We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Break”
Review of Craig Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Craig Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great location. Majority of staff were super polite and helpful, especially the evening waiter who seated us for dinner. The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. We would visit again in the future!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorajayne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Craig Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 605 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a lovely break, we booked a lake view room and also got amazing views of the snow capped fells. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant, and the staff very professional and helpful. Breakfast was also lovely. The hotel is just on the outskirts of Bowness, so a lovely walk to the lake, shops and cafes, all in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: A lake view room just makes it
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have always wanted to stay here ,but very let down ,the room 205 had the most creaky floorboards ever and also a fan/ boiler noise going all the time ,no sleep at all ,we asked to be moved which we were after first night however in next room - no sleep again due to rowdy drunken folks above which even receptionist heard &commented on when we checked out !
Never again came home exhausted

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Di A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was a special treat for a special birthday for my partner from her eldest daughter. We had bad experiences before in some 'deal' websites but glad to report this was an excellent break and hotel in a beautiful part of the country. We were booked in for 2 nights with evening meal included on first

Although we arrived early the friendly receptionist took our details advised we could park in the car park and complete check in 1 hour later.

The room was very bright and fresh and the large bath excellent to soak in after a day walking & shopping - wish we had know we could have had a Lake View would have been icing on the cake.

The evening meal was absolutely superb - partner had rack of lamb and I had roast lamb followed by pan cotta and trifle all superbly presented and tasting great - breakfast on both days was great - staff attentive and helpful without being obtrusive - would recommend this hotel 100% hope to come again

Room Tip: book a lake view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just returned from a lovely 2 night break. Had a lake view room with stunning view of the lake and snow capped fells. Room was clean spacious and well equipped as was the bathroom. Had an excellent dinner in the restaurant and breakfast was of an equally high standard. The biggest quality of the hotel is the excellent friendly staff. The dog was made as welcome as we were which was a bonus

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Philbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed two nights for my wife's
birthday ; advertised as a lake view room, the lake is hardly visible; tiny room overlooked the car park; "winter warmer cocktails" took twenty minutes to come and were lukewarm ; on the booking form "special requests " I asked for a birthday cake to be brought to our table at dinner on the first night but this didn't happen & was never mentioned ; staff generally were very pleasant but disorganised ; on the whole not "fabulous" as advertised but a huge disappointment ; offered a £20 discount off the bill but this didn't make up for the sort comings ; we wanted the promised "fabulous" experience not a discount

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil-Aperitif24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have just enjoyed an amazing time here! The hotel is lovely, clean and well maintained. The staff are wonderful really friendly and can't do enough for you. We will definitely return. Bar prices are pretty rrasonable. The eveninh meal was fabulous and so wss breakfast each morning. Would definitely recommend this place. Hope to come again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank va76w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,470 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Manor Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Windermere
#14 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $115 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craig Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Manor Windermere
Hotel Craig Manor
Craig Manor Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing