We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Brilliant find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from the Applegarth and we have had an excellent experience here. The staff were really good - attentive but not intrusive.The breakfast was really good but an evening meal in the restaurant was absolutely perfect, couldn't fault it at all. The service was prompt but not rushed, the menu was good and the food was divine. The room (no 7) was lovely with a huge jacuzzi bath and everything was immaculate. It is walking distance to loads of bars and shops and a short way to the lake with all the boat trips.
All the rooms had a Christmas stocking on the door and on our last day mince pies and dessert wine was left for us on our return. The place had a lovely, homely feel about it and we had a lovely Twixtmas break. Well recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms here are individual, but no 7 was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therealjkay3109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words and for taking the time to review us. It would be a pleasure to see you again although I cannot promise that there will be an abundace of mince pies readily available unless of course you visit during the festive period when they are mandatory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    106
    41
    22
    10
See reviews for
26
934
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here in February combining our anniversary with valentines day. We stayed in the best room (and most expensive!) in the hotel. The room was out of this world with an 8ft round bed, huge Jacuzzi bath, massive shower and 2 TV's to name but a few things! The attention to detail in that room is amazing! A 3 course meal was included in the price and was gorgeous! An amazing place to stay if you want luxury for a couple of days. The location is also perfect and the staff cant do enough for you.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraLouise87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
The reaction to our eight foot round bed never ceases to amaze me so I am glad you both enjoyed the room and the food at this very special and romantic time of the year. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

If you are looking for a romantic weekend away where you are surrounded by luxurious settings, quality appointments and in a quiet location this is the place for you.

I booked this hotel as a last minute and going soley from the information on the website. I was not dissapointed.

The staff could not do enough for you. No parking issues. We stayed bed and breakfast and this was served in good time. The food and condiments were of an excellent quality and nothing was too much trouble from the attentive staff

During our stay the hotel was full of couples and so we had no problems with noise or unsupervised children running around the place.

We are now making Appletree an annual stay and could not reccomend it highly enough

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4 and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We spend a lot of time and money furnishing the building so it is especially nice when someone appreciates and recognises the hard work and expense made.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to meeting you both again. Why not try a different room next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is a real treat! Set centrally in busy Windermere, it is calm, welcoming and cosy. The hotel has recently been upgraded and every room has a unique modern decor, very tasteful with luxurious bathrooms. There are bathrobes provided as well as good range of toiletries.
The public areas are a mixture of period [ early 20th Century ] and modern decor and furniture.
The staff is a well trained set of people who are very attentive.
The bar has an extensive range of drinks with an emphasis on malt whiskies!
The restaurant is welcoming and the food is good. There are canapes served with pre dinner drinks. However, I think the chef needs to consider changing the menu more frequently - looking at the website it hasn't changed for some time, and during our two day stay it didn't have any specials on either evening. My three companions had substantial good quality "carnivore " meals that used local produce. BUT....the vegetarian choices were weak - only three choices and rather unimaginative. The polenta cakes which I had as main course on the first night were tasty enough but the pasta [which I had on the second evening ] was inedible - salty and overcooked. This is a great shame when EVERYTHING else was superb!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night break in Windermere, the stay at Applegarth made this a luxury break. The rooms are luxurious and our bathroom was the best we had ever seen.

The owners Alan & Suzie were very accommodating and always had time for a chat, offering advice on walks & the many shops Windermere has to offer.

We went for the dinner, bed & breakfast package and this was terrific value for money, the meal consisted of 3 courses. There was something on the menu to suit all offering both gluten free & vegetarian options.

The weather wasn't the best, so we spent time in the bar/lounge area, this was very relaxing, with big comfy settee's, with books & games on offer - it was like home from home.

The hotel offers a great selection of local real ales and an extensive wine list - all reasonably priced for a 5* hotel.

We will definately return and recommend to our friends & family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redders2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have just arrived home after another few days holiday in the Lake District and once again we stayed at the Applegarth Villa Hotel. Once again we had a fantastic time. The hotel is improving all the time with rooms being improved and even new ones being added. All to a luxurious standard.
As usual the owners and staff are all really friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
As for the food.....well.....it gets better each time we visit.
Thanls Applegarth for a lovely holiday. Even though it did rain nearly all the time we were there.But there again if it didn't rain in the Lake District....there wouldn't be any lakes.

Room Tip: Look at the website. Rooms at the rearof the hotel have better views. Over the village and the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you Sid for the kind words. It was lovely to see both you and Val again. We will try and arrange for better weather next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

my fiance and I were very lucky to be given a voucher by our friends for our engagement for a nights stay at applegarth. amazing place...stayed in room 7 with the most amazing bathroom :) great location and owners and staff very welcoming and friendly. we got to check in early and had a peak at luxury room 2...which was very impressive!! use of spa facilities at the old england was an added bonus. we had a meal in winderemere but the breakfast was delicious...recomend the poached eggs :) overall great stat but bed was a bit hard for me but great experience that will always remember :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Gift vouchers make a great present and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing