We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed - but just in parts”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Didn't stay, but only lunched here.

Firstly, access. From ground level, this involves several steepish stone steps, totally devoid even of any handrails.

I cannot think that this is either acceptable or even lawful: certainly, as someone with mobility problems, I found simply getting in a scary and demeaning experience.

The food, general ambience (views especially) and service were all first rate, but the prices charged for incidentals far less so - there's luxury hotel prices then there's ripoff prices, and things veer towards the latter.

Still, overall a good experience, but could be marvellous if above deep flaws could be addressed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 741 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel last week. It was a last minute break we just stayed the one night and ate in the restaurant. We were met by George who looked after us the whole time we were there. We stayed in the Pym room, which was really lovely. Ren products in the bathroom. When we arrived it just stopped raining! So we went straight for a walk for a few hours which was lovely. (The hotel had a number of different walks in the area with a little map). We'd also pre booked the hot tub for when we returned. The weather couldn't of been better sat outside in the tub looking at that fabulous view. Dinner was wonderfully innovative tasting new combinations. Had a good nights sleep, bed comfy. Had a cumbrian breakfast and another walk then headed off recharged.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We booked the Samling with a little trepidation. We had seen some concerning reviews, but I had wanted to stay since it was first opened by Roger McKechnie. iI was just lovely, attentive service, warm, comfortable, a real home from home, but with all those luxuries you don't have (well I don't have) at home. The real fire in May, the home made shortbread, tea, views of Windermere, the really fantastic wine list and food. We would definitely go back and soon.

Thank julieandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Bothy suite last weekend. My Husband & I had a really lovely, relaxing break here. All the staff we encountered were welcoming, friendly & very attentive from the phone call to make the reservation to the moment we left. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings. The first evening we tried the menu Gourmand with the wine pairing and it was a culinary feast with wines to match - Kirsty did a great job in explaining each of the dishes to us (as did Thomas on the second evening). I enjoyed it so much that, although it would have been the same menu, I was very tempted to have it again on the second evening (although Johnny had said he could always get Chef to tweak some dishes if we wanted to do that). In the end I was swayed by the Salted Cod Korma and Sea Trout on the normal menu - both fabulous dishes. It's was lovely to enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the lounge area with appetisers, followed by canapes whilst perusing the dinner menu. George was incredibly knowledgeable about the wines and is always on hand if you would like help choosing a wine for you meal. The customer service is excellent and Johnny is incredibly accommodating when it comes to his guest's requests. The Bothy had a terrace with lovely views down to Windermere. The hotel is now independantly owned and they are planning a few changes which I think will enhance a stay even further. This will be a special occasion place for us & we won't be strangers now we've discovered The Samling!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DnSCreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed here for five nights and loved it. The restaurant was absolutely delightful: very thoughtfully prepared dishes and a memorable selection of English cheeses (which were surprisingly good!). The service was good and the rooms were spacious. Definitely recommend this place if you find yourselves in the Lake District for a few days.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillLondon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our son bought us this break and we used it for our 21st Wedding Anniversary. Turning off the road and to the long steep drive I knew instantly the hotel was in need of some repair. The grounds could be fab, but are untidy, the grass was cut in odd places and weeds grew in places, the drive was in need of relaying, it looked sad and a bit shabby. We had booked a suite for our special occasion, when we walked in to the room, the walls needed painting, the furniture was stained and the shower was full of black perril and not cleaned to a high standard. We asked to see another room and were shown another two in the main hotel. We chose another room, which was decorated to a better standard in the main hotel and had a lovely view. (although the sink did not empty of water for hours) We were then brought 2 glasses of champagne (complimentary) not a bottle for our anniversary. The food was amazing and I think they will regain a michelin star, however you can not charge the prices they are asking for the standard of accommodation they offer and the standard of the grounds just on the basis that the food is good. I think the new owners need to get in and sort out the refurb quickly as the staff and the food are excellent, the hotel, rooms, decor and grounds are in desperate need of upgrading. We had a nice time, but our special anniversary was not made special even though the staff new we were celebrating........... We have stayed in better hotels in the Lakes for less,

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank preciouspoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our second visit to The Samling came hot on heels of a stay at one of it's close neighbours that enjoys a similarly exalted reputation. If you know the area, you know the one and if you don't, I'll probably mention it soon. The recent history of this place has been a little more uncertain however, with the travails of the Von Essen Group resulting in it returning to private hands, losing their highly decorated chef and prized Michelin Star shortly thereafter. All I can say is that the change, from our perspective, has been for the better.

We had a lovely stay on Good Friday - our Junior Suite was extremely comfortable (secured at a flat rate as part of a 'any room/one price Spring promotion) and the food was absolutely fantastic. We 'upgraded' to the tasting menu (only £10 a head more) and took the accompanying wines (6 of them) with the key courses at £40 per head too. That may seem quite expensive but they were great quality wines, generously poured and matched the food perfectly - even when we requested changes to a couple of courses, they changed the wines to accomodate. Holbeck Ghyll (I said I'd mention it) can learn from The Samling on both counts but that was another review that you can read if you want to....

The food was almost faultless - the only issue we had was with an over-engineered (and frankly bizarre) desert that included various iterations of Rhubarb served with the smoked crumbs of Grasmere Gingerbread no less. It just didn't work but, in it's own way, served to levitate the standard of everything else all the more. Simply put, this was one of the best meals we have ever eaten. Period. The breakfast served the following morning (that they encourage you to take in the privacy of your room) was also a triumph, and preceded by personal delivery of the hot drink of your choice. The latter a nice touch in these days of in-room tea and coffee making facilities - no faffing about, tell them what time you want it (nicer than the average alarm call) and it's brought to you.

I do agree with some earlier comments about things being a little 'frayed around the edges' and I'm sure the new owners will get round to this. I do think they are focussing on the right things however - the standards of food and overall service - and would heartily recommend a visit. Preferably before they get their 'Star' back (they are trying really hard and, on this evidence, it's only a matter of time) and prices march inexorably higher as a result. Bon Appetite!

Room Tip: The website presents the rooms very well. What you see is what you get. We've stayed in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,446 reviews
3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $246 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Aa Red Star Hotel 3 Aa Rosettes1 Michelin Star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing