We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
625
116
33
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
116
33
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu hot tub pre dessert michelin star matching wines afternoon tea petit fours wine flight coffee machine junior suite special occasion stunning views truffle new chef lake district a real treat scallops
Filter
Updating list...
770 - 775 of 792 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel last week. It was a last minute break we just stayed the one night and ate in the restaurant. We were met by George who looked after us the whole time we were there. We stayed in the Pym room, which was really lovely. Ren products in the bathroom. When we arrived it just stopped raining! So we went straight for a walk for a few hours which was lovely. (The hotel had a number of different walks in the area with a little map). We'd also pre booked the hot tub for when we returned. The weather couldn't of been better sat outside in the tub looking at that fabulous view. Dinner was wonderfully innovative tasting new combinations. Had a good nights sleep, bed comfy. Had a cumbrian breakfast and another walk then headed off recharged.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We booked the Samling with a little trepidation. We had seen some concerning reviews, but I had wanted to stay since it was first opened by Roger McKechnie. iI was just lovely, attentive service, warm, comfortable, a real home from home, but with all those luxuries you don't have (well I don't have) at home. The real fire in May, the home made shortbread, tea, views of Windermere, the really fantastic wine list and food. We would definitely go back and soon.

Thank julieandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Bothy suite last weekend. My Husband & I had a really lovely, relaxing break here. All the staff we encountered were welcoming, friendly & very attentive from the phone call to make the reservation to the moment we left. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings. The first evening we tried the menu Gourmand with the wine pairing and it was a culinary feast with wines to match - Kirsty did a great job in explaining each of the dishes to us (as did Thomas on the second evening). I enjoyed it so much that, although it would have been the same menu, I was very tempted to have it again on the second evening (although Johnny had said he could always get Chef to tweak some dishes if we wanted to do that). In the end I was swayed by the Salted Cod Korma and Sea Trout on the normal menu - both fabulous dishes. It's was lovely to enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the lounge area with appetisers, followed by canapes whilst perusing the dinner menu. George was incredibly knowledgeable about the wines and is always on hand if you would like help choosing a wine for you meal. The customer service is excellent and Johnny is incredibly accommodating when it comes to his guest's requests. The Bothy had a terrace with lovely views down to Windermere. The hotel is now independantly owned and they are planning a few changes which I think will enhance a stay even further. This will be a special occasion place for us & we won't be strangers now we've discovered The Samling!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DnSCreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed here for five nights and loved it. The restaurant was absolutely delightful: very thoughtfully prepared dishes and a memorable selection of English cheeses (which were surprisingly good!). The service was good and the rooms were spacious. Definitely recommend this place if you find yourselves in the Lake District for a few days.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyreviewer5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our son bought us this break and we used it for our 21st Wedding Anniversary. Turning off the road and to the long steep drive I knew instantly the hotel was in need of some repair. The grounds could be fab, but are untidy, the grass was cut in odd places and weeds grew in places, the drive was in need of relaying, it looked sad and a bit shabby. We had booked a suite for our special occasion, when we walked in to the room, the walls needed painting, the furniture was stained and the shower was full of black perril and not cleaned to a high standard. We asked to see another room and were shown another two in the main hotel. We chose another room, which was decorated to a better standard in the main hotel and had a lovely view. (although the sink did not empty of water for hours) We were then brought 2 glasses of champagne (complimentary) not a bottle for our anniversary. The food was amazing and I think they will regain a michelin star, however you can not charge the prices they are asking for the standard of accommodation they offer and the standard of the grounds just on the basis that the food is good. I think the new owners need to get in and sort out the refurb quickly as the staff and the food are excellent, the hotel, rooms, decor and grounds are in desperate need of upgrading. We had a nice time, but our special anniversary was not made special even though the staff new we were celebrating........... We have stayed in better hotels in the Lakes for less,

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank preciouspoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews