We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and clean,friendly great breakfast.”
Review of Ivythwaite Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ivythwaite Lodge
Ranked #37 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days,this was a beautiful peaceful place to stay we stayed in the attic room what a marvellous spacious room this is,we didnt want to come home from there,mick & wendy are very good hosts and wendy cooks a great breakfast,we will certainly reccommend this to other people and we will definately return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 223 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

we stayed at the ivythwaite lodge for a short break. we were greeted with a warm welcome. the hotel is decorated to a very high standard. we stayed in the attic room and the double spa bath was brilliant. the breakfast they served was excellent with a wide variety of choices including fresh fruit, yougart. continental breakfast, full english breakfast and vegitarian options. well worth a visit, will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Would recommend this guest house to everyone, only stayed one night, wished we could of stayed more, everything about this place is stunning and the double spa bath was made for memories.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breaksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Wendy and Mick run a lovely place here. Situated midway between Bowness and Windermere it is an easy walk to the fleshpots of both! ( Can especially recommend the folk group on a Sunday night at the Hole in the Wall.)
Our first night was B&B in a great room with a jacuzzi, the remainder self catering in the "Nook". I believe we were the first. Fabulously equipped, lacking for nothing, we enjoyed it so much we lost all track of time. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imnerbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for celebrate our first wedding anniversary - we were in the Great Gables room in the attic which had lots of space with the most comfortable bed ever! It also had a great double bath with spa, which was lovely after a long and wet days walking!

The location is fantastic, right in the middle of Windermere and Bowness. Its fine to walk to Windermere for the restaurants in the evening - of which Mike and Wendy recommended some lovely places to eat (including Rambla in Windermere - highly recommend) and it was on a quiet road.

Breakfast was lovely full English with other options and came with home made sausages!

All in all, would highly recommend this to couples looking for some beautiful countryside walking and restful accomodation and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellapbfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

My boyfriend and I have just come back from staying at the Ivythwaite Lodge- It was utterly gorgeous, we stayed in the the gables room- this was bigger then expected, very comfy bed, plenty of space and as for the aqua bath - soo relaxing. The breakfast were very tasty and filling. Our stay was simply perfect- the perfect combination of walking, eating, drinking and relaxing.
Ivythwaite is perfectly located - windermere and bowness are lovely, we also went to ambleside, kendal, keswick and Grasmere- throughly recommend grasmere- its beautiful quaint village and the lunches in Heidi's are gorgeous.!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridiewestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Had to place a note on TripAdvisor the second we returned home. Me and my husband never really get the time to go away on a weekend so this had to be perfect. We booked the attic room, and at first we were a bit reluctant because some attic rooms can have very restricted head room....God werent we wrong. Pay the extra and have this room.... You get a massive ornate bed, lovely solid wood furniture - Nothing from MFI....lots of space....,,,,thick luxury carpet and 5 Velux roof windows with black out blinds if you like a nice sleep in. The bath was massive and can even get 2 people in it. The only thing that i would say is.... "the photo's on the web for this room dont justify it....its a million times betta" Sorry Wendy and Mick but thought you might want to know this constructive comment. Anyway moving on....Bowness is the place to eat and drink and Windermere is a little flat. The walk to Bowness from Ivythwaite is ten mins max and only £2.50 in a taxi. You will find all places for everyone......Wine Bars, olde world pubs.....lots of places to eat for all budgets. Day trips - We went to Ambleside on the boat which took 35mins each way and cost £8.00 return per person. You can go for the day and decide whenever you want to return. We went and spent 3 hours walking and checking the olde world pubs and quaint shops, what a lovely place. Next day we went to Kendal for the day on the train, but we went on a Sunday and it was dead,but still managed to have a good look round and enjoyed it......Dont ponder about deciding on where to stay because you might just find that Ivythwaite is booked up and you will miss a real GEM.....
Darren & Louise from Leeds

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouLouNo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivythwaite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivythwaite Lodge

Address: Ivythwaite Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $104 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivythwaite Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ivythwaite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel Hotel Windermere
Ivythwaite Lodge Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing