We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in the Lakes”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Lakes”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you climb up the drive way, you know you are going to arrive somewhere special. We were greeted by a member of the team who helped us off load our luggage and park our car. We were shown to our room which was everything we had hoped for and more. Stunning views of the lake. Sumptuous furnishings and fabrics. We were looking forward to our 7 course tasting menu however we discovered that the hotel has a private outdoor hot tub with availability. As we were drinking our champagne under the stars in the hot tub we wondered if there could possibly be a better place. The tasting menu and accompanying wines were superbly presented and cooked and the knowledge of our waiter was excellent. After dinner we retired to the lounge with roaring log fires where we enjoyed conversation with other guests. Breakfast offered a delicious choice and quality. This was a very personalised experience from arrival to departure and were presented with bespoke choclates on our departure. We look forward to returning soon. Paul & Amanda
again before too long.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Waderoberts8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    102
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
511
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at The Samling last week for 2 nights. All I can say is that it was perfection from start to finish. The service, the food, the accommodation, the location - it was all world-class. Couldn't give it a higher recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Samling for our ‘mini-moon’ in late July - immediately after our wedding - with the goal of staying in a ‘retreat’ style hotel with great food and relaxation after the madness of the big day and its build-up. It fit the bill perfectly.

Our room (Dovenest) was roomy, romantic and individually decorated, and was set back in the gardens of the hotel. We were comfortable there from the moment we arrived.

The standard of food was exceptional. We booked in for a magnificent fine dining meal and were given some excellent advice on menu and wine choices based on the impressive knowledge of the duty manager, Johnny.

The thing that stood out most from our stay was the level of service we received. Samling is by no means a budget hotel, but we truly got what we paid for: superb personal service – particularly from the duty managers – and lot of little touches (chocolates every night, welcome champagne) that truly marked out our stay as special.

Finally, if the weather is as glorious as it was for us in late July, we’d highly recommend the open-air Jacuzzi, which has stunning views of Lake Windermere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandAimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Saw a great winter offer for the Samling and took it up mid January. Its a long way from Berkshire but sometimes you just have to go! Tricky to find in the dark but well worth it when we eventually got there. Umbrella cover appeared and the car parked for us. We stayed in the Tyan room which was stunning but as it was dark we did not peek out the window. The Samling had been awarded a Michelin star since we booked so our expectation was much hightened.
The bar is warm and intimate with service quiet and efficient. My wife ordered Crawfish and I Venison. The dining experience was very 'Michelin' very minimal with somewhat quirky presentation including the dry ice treatment for the taster. It was a little over the top for us and we were surprised when asked about the food my wife said the fish was a little tough the waiter agreed! No more said. My Venison was wonderful and the cheese at the end stunning. Quantities not so good.
We chose Cumbrian breakfast in our room next morning and what a delight, our little round table in the window looked right out over the lake, it was cloudy but with early shafts of sunlight breaking through onto the water, stunning, as was the breakfast.
So, stunning hotel, great views, great breakfast. Dinner costly and minimalist as often Michelin provides. Pleased we went.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandmkick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I did not stay in the hotel but my partner had planned for us to have our evening meal here at The Samling Hotel. As we arrived we were greeted by the front of house who took our coats and sat us in the waiting lounge with champagne and canapés. The lighting was dim and the ambiance was perfect with the burning log fire as background noise. After being shown to our table we were brought a selection of breads and our drinks were refilled. We selected from the al la carte, for starter I chose the Shetland Salmon with Baby Beetroots, Liquorice and Grapefruit. The salmon was cooked different to my usual taste of smoked salmon, very raw, however was perfectly cooked with just the right amount of flavours coming through from the liquorice sauce and the beetroots complimented the dish well. My partner had the Beef Tartare with pheasant egg and thoroughly enjoyed this dish and exclaimed it was the most delicious starter he has had. A 3rd course was brought out which was a small appetiser, fish – which was again, very tasty. For main we both chose the Venison with Roasted Butternut & Salsify served with Goats Curd, Chestnuts, Walnuts and Truffle. The meat was cooked absolutely perfectly, the portion size was just right and the sides around the meat went very well with the dish. Before our deserts came we were brought a pallet cleanser which was very decorative with a dry ice effect and a lime sorbet. I had the Chocolate Delice with Smoked Nikka Sauce and Salted Chicory Ice for desert, it was very rich but the portion size was just right following the meal I had just had. Throughout the courses our waiter (who was superb) informed us of the beautifully prepared food we were about to eat and kept our wine glass full throughout. They had asked us if we were at the hotel for any particularly occasion and we informed them we had got engaged that day, to which they advised us the champagne we were drinking was now complimentary and the grey goose and lemonades we had ordered were made into doubles on the house. This was just a few examples of the second-to-none service we received all evening. It really was a perfect ending to a perfect day. We will certainly return when we come back to the Lake District.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed in the Dovenest so our dog was very happy to be coming with us. Great food with some table theatre available, restrained but helpful service, great views. Relaxing. Superb - we will return. It does beg the question though what does it take to be higher than the 5th best hotel in the Lakes !?

Room Tip: Dovenest for pampered pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The whole experience was incredible. We stayed in the Bothy suite and enjoyed a wonderful 3 course dinner in the restaurant. Our suite overlooked Windermere Lake with spectacular views even on a wet January afternoon. The attention to detail in every respect was impressive. The hotel atmosphere is one of complete relaxation

Room Tip: If you a need an escape or real threat then book into the Samling
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinG1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Property: The Samling Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 aa red star hotel 3 aa rosettes1 michelin star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing