We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies give it a try.”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A Saturday night treat last week for dinner bed and breakfast was very special.

The steep drive into the grounds was supplemented by a couple of small deer jumping across the front of the car - it was as though the management had planned the wildlife welcome! Checked in to Tyan which is at the front of the hotel and has a splendid view down the lake. A couple of easy to open windows if you like a cool well ventilated room, and a very nice shower and bathroom, again with a window.

The dinner was exceptional - we went for the 7 course gourmand and it was fabulous....decent portion size to show off the dishes but not too heavy that you feel that you have to swim across the lake before bed. The little canapés, extra appetiser and pre sweet taster were beautifully created. This food is up there with L'enclume in my opinion.

Roaring fires, free wi-fi, sunday papers all around make for a very nice stay - the only reason for giving it 4 is that the building needs a few quid spending on it to take it to the next level and match the accommodation to the food standard.

This is on the list alongside Holbeck Ghyll, Hipping Hall, Gilpin Lodge..........a treat.

Room Tip: Tyan is a good room for the rate - you have to have the view!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireChaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
There are newer reviews for The Samling Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 712 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had a meal at The Samling recently which was a most memorable occasion. We were welcomed by all staff who were attentive but not obtrusive. The meal was lovely and included unexpected 'extras' which enhanced the occasion. The location, view and everything about the hotel was peaceful and luxurious. The only disappointments were the music - why do we need music when spending time with friends? and the fact that the toilet didn't work (no excuse for that!). I would definitely return - sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked into the samling for 2 nights, check in seamless no problems, shown to our room which had fantastic views from both windows. ery spacious and comfortable, large bathroom, room is starting to look a bit tired. Booked the hot tub with great views if raining there was no where to put dressing gown (minor issue) Had pre dinner drinks in the lounge which was relaxed but not stuffy. There is no tarrif for drinks so you have no idea of the cost. The 5 course meal with the wine pairing was first class, the waitress was first class very friendly and proffesional an asset to the hotel. Had a different 5 course meal the second night with different menu and wine pairing, a different member of staff waiting on. I was that impressed by a particular wine with one of our dishes i asked for a top up. We requested a dessert from the previous nights menu and told no problem, this dish was paired with port which was not the same wine from the previous night, when I told the waiter, instead of saying no problem I had to tell him which wine it was from the previous night ! The attitude was very different from the first evening. On checking out the next morning the bill is very vague and found that on the 2nd night I had been charged for the wine top up (£14). Which i felt was penny pinching considering what i had spent and on challenging this was told this is normal practice, a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulhedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just stayed at the Samling in the Tyan room and it certainly lived up to our expectations. The staff were genuinely welcoming, highly attentive and very knowledgeable about the food and wine. The room was lovely and the evening meal was exceptional. Adventurous cooking and fascinating flavour combinations - cuisine of the highest order! Above all, it is a warm and relaxing place to stay - thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: We only saw one room, but if you want a romantic room with a stunning view, choose Tyan.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richworr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed one night for a celebration, paying £320 for a room overlooking the lake, dinner bed and breakfast. It was our first visit. Having successfully negotiated the very steep dive, we pulled up outside the main entrance and were greeted by a member of staff. He took our bags inside, and took the keys to park the car around the back. WE asked about the hot tub and were told there as a free slot if we went there and then. As it was raining, the path up to it was slippy, and there is no where to keep your things dry while you are in the tub. I'd say you need to be well organised to get the best out of the experience on a wet day, but it was warm and there is a nice view over the lake.

The staff were unfailingly helpful throughout our stay, having to cope with a series of issues that should not have been necessary if the hotel had been better maintained.

We could not get the gas fire in the room to light - neither could the first staff member who tried. The next morning, there was a similar problem. The heated towel rail never worked as no-one was available to change a fuse. The extractor in the bathroom also didn't work, the sink was cracked and in the bedroom the carpet was stained, and some chairs worn. The lighting was poor.

The evening meal was excellent, starting with drinks by the real fire in the lounge, and then a well paced five course dinner. There was a welath of lovely flavours and it was good fun. The staff were efficient and helpful. The dining room itself was dismal however, and in need of decorating to spruce it up.

Breakfast was served in the room, with a preliminary early warm drink at a time of our chosing. The morning paper didn't arrive with the drink, but with the later breakfast, leaving too little time befoire check out to relax with it. However, as the lighting was poor, it was difficult to read anyway. Breakfast, oprdred the night before, arrived on a big tray and we transferred it bit by bit onto the small table. The chairs were too low, making it uncomfortable to eat at the table. The food was very nice, except for the mass produced marmalade/jams sewrved in those little pots . Asd everything else was nicely presented, this seemed a pity.

On leaving, the hotel presented a bill but had failed to subtract the deposit. Rather than apologising for this wheh we pointed it out, we were told that they didn't normally take one. This felt a tad insulting, and spolied the otherwise good impression staff had made.

Room Tip: Our room was shabby, so I couldn't recommend it. I don't know what the rest were like, of co...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A great experience. Greeted on arrival and super service throughout our stay. The room was excellent, and breakfast was good. Despite the high quality, there was no stuffiness at all. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerbertGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at The Samling Hotel in early January 2013 with my partner and dog and we all loved it! I thought having the dog would mean that we would have a sub standard/basic room but that wasn't the case at all. Our cottage (Dove Nest) had a Mal Maison feel to it decoartion wise with a huge bathroom including roll top bath. The best bit was that it was only 10 seconds away from the outdoor hot tub which we took full advantage off for a relaxing dip after our meal. With regards to the food, we choose the 7 course tasting menu with wine pairing and loved every single minute of it! Some of the dishes weren't to my usual taste but you couldn't fault them and I thoroughly enjoyed trying some new things (even the snail cigar!). I would definitely recommend The Samling Hotel especially for a romantic break and I'm looking forward to visiting them again soon for more of their delicious creme brulee!

Room Tip: Dove Nest was great for the dog and very close the hot tub but would love to stay in the Tyan Suite...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tory531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $412 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Aa Red Star Hotel 3 Aa Rosettes1 Michelin Star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing