We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”
Review of Craig Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Craig Manor Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
north yorkshire, england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel following our initial stay in 2009 and we found it very good. We had a room overlooking the area towards the lake on the third floor. The room was comfortable and quiet and although I would have preferred a bath instead of the shower we managed ok. The breakfasts were excellent and you got a decent-sized teapot, not like some of the tiny things you get in some places. Can't comment on the evening menu as we preferred to go down into Bowness for our evening meal. There is ample car-parking at the rear of the hotel and the week we were there the car park was quite empty. The hotel is well-situated for walking into Bowness or into Windermere village. All-in-all my partner and I had no real complaints, the staff were friendly enough and we had no real problems, we will certainly go back.

Room Tip: its helpful if you get a room at the back of the hotel as this is a lot quieter, you pay a bit extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colvez1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    234
    91
    23
    26
See reviews for
62
415
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussesx
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed from 24/05/2012 through til 26/05/2012 for a mini moon having got married the day before in Scotland.

We did have a break at this hotel a few years ago and loved it despite the fact the rooms badly needed refurbishment. What a difference now! All of the good stuff is still there such as great food, amazing service delivered by super staff plus refurbished rooms. We had a lake view room which was just lovely. A perfect stay to celebrate our marriage.

Great location for exploring the lakes, lovely views yet so close to the town, good value, can't fault it. We will be back.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy road so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back. Lake view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyLWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I always make sure to stay @ 'THE CRAIG MANOR' when stopping in the Lake District.
Very friendly and an excellent cooked breakfast.
Cosy rooms with very goor beds for a good nights sleep. Enclosed parking @ the rear of the hotel.
The furnitue in the bar area is getting a little tired but this is really being pickey.
Will be back on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived for a two day break and was given our key but we found the room slightly dark and on the main road and as it was very warm outside was a bit worried about having to leave the window open and not getting any sleep from the noise of the traffic ! We asked if we could change rooms and was offered another room on the back with no problem. We found the restaurant service the best we've had in any hotel and the food was perfect and first class. We didn't wait or want for anything. The waiters and waitresses were very professional and courteous. Over the two days of breakfast and dinner we could not fault a thing. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and we will certainly eagerly return. It was a very relaxing, perfect stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel and not overlooking the road as better views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Upgraded to lake view and warmly received by reception lady... room fine and hotels public rooms are really nice also. Breakfast was best for long time and again warm service from all 3 staff. Recommended. (but no tea spoons in room on arrival)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I checked in on Monday 13th August for a 2 day break, there was plenty of room on the car park and the receptionist was very helpful on booking in. We were upgraded to a four poster room on the front, the room itself was quite small and only had one chair rather than a small sofa or a couple of armchairs so the only place to relax was either to perch in the windowsill or sit on the bed. Other than that the room was adequate but we were concerned about the noise from the busy road below. The windows shut properly though and the road made no difference to our stay at all.

We were booked in for the 2 day special, the chocolates and wine were a really nice touch and we were looking forward to our dinner. I can only say that the food was out of this world, if I was to be picky I would say the herbs on the chicken goujons in the Caesar salad were a bit too strong but the chicken breast stuffed with mango and ginger in a wine and chive sauce was amazing I will be returning again just to have another portion of this gorgeous dish. I had sherry trifle for dessert and I could not manage to finish it off which is not like me at all so well done to the chefs the food was fantastic.

Breakfast was good too, apart from the depressing piano music the bacon was crispy and everything was cooked well and of a very high standard, we only had one rack of toast but after all the the fruit and full English it was quite enough for us both.

We stayed here before in 2009 and it was just as I remembered, we hope to stay here again and it will certainly not be another 3 years before we do so.

The staff were all friendly, approachable and helpful too.

Many thanks for a great break

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldee46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Second visit to this hotel. Very clean hotel decorated in traditional style, so don't expect ultra-modern. Went with my mum and 16 year old daughter for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast. We stayed in room 105 on the ground floor by the rear carpark, which was a family room ie double massive bed and separate twin bedded room with jacuzzi bath and shower. Very clean and quiet except when people coming down the stairs early on a morning.

Best thing about this hotel is the fantastic food and absolutely love the chicken breast stuffed with ginger and mango in a white wine and chive sauce although very rich is simply gorgeous. The chefs here are super talented and the food would be perfect for any 5 star hotel.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the rear as the front as traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liversedgeblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Manor Hotel

Property: Craig Manor Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Windermere
#14 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craig Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Manor Windermere
Hotel Craig Manor
Craig Manor Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing