windows with great views, luxurious bathroom with a double Jacuzzi bath and a TV on the wall, heated tiled floors and a walk-in shower!
We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent as well. All around quality place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Once again congratulations to you both on your engagement. We hope Applegarth continues to be a special place for you and we wish you every happiness for your future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I returned to the Applegarth for the Christmas holiday,knowing that I would be getting the same 5 Star service and food etc s my last visit. How wrong I was,and can't believe it is possible,that it was even better than last time.The food was sensational,and as I commented at the time,the portions are so generous ,not like some high class restaurants where you only get very small portions.The most friendly of welcomes and the happy atmosphere,make tthe whole experience memorable.A special menton for Kevin,who,despite having a bad cold, managed to a attend to everything admirably.I can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: I have not been in all the rooms, but talking to other guests it sounds as though all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

As always Geoff, it is a pleasure to welcome you back to Applegarth. Christmas would not be the same without you. Look forward to seeing you in the Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked a 6 night stay over the Christmas period 2013. This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Applegarth and once again the food, service, staff and attention to detail could not be faulted.
My wife and I would highly recommend a stay at this great hotel, rooms beautifully appointed, food excellent and the management and staff very helpful. Will be booking again for next Christmas.

Roger And Kath Caw

Room Tip: Stayed in suite 1, room 2 and room 11 all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for once again spending Christmas at Applegarth. Hope to see you both again before next Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I'm writing this review from one of the rooms at the hotel and we are not disappointed. We found the hotel by accident trawling through the hundreds of options the Lakes has to offer and booked online. I am very glad we stumbled across it.

Upon arrival our room was upgraded as we were staying for a few nights which was a lovely touch. Every detail is great and as advertised, the place is spotless with a great attention to detail throughout, it's obvious the owners really care. The food in the evening and breakfast is very good with a breadth of options available.

I have a feeling we will be coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gradiate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

I think you are probably the first to review Applegarth whilst still in the building! Thankyou for your lovely review, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Booked this for a over night stay, Monday 16th December for my boyfriends birthday, Couldn't of asked for a nicer, friendly place! As soon as you walk in you can tell its a 5 star establishment. We were greeted on reception by Kevin, (Who deserves a special mention as he made our stay perfect) Check in was simple and didn't take two minutes. He advised us of where to go if we chose to dine out and where to avoid. (Which you don't normally get pointers on)

To my surprise he upgraded our booking I recently made (Room 7) to Suite 2. The room was out standing, It is tastefully decorated with amazing views, but to me the real wow factor was the Bathroom, with a 2 person Jacuzzi with a TV in the wall, Double sink, underfloor heating and Rain shower, you really couldn't ask for anything better. As it was near Christmas they even included a Stocking on our room and decorated tree in our room!

We had a bed and breakfast booking and I could not praise the staff or the food more. I don't eat a lot but what I did eat was amazing, as was my boyfriends choice.

Applegarth allows a laid back feel which enables you to fully relax, We didn't want to move out of the 8ft round bed in the morning! The check out time was reasonable, and we even got a mini tour of the hotel including suite 1, (which we will be booking next time)

This was the perfect birthday present and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 2 - The bed is amazing, Bathroom 5*!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

So pleased you loved room 2, it truly is a romantic place to be with more people proposing there than any other room in Applegarth! We are delighted that you considered it to be an ideal birthday present for your boyfriend and look forward to you booking room 1 next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,448 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $192 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing