We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway”

Review of Jay's Nest

Jay's Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jay's Nest
Living space Kitchen/dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Jay's Nest
Living space
Kitchen/dining
Bedroom
Winter scene
Private decking
Shoes off please
Patio doors
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bath/shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
susandX68...
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Cottage is equipped to a high standard and is in a great position for exploring the area by car or on foot. Easy access to Windermere and Bowness. The cottage has everything you need if you want a night in after a busy day. I will recommend this cottage to our friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey S
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Luxury property. Fully equipped. Perfect location. Close to both Bowness and Windermere. Ideal for walkers - no need to use car at all if you don't want. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selwyn S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Jay’s Nest is in Windermere. It is a hidden a Gem.
The cottages is very well fitted out with everything that you might need.
We have stayed in many accommodations in the Lakes but this is by far the best one.
It is perfectly situated, just a few minutes from Lake Windermere and a short drive to Ambleside and Grasmere.
We will love to stay here again

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 15, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AndyandHe...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay in Windermere”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Rather a late review for our stay at Jays Nest from 7-10th November, but we had a wonderful stay and just had to share our comments.
We contacted Gary a few times before our stay, once to arrange for an early arrival and then again to arrange for some Champagne to be left in the cottage when we arrived, as it was my boyfriends 30th birthday! He was very helpful with both requests and offered a few options for the champagne.
On arrival everything was perfect! The cottage was spotlessly clean and there was literally everything you would need for your stay. There was recommendations left for restaurants, cafés and walks - a nice touch. The location was excellent for exploring the local area. We could walk to the train station and down into Bowness for shops and restaurants.
We didn't meet Gary and Ange until we were leaving on our last day but we always felt that we could call or pop round if there was anything we needed.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and will definitely be returning in the future.
Thanks again Gary and Ange

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FABULOUS PLACE”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we've stayed here and I just can't say enough good things about Jay's Nest, we just love it here......we'd live here if we could!!!! The cottage is modern & spacious but has a lovely cosy feel and offers real value for money when you look at other similar styles of accommodation. It is extremely well equipped and has some lovely personal touches...the flapjacks were delicious, thank you. The bed, pillows and bedding are so comfortable, we didn't want to get up!!! The view out of the living room window is fantastic because the cottage is quite high up. We were lucky enough when we stayed to watch a brilliant, unexpected firework display below....we had a birds eye view from the window and right next to a beautiful warm fire!! There's plenty of information about local walks and restaurants etc which we found really helpful. Booths is definately worth a visit if you're eating in instead of Tesco's or Co-op because there are some lovely choices of food there. It probably took about 15-20 minutes to walk to either Bowness or Windermere where there are some lovely shops and restaurants. A really nice, shortish walk we came across which was beautiful & romantic (& easy) was off Rayrigg Road by the bus stop, across a field which brought you out to the treelined shores of Windermere. If you follow the shoreline until you hear running water, you come across a waterfall. We had a brilliant time here again and Ange and Gary are really helpful and accommodating. We literally can't fault anything and have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation for a lovely 'get away from it all' break. Thanks again, look forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing