We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,272)
Filter reviews
1,272 results
Traveler rating
1,067
123
45
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,067
123
45
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubultimate luxuryround bedpotter suiteluxury roomdouble bathmood lightingowners and stafffillet steakcoffee machinehigh standardlake districtattention to detailwell stocked barboth nightsspa bathwedding anniversary
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,102 - 1,107 of 1,272 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My daughter Anna and I met at Applegarth Villa, me from Glasgow and Anna from Manchester, to celebrate our birthdays together. We stayed two nights 10th and 11th June and had a wonderful time. Everything was lovely, the room, the dinner, the breakfast and the staff too. The owners, Suzanne and Alan, were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We dined there both nights. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Applegarth and I'm intending visiting again later in the year with my husband.This is a venue for people who like a quite and relaxed surrounding.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

So pleased you both enjoyed your birthday celebrations at Applegarth. We will be interested to know whether you can persuade your husband to book room 2 for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I had a 2-night stay as a 10th wedding anniversary treat. And what a treat! The Applegarth is beautiful, down to the last tiny detail. Room 14 was spacious and beautifully designed and the huge bath was amazing! Dinner and breakfast were great, everything cooked to perfection. We said we'll go back for our 20th anniversary but I'm hoping to persuade hubby to go back for number 11! Thanks to all the friendly and professional staff for making our visit so special and memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you next year for your 11th wedding anniversary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from spending our wedding anniversary at Applegarth Villa. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night...we would have loved to stay much longer. Room 11 was lovely and had a wonderful view. Dinner and breakfast were fabulous. If you are planning to come to Windermere this is the place to stay if you want friendly, peaceful and luxurious accomodation. We will definitely be returning. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will stay for longer next time.

Room Tip: Room 11 had a wonderful view, but I think all rooms will be of a high standard.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum2jk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

As you dined with us previously as a non-resident whilst staying in the area we are delighted you chose to stay with us this time and that both our accommodation and dining experience lived up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Applegarth as a last minute night away, and booked through Late Rooms. We got a good deal £99 for a night B&B. Compared to other hotels in the area, it was by far the nicest we found.

On arrival we dropped our bags off before wandering down to Bowness to get a boat to Ambleside. There is car parking, but we went on the train. Although there are plenty of buses we walked to Bowness and back, a maximum 25 minute walk.
Room was lovely. We were in room 5. Bathroom was also very nice. We did discover when observing the fire escape routes that room 5 is the escape route for that floor, but that's no major issue. (Except there was a door as opposed to having a large window).

Breakfast was wonderful and the service was great. It all seemed locally sourced and really good quality. We had our evening meal in the restaurant too. Again, the food was tasty, but the service wasn't as great. Pudding was ruined and disappointing, but we sent it back and the waitress was very apologetic and offered us anything else. We also didn't get charged, so it was no big deal.

Overall we had a really lovely stay, and it was very relaxing. We really want to go back and stay in room 2. We got to see it and it was absolutely fantastic. The owner was also extremely friendly and welcoming, and gave us loads of tips on places to eat and things to do in the area.

Also it is worth making use of the spa facilities at the MacDonald hotel by the lake. It was such a bonus being able to go there, and we spent a good couple of hours in there. Very relaxing.

We would definitely go back, looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_H24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We were so sorry to hear that your dessert was not to your liking.
As you mentioned your reservation was made through Laterooms where we have some excellent offers although availability is limited. If you book direct with Applegarth you are able to choose your own room from the pictures and descriptions on our website and also benefit from the "Dinner on the Villa" offer which allows a couple to dine absolutely free each evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My boyfriends and I stayed in one of the luxury rooms as a bit of a treat to relax. The room was amazing, double jaccuzzi bath and large bed. The room was exactly as it looked on thewebsite and it was clean and to an excellent standard. On arrival we were made to feel really welcome and the hotel had a lovely peaceful atmosphere. We were told we could use the swimming pool in a spa hotel nearby and did this with ease. The location of Applegarth is perfect, only a few steps away from the shops and the restaurants of Bowness.
The food was excellent quality, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the breakfast was piping hot and served to order. We chatted with the owner as we checked out and got to find out some plans for the hotel for the future. Soon to have it's own pool onsite and other lovely accomodation planned.
The website is great for advising what is in each room, but just phone the hotel as they are happy to help.

Room Tip: All are great. I stayed in room 17, it is downstairs and the bath is quite high to get into, but the owners are already consideringa step for the room. Great customer service!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. Hope to see you later on in the year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews