We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a marvellous place! We needed to get away to recharge our batteries and we certainly did. Excellent food at breakfast and dinner, well constructed wine list and interesting whisky menu. Ideally located for any type of lakes holiday you need. The spa bath was just the job after a hard days walking, and at the tender age of 52 I have discovered the delights of Eggs Benedict. Superb. We can't wait until the expansion plans come to fruition.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sure you will be delighted to know that the new extended whisky menu and wine list have arrived this morning so if you needed an excuse for a return visit that could be it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a beautifully decorated hotel in a quiet location within walking distance of the lake. It is a family run hotel and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night but breakfast was amazing! The hotel was quite pricey at the weekend (although cheaper during the week) but the Lake District seems expensive generally and we enjoyed the extra bit of luxury offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, it was kind of you to take the time to do so. As we discussed during your stay, the benefits of booking directly with us rather than using as online travel agent will allow you to choose a specific room and enjoy our dinner on the Villa offer which entitles you to dine absolutely free each evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My daughter Anna and I met at Applegarth Villa, me from Glasgow and Anna from Manchester, to celebrate our birthdays together. We stayed two nights 10th and 11th June and had a wonderful time. Everything was lovely, the room, the dinner, the breakfast and the staff too. The owners, Suzanne and Alan, were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We dined there both nights. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Applegarth and I'm intending visiting again later in the year with my husband.This is a venue for people who like a quite and relaxed surrounding.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

So pleased you both enjoyed your birthday celebrations at Applegarth. We will be interested to know whether you can persuade your husband to book room 2 for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I had a 2-night stay as a 10th wedding anniversary treat. And what a treat! The Applegarth is beautiful, down to the last tiny detail. Room 14 was spacious and beautifully designed and the huge bath was amazing! Dinner and breakfast were great, everything cooked to perfection. We said we'll go back for our 20th anniversary but I'm hoping to persuade hubby to go back for number 11! Thanks to all the friendly and professional staff for making our visit so special and memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you next year for your 11th wedding anniversary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from spending our wedding anniversary at Applegarth Villa. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night...we would have loved to stay much longer. Room 11 was lovely and had a wonderful view. Dinner and breakfast were fabulous. If you are planning to come to Windermere this is the place to stay if you want friendly, peaceful and luxurious accomodation. We will definitely be returning. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will stay for longer next time.

Room Tip: Room 11 had a wonderful view, but I think all rooms will be of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum2jk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

As you dined with us previously as a non-resident whilst staying in the area we are delighted you chose to stay with us this time and that both our accommodation and dining experience lived up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Applegarth as a last minute night away, and booked through Late Rooms. We got a good deal £99 for a night B&B. Compared to other hotels in the area, it was by far the nicest we found.

On arrival we dropped our bags off before wandering down to Bowness to get a boat to Ambleside. There is car parking, but we went on the train. Although there are plenty of buses we walked to Bowness and back, a maximum 25 minute walk.
Room was lovely. We were in room 5. Bathroom was also very nice. We did discover when observing the fire escape routes that room 5 is the escape route for that floor, but that's no major issue. (Except there was a door as opposed to having a large window).

Breakfast was wonderful and the service was great. It all seemed locally sourced and really good quality. We had our evening meal in the restaurant too. Again, the food was tasty, but the service wasn't as great. Pudding was ruined and disappointing, but we sent it back and the waitress was very apologetic and offered us anything else. We also didn't get charged, so it was no big deal.

Overall we had a really lovely stay, and it was very relaxing. We really want to go back and stay in room 2. We got to see it and it was absolutely fantastic. The owner was also extremely friendly and welcoming, and gave us loads of tips on places to eat and things to do in the area.

Also it is worth making use of the spa facilities at the MacDonald hotel by the lake. It was such a bonus being able to go there, and we spent a good couple of hours in there. Very relaxing.

We would definitely go back, looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_H24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We were so sorry to hear that your dessert was not to your liking.
As you mentioned your reservation was made through Laterooms where we have some excellent offers although availability is limited. If you book direct with Applegarth you are able to choose your own room from the pictures and descriptions on our website and also benefit from the "Dinner on the Villa" offer which allows a couple to dine absolutely free each evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My boyfriends and I stayed in one of the luxury rooms as a bit of a treat to relax. The room was amazing, double jaccuzzi bath and large bed. The room was exactly as it looked on thewebsite and it was clean and to an excellent standard. On arrival we were made to feel really welcome and the hotel had a lovely peaceful atmosphere. We were told we could use the swimming pool in a spa hotel nearby and did this with ease. The location of Applegarth is perfect, only a few steps away from the shops and the restaurants of Bowness.
The food was excellent quality, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the breakfast was piping hot and served to order. We chatted with the owner as we checked out and got to find out some plans for the hotel for the future. Soon to have it's own pool onsite and other lovely accomodation planned.
The website is great for advising what is in each room, but just phone the hotel as they are happy to help.

Room Tip: All are great. I stayed in room 17, it is downstairs and the bath is quite high to get into, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. Hope to see you later on in the year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#15 of 20 in Windermere
1,222 reviews
2.7 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $185 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing