We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more could you want?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts Guest House
Ranked #23 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What more could you want?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'm a regular visitor to the Lakes and these days always stay at this lovely guest house, Heather and Nigel are very welcoming and it's easy walking distance to both Bowness and Windermere, on a quiet road away from the traffic noise. Rooms cosily decorated, with all the facilities you expect these days and spotlessly clean, and the beds are really comfortable. Breakfast delicious, with a wide choice. Altogether, comfortable, reliable and excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    17
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
120
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Beds comfortable, rooms warm, breakfast good and my wife's dietary requirements were accommodated with no fuss. Nothing technically wrong. When I checked out, a business transaction had been completed is how it felt to me.

Noisy drunkards in the next room on the Saturday meant little sleep, though the owners cannot be blamed for this.

People would not have a bad experience here, just having stayed at places where they do go above and beyond, this is not in that bracket. Maybe it was us?

It was marked as 'average', taking the heightened expectations (based upon online reviews) into account.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ric_br0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at chestnuts in semptember, on arrival were greeted by heather one of the owners were made to feel at home from moment we arrived pot of tea an cakes . Room we were in was on top floor lovely room wich was cleaned and fresh towels everyday, look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
2 Thank deni4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stopped here for 2 nights and found it to be very good. Room was clean and the welcome was very hospitable even though we arrived quite late. Breakfast was excellent - good food and plenty of choice, try the eggs benedict!
Although we didn't need any additional help from the proprietor we got the impression that nothing would have been too much trouble.
Property is situated between Bowness and Windermere, a short walk to each.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boscorelli34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have just had a three night stay at Chestnuts Guest House and have really enjoyed it, the place is ideally situated for local shops and within a five minute walk of Bowness, The room we had on the top floor was well equipped and spotless clean.
Heather made us very welcome with tea and cake on arrival and Nigel's breakfast was perfectly cooked and presented.
All round a smashing weekend and good value for money, we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendy1762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

When we arrived we were offered tea/coffee and cake which was great touch and greatly appreciated.
The accommodation was excellent my friend and I were on a couple days break walking and drinking and we stayed in the twin room, Room 5. A small room with a small ensuite but was just fine for a couple of days stay. Everthing about Chestnuts was excellent the location to both Windemere and Bowness was central. The breakfast was very good and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Chestnuts for 2 nights on our way back from Scotland, we had a very long journey and were greeted with tea/coffee and cakes which was very much appreciated. Nigel & Heather are perfect hosts. The b&b is very well organised and very clean. The breakfasts are excellent - especially the poached eggs!
The rooms are very clean, and toiletries are provided - also dressing gowns, and a lovely little teddy bear on the bed (nice touch). Tea & coffee (coffee was fab!) making facilites in the room.
The Chestnuts is perfectly located to explore the Lake district, but as we had been so many times before and had spent hours of driving, it was lovely to park the car and just walk to Windermere and Bowness, we had a lovely rest. The weather was even kind to us!
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Chestnuts, and when we are next in the Lake District would definiately stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Denehurst Guest House
Denehurst Guest House
#20 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#13 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#11 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#21 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts Guest House

Property: Chestnuts Guest House
Address: Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnuts Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically updated throughout January 2017, Chestnuts is an attractive Victorian B&B offering seven individually styled bedrooms, many with original period features. With a choice of doubles, four-poster rooms and a twin room, all guest bedrooms have en-suite showers or baths, and plenty of little luxuries from free Wi-Fi to a hot drinks station. The house itself is over a century old, and sits in a quiet area, surrounded by a secluded garden, and ample off-road parking for guests. The dining room is an airy room, with high ceiling, and benefits from an original fireplace, perfect for an early winter’s morning. Chestnuts is an easy five-minute walk from Windermere centre, and ten-minutes’ walk to Bowness and Lake Windermere; making it an ideal location for the scenic Lake cruises, England’s highest peak Scarfell Pike and a mainline train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Chestnuts Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing