We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were somewhat hesitant about returning to the Samling. We stayed 10 years ago when it was in the ownership of Tom and Jocelyn Maxfield and it was superb. For a period we heard it had declined by decided to revist after we heard it was again in private ownership.
How pleased we are that we did! With a new GM who has an eye for a detail and a very talented new chef our stay was superb.
Met outside on our arrival by the friendly staff we immediately felt at ease. Our room was spacious and offered fantastic views of the Lake, particularly when taking room serivce breakfast each morning.
We had dinner in the restaurant, a-la-carte on the first evening and the tasing menu on the second. The food selection and quality was simply outstanding, I will be astonsihed if the hotel does not attain a michellin star next year as its former sister hotel Seaham Hall did when owned by the Maxfields.
We will certainly not wait another 10 years before returning especially as they have exciting plans to expand in 2013

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
There are newer reviews for The Samling Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 712 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked the Samling in August for our wedding anniversary but had to cancel at the last min due to illness - we were very kindly offered another date once I'd recovered and were upgraded to reflect the higher price we'd paid for high season. We had a wonderful junior suite and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff were very helpful but not stuffy and the food was superb. We were very lucky with the (November) weather and the views over Windermere and the surrounding hills were second to none with the snow on the tops and the sun in the golden leaves on the trees but I'm sure whatever time of year it is the views will be just as super. We'll be back, I hope.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandypandyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

First time visitors. Welcome was very warm. Staff courteous, excellent service. The rooms were excellent and we were able to see the lake from our bed, amazing view. The food was well presented and delicious.
A return visit is on the card in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A superb hotel in a beautiful location. We have dined here on a number of occasions and have stayed twice this year - total of 5 nights in two different rooms. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and clean. The menu was varied and everything was cooked and served to perfection. The staff are competent, knowledgable, courteous and enthusiastic. In our view the very best place to spend a few days in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_g7swz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were doing some research for a weekend away at a later time.
We called in for afternoon tea and we honestly could not find fault.
The staff were well on top of their job and were very polite and friendly.
We visited various hotels and this will get our future business.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smith1dv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We held our wonderful wedding and Reception at the Samling some years, but have taken every opportunity to revisit to stay & dine there since.

Of course its changed over the years (we had sole use back then) but its still special and unique

Room Tip: Each room is very much unique in its decor and size. Check website to choose in advance + rooms in...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Samling Hotel last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Dove Nest cottage, one of the adjoining properties to the hotel - the room was lovely and the bathroom was fab!!! The toiletries were REN products, which I just love. We used the hot tub and thought it was so romantic sitting in the tub, drinking champagne overlooking Lake Windemere! (Only one comment, it could do with being abit hotter). We ate in the restaurant one of the nights and had a snack in the lounge one lunchtime, and thought the food was lovely - compliments to the chef! The staff were also very efficient and friendlcourteous.The hotel was only a 15/20 minute walk from Ambleside, which is our favourite town in the area. Lots of good pubs/restaurants here and in the surrounding area. Also lovely walks around the area and the hotel provides info on walks. Only 2 slight "issues" - the hotel goes to the trouble of informing you where the food is from (and supports local farmers) which is great, so why do they buy Norwegian bottled water when they could purchase water from Cumbria or Wales or Scotland if this wasn't possible? Just a thought. Also we had an issue with the bill when we left (overcharged) but this was handled quickly and to our satisfaction. We would recommend a stay here at this lovely hotel and would love to come back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $411 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Aa Red Star Hotel 3 Aa Rosettes1 Michelin Star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing