We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance, friendly staff, OK coffee, fast wifi”

Charlie's of Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We open at 9am for breakfast .11.30 we change to a lunch menu. 3pm another menu change afternoon teas! Then booking only for an evening meal
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great ambiance, friendly staff, OK coffee, fast wifi”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The latte I had was about on par with Costa coffee - nothing special. The espresso was burned, the milk scalded, pretty much what you expect from someone who has not been trained to use an espresso machine properly. However, the staff was extremely friendly and the wide selection of baked good all looked delicious. There is free wifi and plenty of comfortable seating. In a test with only 1 other person in the shop the broadband measured 12 down and 1 up, well above typical free wifi. If you want a place to relax, read a book, or do some work on your laptop this is your place. If you want a perfectly pulled shot of espresso with milk steamed to drinking temperature, look elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    31
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great wee coffee stop”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Four of us Walking in Windermere looking for a place to stop and have a drink. Saw Coffee Bar 7 tucked away in a corner. Had a table free and we went for it.Glad we did..staff were friendly. The Hot chocolate and marshmallow and extra marshmallow on the side made my friends day!!
Had a cream tea...shared the scone! When I got the bill for the four of us..less than £15. Check it out if you are in the Lakes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“deceptively good”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

After having experienced a number of poor value restaurants around the area, this little find was like a breath of fresh air. A bit quirky, but well worth a try - really friendly, helpful staff, tasty food giving excellent value for money. We told them so when we left - not something we tend to do.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dascam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had lunch here one day, the food was really tasty. Staff were all lovely and cheerful. Clean and comfy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“chocolate heaven”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

lovely place to sit and watch the world go by.... chocolate iced latte to die for! and like every where else in the area a bowl of water for the doggies x

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebiDoDah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's of Windermere also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Charlie's of Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing