We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury accommodation in the beautiful Lake District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury accommodation in the beautiful Lake District”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in room 9, a luxury room. It was very spacious with mod cons and a high spec finish. The room was plenty big enough, very light and very clean. The hotel is in a perfect location for both Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere. The breakfast was delicious. We look forward to our next visit and can't wait to see the new developments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we are also very excited about the new developments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    114
    43
    22
    12
See reviews for
29
977
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Applegarth 11 or 12 times in the last five years and we’ll be coming back for many years to come. It’s simply wonderful – beautiful rooms (Alan and Suzanne have been renovating all of the rooms over the last few years), superb food with fresh local ingredients and a great base from which to explore the Lake District. All of the other glowing reviews on here have said it all already and we know we’ll always get a warm welcome at the end of a long day on the hills.

One thing that I haven’t seen mentioned yet is how well the restaurant caters for dietary requirements. The majority of dishes are naturally gluten-free and most of those that aren’t can be adapted (for example, the chef will make an alternative sauce). My husband has coeliac disease and it’s so rare to find a restaurant offering this much choice, and that we can truly trust not to have any cross-contamination issues.

Also top marks to the breakfast chef – an Applegarth full English always gets us through a full day of fell-walking!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for mentioning that the Restaurant does make a point of catering for many dietary requirements. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Applegarth Villas, four times, in four different rooms in the last couple of years; however, we will never stay there again.

The common areas and rooms are beautifully decorated. *Although, the rooms could be improved with little things you'd expect when you stay in a premium Hotel (glasses instead of plastic tumblers, a better selection of tea / real coffee (cafitiere) and a decent kettle.

The Restaurant is awful. The food is bland and tough (steak, lamb and venison all well overcooked on 2 occasions), sauces are sickly and reheated. So much so that we have rejected the offer of a free upgrade (twice) to "Dinner, Bed and Breakfast" and chosen to go out and pay £100 for a meal elsewhere.

The Breakfast on the other hand is great. The waitresses are very polite, efficient and really helpful. Can't fault them at all.

(Although, I'd steer clear of the Eggs Benedict - my hollandaise sauce was split and when I returned it, the manager challenged me and said "I don't know if it was split, I've never seen hollandaise sauce before" - this is the same guy who told me in the bar the night before that he was the breakfast chef for 10 years!)

The Bar is great. Well decorated and well stocked - if you like whisky - you'd struggle to order one they've not got.

Aside from Suzanne, the Customer Service from the owners / management is deplorable. Arrogant, rude and disinterested once you have paid your money.


Tips:

If you book, rooms 5, 9, 11 are very good. Room 3 is very small and the bathroom is ridiculously small.
Do NOT eat in the restaurant in the evening. (Porto, Jackson's Bistro are both very good - c£100 a couple with wine).
If you are going anywhere by taxi - book Lakeland taxi yourself. (It's much cheaper).

Room Tip: Room 3 is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gallan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review which we must confess to find somewhat confusing.
We have copied your last review made shortly after your last stay with us which is as follows:-



“Perfect Hotel, Perfect Hoteliers.”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 31 October 2012


Applegarth Villa is beautiful. Perched at the top of Windermere, it looks and feels like a boutique hotel. The owners are welcoming and professional and make you feel at home.

The communal areas are beautifully furnished and everything about it has been done with care and attention to detail. From the stained-glass window to the flowers and furnishing.

We have stayed in Room 5 and Room 9 - both are sumptuous. Each room has a modern bathroom coupled with a beautiful bedrooms. The owners have taken their time to create one of the most elegant, yet comfortable boutique hotels in the Lake District.

On our next trip to Windermere, we will be staying at Applegarth. Without question.

Room Tip: Spoilt for choice. Which ever room you choose, you will tell your friends about it.

Owner:-

Clearly the confusion lies with regard to your comments relating to our restaurant as you chose to eat out on both evenings this time therefore if everything was "Perfect" "Perfect" to use your words during your last stay with us, what's happened!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We've just got back from a one night break here for our anniversary. On arrival at the hotel I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel looked from both outside and inside. We were greeted by the owner whom is very polite and friendly. We were given directions to our room (no17) and then left to our own devices.
Our room was lovely, firm beds nice seating area - bathroom is very modern although a funny shape but this did not bother us. Unfortunately we ran out of time to try out the jacuzzi bath with tv!! (Rather disappointed at this). The shower is lovely, over the bath rainfall style however it actually had power to it unlike most rainfall showers.
We didn't eat tea at the hotel but went into bowness for an Italian - got a taxi which cost £4.50. There are many places to eat down by the lake.
Breakfast at the hotel was fine, hubby had the eggs benedict which he is still raving about now, I had a full English with poached eggs which was ok, eggs were overdone for my liking - but I didn't state I liked them runny so mainly my fault on this.
My only real criticism for the hotel and they are really only niggly points. We found hair I between the sinks in the bathroom that wasn't ours and the bottled water in the room had been refilled with tap water (or so I think) - I do believe that in a 5star hotel bottled mineral water should always be provided.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostietui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Just on our way back from having spent three lovely nights at Applegarth. In the heart of Windermere and a good walk, all downhill to Bowness.

We had room 5 and suspect that you wouldn't go wrong with any room here. Where to start; we were greeted with a warm welcome in what is a beautiful building (gorgeous window on the staircase x) and found all staff to be friendly and full of smiles.

Our room was spotless as was all the hotel.

Would also recommend having an evening meal in the hotel, one of the best I have had in a long time followed by coffees and a whiskey in a cosy bar area. When it comes to food the breakfasts too are top notch. Plenty of choice and nothing too much trouble for the staff here.

We will definitely aim to go back and will be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendation. Applegarth has so many repeat Guests that are a pleasure to welcome back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I really couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay at Applegarth. A very warm welcome and a beautifully designed room and great food really made our trip to the Lake District extra special. The location is ideal, in the heart of Windermere whilst off the main High Street so much quieter. I am looking forward to planning my next trip there!

Room Tip: I would recommend booking through the hotel itself as it enables you to select which individually de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_0895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and for making the good point that the best offers are always direct through ourselves rather than an online travel agent and you get the opportunity to choose your own room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is lovely. The family who run it are friendly and will do everything they can to make your stay more enjoyable. My wife and I were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary and initially we were allocated one of the smaller rooms (which are still quite impressive btw), but once the the guy who was running it at the time realised our celebration, he up-graded us at no extra cost. On our check-out the lady behind the desk informed us their plans to extend and provide swimming facilities. If you get chance stay here!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikfin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Applegarth for such a special occasion as your first wedding anniversary.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,153 reviews
22.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing