We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a two night stay in the applegarth. The hotel is in a great location; a few short steps and you are in Windermere village. The reception and bar area is elegant and spacious with plenty of seating and wonderful views. Our room (15) being small yet comfortable with an iPod player, flat screen and power shower. The bed was quite hard but I think this is personal taste. The room was quiet at night with no noise from the road considering we were at the front of the hotel. The owners and staff at the applegarth are all very friendly and pleasant; northing is too much trouble and as a guest you are made to feel special.
The spa that we used in the Old England hotel in Bowness was modern and spotless but we found it hard to relax as there were childrens swimming lessons taking place when we used it (at around 5.00pm)
Jr's restaurant is fabulous. We dined on both nights and were really impressed. The menu being extensive and locally sourced.
Do not listen to any bad reviews, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    112
    43
    22
    11
See reviews for
28
965
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ayr scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

this is our fourth time at the applegarth and we were not disappointed
the hotel is lovely as the management and staff.
totally relaxing in the restaurant and bar area

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macayrscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

we stayed on a two nights dinner bed and breakfast deal ,we have stayed a number of times before and as always the food was excellent as was the whole of our stay , we even had a tour of the newly refurbished rooms and are hopeing to go back next year and stay in one of those

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaynekilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed over the long bank holiday and were dissapointed with the standard of this hotel. It is well kept and clean but we felt our room was very small with a fine view of the fire escape! On asking if we could change we were told this was the largest of the Delux rooms...shouldnt want to see the smallest one! The bathroom was well equipped but the door only shut if we slammed it. The shower was very powerful but consequently spayed water all over the floor. Not sure if towels were changed every day despite leaving them in the bath daily. Likewise to the sheets. The tea cups were not changed/cleaned daily and there was only one small bottle of water per day if we were lucky.

Breakfast was quite late at 8.30 and only available for 1 hr. Food was good but felt as if we were being rationed. There was not buffet table so had to order everything. Portions a bit on the mean side. Only one sausage, egg, bacon slice on the full breakfast. On asking for more toast got 3 very small slices between 2 of us. (Nice bread though).

Overall felt this wasnt good value for the money we had paid. Didnt eat there in the evenings as several good restuarants within walking distance. (Mojos, Francines and Grey Walls).

Room Tip: Dont have room 5 unless you like looking at fire escapes. Only way to get fresh air was to stand on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CarolynElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We went to Applegarth for our honeymoon after we got married in February. We had THE BEST experience: friendly staff, delicious food, comfy bed, incredible facilities (we stayed in room 7 and had an amazing double jacuzzi bath!), used the spa (in Bowness) and just loved staying in the hotel - it was hard to leave after our 5 days there! Alan and Suzanne just made the whole stay perfect and we cannot wait to return next year (and hopefully every year!) for our anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Having just returned from 4 nights DBB we had to share how fantastic everything is about Applegarth. The location, accommodation, food, hosts, staff! We stayed in room 4 on the b&b rate which included free dinner as a special offer and the whole set up is fantastic and we would highly recommend to anyone looking for a small, top quality luxury stay within walking distance of Windermere village. Rated as a 5 star b&b - we understand that having no lift prevents them getting more than 2 stars on a hotel rating - the experience of Applegarth is one we will definately be repeating sooner rather than later. I was dragged home most reluctantly!
We chose not to visit the leisure facilities available to us, but did walk to admire the fantastic view from the local high point - recommended by our hosts, and well worth it!

Room Tip: Room 4 was outstanding - only observation is that if like my husband you want a 'wet' shave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great service and lovely staff. The bathroom was the star high spec and immaculate. The down side was it was noisey at night due to the busy road but this would not have been too much of a problem if the weather hadn't been really warm...it's not often we can complain of that!!! Food was good but the main meal needed seasonal veggies, baby sweet corn and limp courgette were not what you would expect with a steak or veal dish, I hope the owners will take note, this was the only poor point of what would have been a very enjoyable meal. Would I recommend this hotel? Yep

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,141 reviews
24.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Property: Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard together with our newly appointed suites all with a hot tub, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells from your hot tub. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, free hi speed internet access,suites with hot tubs, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ADULT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Applegarth Villa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing