We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy revisit for a special occasion but a few niggles with the bill.”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A happy revisit for a special occasion but a few niggles with the bill.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The service was fantastic throughout our stay and the team were all personable, interested and happy to chat. For me this is the most memorable element of our stay - we have stayed in hotels with nicer, fresher facilities but who have delivered perfunctory service.

The dining experience was special - the deal we booked included the gourmand 7 course taster menu and we upgraded to include the matched wines. Some great theatrical touches such as a stock percolating through to Thai herbs and spices at the table, which became the broth for our fish dish.

Breakfast in our room was lovely. It was a very nice touch to bring in a tea or coffee as part of the wake up call, ahead of the breakfast.

I would happily recommend The Samling but there were a couple of niggles. On at least 3 occasions we were advised that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to the gourmand menu, when in fact this is what we had booked and paid for. This would not have been worthy of comment had it not been for the fact that the cost of the upgrade had actually been added to our bill and we had to ask for it to be removed.

Our drinks bill was £139 - it should have been a £40 upgrade per person for the matched wines and we had 2 bottles of water. We did have 4 gin (2 x Hendricks and 2 x Bombay Saphire) and tonics (small bottles of schweppes) before dinner too but I was struggling to reach £59 for 2 bottles of still water and 4 G&Ts until I was advised that the G&Ts were £12 each (after I challenged the bill). I may be out of touch but this seems ridiculous!

I mentioned that we had not been offered or received the dessert wine that we had expected as part of the paired wine deal - we were offered an apology but no other resolution to this. It would have been appropriate to have at least knocked off the cost of a water given the circumstances I think.

Problems with the bill such as this can make or break a lasting impression of an establishment - luckily we were an established couple celebrating 26 years together, but had this been early in a relationship we would have felt embarrassed to challenge the inaccurate bill and therefore left unhappy.

Room Tip: Views of the lake are breathtaking if you get a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    105
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
49
522
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

After having stayed here before the hotel lived up to our expectations once again with excellent service, fabulous interior and surroundings and fantastic food. Rooms are spacious and clean with quality linens and furnishings.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and have their own benefits as described on The Samling website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on this computer
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited The Samling for 2 nights as a gift from my husband. From the outset the experience really was a cut above the rest. We were offered help with baggage and taken straight to our room Yan, which had no view but a large bath and all the facilties you'd expect from a country house hotel.

We took a few drinks in the lounge from the extensive wine menu before retiring to the hot tub( from which the views were so amazing we did it daily)bookable in private hourly slots.

Dinner on both evening was superb, we tried a huge range of foods over our stay, shining stars for me being the grouse with berries and the creme brûlée with damson icecream and for my husband, the lobster with foie gras ribbons and the beef. The homemade breads, appetisers and petit fours were all well thought out and delicious. Breakfast was superb with lighter choices for the ladies if required.

The staff were all courteous, friendly, and extremely knowledgeable and a feel a Michelin star cannot be far away.

We hope to return soon and would like to thank the staff for making my 40th such a memorable experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank quirkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We went here for my husbands birthday celebration. It was lovely, food fabulous, wine fabulous number of choices perfect. Staff were lovely, helpful and friendly all in all a lovely celebration. The grounds and views are second to none, an intimate and romantic dining experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandiegeordio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the Methera room it was truly stunning. The view from the window which can be seen from the bed aswell was breath taking. I have never felt so sad to leave a hotel before. Staff were so helpful, location brilliant and there was so many little touches which just made it memorable. Breakfast in the room was stunning. The view from the hot tub was magnificent. Cannot wait to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairemerga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was taken to the Samling Restaurant during a weekend away in the Lake District. As we pulled up, I knew we were going to go somewhere very special and I was not wrong.

The only negative part of the experience, was when we entered via the front entrance and had to wait for a while until anyone appeared, and we were unsure of where to go, as we had never been there before. However, when a staff member did appear we were taken through to the lounge area. One female staff member did look down her nose a little at me, however the rest of the staff were lovely.
We were given menus and our drinks were brought to us. We were able to take our time, having a drink and were not rushed to order. We ordered starters and Mains whilst still sat in the lounge with a lovely view.
We were then told the starters were ready shortly and were shown to the dining room.
The setting was lovely and staff were attentive and professional.
Food was amazing, and following our meal we were taken back to the lounge where we were brought petit fours and coffee. Would recommend for special occasions as it was not cheap however well worth it for the extra special sense of occasion they created.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessamP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked a one night stay with family members to celebrate a milestone birthday. It was a delightful experience from start to finish. The service was attentive but not intrusive and the food is faultless. We shall be returning!

Room Tip: A lake view is essential to enjoy the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Property: The Samling Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 aa red star hotel 3 aa rosettes1 michelin star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing