We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Easter stay in Suite No 1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights in suite no 1 which was everything as described on the website: very spacious, modern, sumptuous, lovely furniture and decor and a fabulous large and comfortable bed. The bathroom is incredible with a twin jacuzzi bath and separate steam shower - we enjoyed taking full advantage of both! We were celebrating both our birthdays there and were greeted with champagne glasses and a bucket of ice (both as requested) on arrival - and then left to enjoy ourselves! The Farrers ground coffee and in-room cafetiere were an added, much welcome bonus. The hotel offered high standards of service - we loved that the staff weren't loitering around all of the time but appeared instantly that we rang the bell or appeared in the bar or restaurant. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening which was good quality and offered a variety of choices. The wine list also offered good quality wines, well-matched to the food on offer, at reasonable prices. We would thoroughly recommend staying at Applegarth which proved an excellent base for some great walks and a thoroughly indulgent weekend. We will be returning - perhaps to sample the new garden rooms once completed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

It's brilliant to know you enjoyed your room and took full advantage of everything it had to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to see our new rooms but as we want to build the onsite Spa first, hopefully we'll see you before then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
There are newer reviews for Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

As soon as we entered Applegarth, my fiance and I were immediately put at ease. We received a very warm welcome from one of the owners, Suzanne who was just so lovely. Our room was absolutely beautiful (No. 10) and it had a fabulous view of the mountains in the distance.
Before dinner we had a warm welcome from the owner who showed us to a comfy seat in the bar and brought us a drink straight away. The meal was perfect, the wine was fantastic and there was a great atmosphere.

The following morning we had a lovely walk down to the old England hotel to use the spa facilities, even though we had only stayed one night, it was no problem to use the spa the day after which was just lovely! Visiting The Applegarth was a truly wonderful, relaxing experience and we shall definitely be staying again. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were very friendly.

It is the perfect location for a special occasion, I only wish we could have stayed a few more nights! Suzanne let us have a look at the newly refurbished suite which was just out of this world! We couldn't believe the size of the hot tub and the steam room shower, it really had the wow factor! We are getting married in the Lakes and this room would be perfect for the night before the wedding as it is just so beautiful.

I would say Applegarth is our best 5* experience, the villa is absolutely beautiful and the friendly staff really made it for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you Sophie for taking the time to write such a lovely review. If you are getting married in the Lake district we would be delighted to be chosen as part of your wedding celebrations. Take a look at "Mistress" Applegarths motoryacht. She really is a romantic, magical experience, not to mention a great photo shoot for any wedding. All the best to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Four of us stayed here for the Easter break, we booked it online and from arriving we had a very relaxing and pleasant stay! The accommodation was first class our room (17) was large, comfortable, beautifully decorated and very clean (in fact this applies to the whole hotel). Our bathroom was warm and inviting with a real treat of a TV to watch whilst luxuriating in a huge bath. The bed was comfortable with super soft sheets and plenty of pillows. We ate dinner each night in the hotel and the food was lovely with a good choice of wine and friendly serving staff. Although to be fair the hotel is so well situated you could easily walk to town for a selection of restaurants - it is just nice to eat, drink and be merry without stepping outside!. The hotel had lots of parking and we had no problems that others have sited. I thoroughly recommend if you are visiting the Windermere area or general Lakes then stay here!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

The relaxed atmosphere you describe is exactly what we try to achieve at Applegarth Villa. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your Easter break with us and hopefully you all went home refreshed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I spent four superb nights in room 2 (ultra luxury) from 27th March. The room itself, the hotel in general, the food and the service from the owners and staff alike were exemplary. To put this magnificent period building into context it has been skilfully crafted into quality accommodation that is family run with the support of efficient staff. If you are looking for a hotel with a concierge, 24 hour reception or a lift in place of a magnificent staircase lit by an glorius stained glass picture window you should reserve rooms elsewhere. If you are looking to eat beautifully presented food from a varied and interesting menu and relax in sumptuous surroundings with features such as a whirlpool bath, a steam room or luxurious bed then go to Applegarth Villa.

We particularly liked the friendly relaxed atmosphere which lacked any pretension. When time allowed the owners spent a little time talking about the area and their aspirations for the hotel which added to the personal and professional service.

We took advantage of the spa facilities that have been secured by Applegarth Villa at a hotel in Bowness for their guests and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the treatments she had. We went to Windermere to completely relax and re-charge our batteries; this additional facility in conjunction with the accommodation meant we did exactly that.

Will we be returning to Applegarth Villa in the future? Yes without doubt.

Room Tip: Room 2 was fantastic! The views across the village park and fells in the distance are worthy of cons...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you Dave and Suzanne for your great review. We hope you enjoyed your special birthday stay at Applegarth and hope to see you for many more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Travelled up to Windermere before Good Friday to experience the gorgeous rooms of the Applegarth hotel, the excellent restaurant and the facilities of the nearby gym and sauna. A warm welcome from suzanne and the cozy atmosphere of the hotel and room were first class. Enjoyed it so much we booked for xmas week.

Room Tip: We chose the ultimate room which exceeded our expectations.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Look forward to your return visit for our Christmas celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

this is our second visit to the applegarth villa, the place/rooms and atmosphere are great if you want a relaxing break in the lake district.
we stayed in room 14 this time which has a 7 foot wide bed along with a double bath tub, the rooms are all large and designed by an interior designer and are finished to a very high standard.
the food once again is excellent and fantastic value if you book the room when the Dinner on the villa offer is on.
we will be booking again shortly for the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to your return visit in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We picked the Applegarth as we wanted a relaxing break in luxurious, comfortable surroundings. We were upgraded from a 'Deluxe' to a 'Luxury' room, which of course was very nice. Our room (4) was large, but very cold and didn't really warm up during our 2-night stay. It had been decorated nicely, in muted, understated shades, and at first glance the tiled bathroom was very modern and impressive. It was, unfortunately, all 'style over substance' - the sink was very low, just above knee-high, which meant you practically had to bend double to use it, and the shower didn't ever really get hot. There was no under floor heating or slippers provided, which meant the floor was absolutely freezing. We never really got warm at all in that room. Unfortunately the bed was so uncomfortable - it was terribly hard and we had 2 terrible nights' sleep and didn't really ever get comfortable at all during our stay. We did mention this to a lady when checking out and she said they had just received some padded mattress covers so I guess future guests could request these should hard beds not be to their taste. I just felt a little underwhelmed by the whole experience and felt that the luxury touch was not quite there - for example the toiletries in the bathroom were extremely disappointing, the tea tray was embarrassing with a terribly poor selection.....Obviously this didn't ruin our stay, but I personally feel that these touches are important and can make a subtle but important difference.

The building itself is absolutely beautiful, and it is in a good location. Breakfast was ok, but there wasn't a huge selection and everything is served to you rather than being able to help yourself to cold items/drinks, so it all felt a bit formal and stilted.

If you stayed here, it would be a safe bet as it is a nice place but, for me, it was just lacking that extra touch of comfort and luxury I was hoping for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsHMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, the magnificence of the building and quality of the furnishings.
With regards to the temperature of the room and the shower, both are thermostatically controlled. One call to reception and a member of staff would have happily come to show you how they worked if you were having problems. We are disappointed that the bed was not to your liking. As I'm sure you will appreciate everyone has different preferences and again as with the room/shower temperature if you had only asked this could so easily have been resolved at the time making your stay more pleasurable.
Our toiletries are sourced locally with Green credentials but lack non of the luxury of usual brand names. Our refreshment trays include everything from bottled water to hot chocolate with most things in between. If there was anything further you required,a member of staff could have helped. Applegarth has a full working kitchen with numerous speciality teas, freshly baked biscuits etc etc
Moving on to breakfast. In our experience our Guests favour a more relaxed style breakfast and enjoy the luxury of waitress service rather than a self service/buffet style breakfast.
We very much hope to see you both in the future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,470 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $177 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing