We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank holiday weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chestnuts Guest House
Ranked #14 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bank holiday weekend break”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

After reading good reviews on this guesthouse me and my partner booked online.
We checked in on the fri eve and was shown our room, room 1 coniston
A very nice clean ground floor room with ensuite.
The ensuite was dated but really clean, the four poster in our room looked great.There was complimentary coffee tea hot chocolate as well as fresh coffee which was fab after a long journey. The bath robes was a nice touch as well as the body lotions, soaps, even shower caps. Everything had been thought of.
Herein was the problem the mattress was like sleeping on a straw bail,both me and my partner have come away feeling tired out and not refreshed as we should.
We have stayed in many b&bs /guest houses up and down the country but we feel from a sleep point of view this was one of our worst experiences.
Maybe the other rooms were different we don't know.
The breakfasts were very good the location was very good but we don't think Heather & Nigel have slept in this room or they would realise how bad the mattress is. When we mentioned the very firm mattress to Heather at the end of the trip we got the feeling that she wasn't really interested . As a result we won't be staying again which is a shame as everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiamariap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersh, Owner at Chestnuts Guest House, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We thank the guests for their review and are sorry that they were happy with everything but the bed. It was not that I was not interested in their comments regarding the mattress, I did say I was sorry they had not been comfortable, it was simply that I was at a loss to know how to respond to their comments. In all our time at The Chestnuts no one has EVER told us that the beds were too hard and every single bed in the house is the same. We are constantly being told by our guests that they were so comfortable they did not want to get out of bed! In fact, the ONLY other negative comment we have ever had is that the mattress was too soft!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
136
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the Chestnuts Guest House while hiking around Lake District, and our experience was very positive.

Our room was warm, clean and nicely decorated. It included an en-suite bathroom and a comfortable bed which helped us to recover from hours of walking. Considering that noise from other rooms easily bothers me, our place was not as well isolated as I would have liked, but fortunately the people staying in adjoining rooms didn't stay until very late watching TV. Nevertheless, I'm not pointing that it was poorly insulated, but just the average.

Breakfast was plenty and delicious, with a wide range of options available. We started each morning with all the energy we needed for the rest of the day.

The Chestnuts is in an good location, just 15-20 minutes on foot from the train/bus station and the lake.

If I travel again to Lake District in the future, I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonAlonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Chestnuts for 3 nights recently while visiting the lake district. Great location halfway between Windermere and Bowness and walking distance to many pubs, restaurants and bars. The rooms are tastefully decorated, cosy and quiet, guaranteeing a good nights sleep. Fresh coffee plunger in the room was a nice touch. Breakfast was freshly prepared and heaps of variety offering everything from fruit, yogurt, cereal to a full English breakfast. Our hosts Heather and Nigel were friendly and accommodating and offered us suggestions on places to visit and go walking. In summary a lovely short break. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAD502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited Chestnuts Hotel again last weekend this was our second short break and although the weather was poor, the weekend was otherwise very enjoyable, the room was spotless with tea coffee and biscuits, the breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
The position of this hotel is ideal for a walk into Windermere or down to Bowness.
We can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are possibly quieter as we could hear some noise from the kitchen as Nigel prepared b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy1762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My Wife and I stayed for two nights October 11th & 12th, and this was a last minute booking,

We can only give this Guest House an average rating as the bathroom in our room was poorly laid out. You couldn’t use the mirror to shave with as the sink was in the way and the lights in the room were so dim it was difficult to see. The hot water only ever got luke warm all and didn’t get hot. The water pressure was also so low it took ages to fill the sink. Also the electric shower was just adequate; again probably do to the water pressure. It’s clear the owners have never stayed in the room otherwise they would have picked up on these simple issues.

The staff / owners were somewhat short at breakfast, and as someone else’s has already mention on this site the whole experience felt more like a business transaction.

We won’t be staying here again; there are far better guest houses in the area for a similar price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLoyds506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here after changing our dates a few times! We arrived early but was happily greatest by heather who said if we didn't mind waiting she would have our room ready. We were given coffee and biscuits which was a lovely touch. When we were shown to our room we were in awe as it was perfect! The breakfast was lovely and I couldn't fault anything about our stay. It was a perfect location to explore the lakes, and would highly recommend this as the place to say. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This bed and breakfast is ideally situated between Windermere and Bowness. We have been to the lakes many times and stayed in various other places but this would be by far the best. We always try and book room 6 its a beautiful room but I am sure the others are equally as nice. The breakfasts are great and the scrambled eggs are something else. Its also nice to have a car park where its not a nightmare getting in and out of as I am not the best driver. We try and come here each year for my birthday and its not changed one bit reall excellent value for money especially considering what you get compared to other b&Bs.roll on November!! Lauren and Thomas, Sunderland

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenandThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
680 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 108 in Windermere
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts Guest House

Property: Chestnuts Guest House
Address: Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnuts Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically updated throughout January 2017, Chestnuts is an attractive Victorian B&B offering seven individually styled bedrooms, many with original period features. With a choice of doubles, four-poster rooms and a twin room, all guest bedrooms have en-suite showers or baths, and plenty of little luxuries from free Wi-Fi to a hot drinks station. The house itself is over a century old, and sits in a quiet area, surrounded by a secluded garden, and ample off-road parking for guests. The dining room is an airy room, with high ceiling, and benefits from an original fireplace, perfect for an early winter’s morning. Chestnuts is an easy five-minute walk from Windermere centre, and ten-minutes’ walk to Bowness and Lake Windermere; making it an ideal location for the scenic Lake cruises, England’s highest peak Scarfell Pike and a mainline train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Chestnuts Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing