We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ivythwaite Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$168
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Windermere Suites(Windermere)
$222
$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willowsmere(Windermere)
$146
$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$305
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
204
26
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
26
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathfour poster bedself catering cottageshort walkowners were friendlylovely placemy partnerlovely roomsmoked salmonfeel very welcomea great stayfantastic breakfastquiet locationwithin easy walking distancelake districtcumbrian breakfastfull english
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 235 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay in July 2013. Wendy and Mick made us feel very welcome. They cook up an absolutely fantastic breakfast with lots of options to chose from (I recommend the pancakes). Wendy was very helpful about giving us restaurant recommendations as well, so we never had a bad meal. From Ivythwaite it is an easy ten to fifteen minute walk up into Windermere, or down into Bowness. If I'm ever back in the Lakes, I wont be staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

brilliant hotel run by mick and wendy. our 3rd stay, they always make us feel at home. theres nothing better than lounging in the garden on a sunny day. really lovely genuine couple trying to make a difference to peoples stay in the lakes. a tribute to the tourist trade. the breakfast is amazing with top quality produce. (im fussy with my sausages so its always a treat). if you think its a little pricey, you get what you pay for. book it, you wont be dissappointed. i forgot to mention the massive whirlpool bath that nearly takes up all the bathroom. oh yes, in the bath with an ice cold cider.

Room Tip: go for the attic. its dearer but amazing
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doctorhotfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at The Cranny - one of Wendy and Micks self catering properties - which was perfect. We could come and go as we pleased and Mick and Wendy were kind enough to offer us breakfast at the main house still as well. The breakfasts were lovely - we tried all of the options over the course of the week and all were fab with endless supplies of toast, tea etc.
The Cranny itself was lovely - it was spotless when we arrived and Mick and Wenday had kindly given us a box of chocolates as well as biscuits and kenal mint cake. By prior arrangement they had also set us up with a welcome basket which provided us with everything you needed to get started e.g. Milk, butter, bread as well as wine and beer!
Hotel in perfect location with both Windermere and Bowness within walking distance. Mick and Wendy were also very helpful in giving us advice on the best places to go and how to get there etc - nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you for a very relaxing honeymoon - we will be back for a first anniversary get away!
Jo and James

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just had to leave a review for Ivythwaite to say how lovely it is here, we were made to feel welcome from the very beginning of our stay, the hotel and especially our room was beautiful, with the spa bath being an added bonus. The breakfast was lovely, and it was very nice to have a choice of what you would like.
Felt really relaxed and welcome, and can’t wait for a return visit.
Location is brilliant, just a short walk into the town or down to the lake.
Would defiantly recommend a stay here for anyone visiting Windemere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Booked on spur of the moment for two nights!! just could not let all that sunshine go to waste??
on arriving you could sense it was the right choice, excellent room, spacious and clean, with comfortable bed, and that marvellous bathroom and spa bath, plenty of tea and milk provided in room.Excellent breakfast with good choice of hot and cold food, and friendly host Mick and Wendy quite helpful, location excellent for both Bowness and Windermere yes would definitly return.

Room Tip: stayed in room 2 was quiet even though there was livestock in neighboures garden ie "chickens???
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews