We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family-run B&B!”
Review of Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #71 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 10, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for the weekend (was booked as a surprise for me!) and have to say it was fantastic! The pub is warm and friendly with a lovely atmosphere and great home-cooked food (with a special mention for the breakfasts!). The staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble, even the owners themselves put in an appearance and were joining in with the fun in the pub.

Would highly recommend this great B&B to anyone, rooms are small but very comfortable and clean and with the attractions of Windermere on your doorstep you
won't spend much time in the room anyway!

Have fun!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 120 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2009

Spent a night here with my wife, would recomend it. Food great ,rooms clean and freindly staff. Pub just the place to start your night.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RANGERsBLUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We stayed at The Royal Oak 4 years ago and were very disappointed by the quality of the food,but we have decided to give one more try, and stayed over last week and we really have enjoyed it!!!!!
The food this time was really nice.....What a change.....
The room were really clean and affordable, and best of all, The Royal Oak is located in the centre of Bowness, so no need for a taxi!!!!!
Now that they have sack the chef, we will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brianpotter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Smashing little pub, with some of the friendliest staff I have yet to meet in Bowness, and literally a few hundred feet to the lake. Stayed in room 2, which had an amazingly comfortable king-sized bed, which did cost a bit more. Weather was extremely warm, and as such it was stuffy in the room, even in the early hours. Breakfast was pehaps the best I have had without cooking it myself.
As previously mentioned, the car park is small and extremely steep, so mind your clutch when parking.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redpaddys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2006

Stayed here for 2 days in early July 06. The Royal Oak is well located in the centre of Bowness, just a few minutes walk from the lake.

Room 5 was small and cramped (although not the smallest) and overlooked the front carpark. Cleanliness was OK though, and everything worked as it should.The carpark itself is only for residents staying at the pub, but even so, space was very tight and some spots were very difficult to get into.

The pub itself was quite lively at night, but table space was at a premium due to the pool table which took up a large amount of limited floor space. Breakfasts were good, although everything arrived all at once (much better to have tea & toast first).

All in all, at £60 a night would recommend for anyone wanting a central location but wanting to keep costs down.

Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2006

I spent some days in this B&B and enjoyed it tremendously. It's in Bowness, not Windermere, and thus only 200 metres from the piers where all the Windermere cruises departs. Rooms are nice and clean. There's a nice little pub on the ground floor and if you don't want to risk any noise from there at nights as for the top floor rooms, even though I didn't have any problems with it at all during my stay. Nice full English breakfast and nice hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
750
Reviewed August 9, 2004

I travel a lot as a musician/guitarist and must have stayed in over 50 different pub B+Bs/ hotels over the last few years.
I have to give this pub a special mention as it's certainly one of the best B+Bs I have had the pleasure of staying in.
Ok the rooms are small, some very small( it is a pub after all) but all the rooms are very comfortable and clean, with great modern beds, showers, tv etc. There is one room slightly more expensive at around £60 for the room, not per person( number 10 I think) that is a good size and has a table set up for breakfast delivered to your room, nice touch if you're with the wife (which I have been).
It's also a nice breakfast and the pub is within two minutes of the lake and bars etc.
I can honestly say I have enjoyed staying here more than some of the so called 3* hotels around the same area.
In fact this week (August 04) I stayed in a 3* hotel as the pub was full and it was a very dissapointing experience.
Ok not much room for swinging cats but I don't take my cat with me. Regards Mark

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#93 of 107 in Windermere
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#8 of 107 in Windermere
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#14 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee S...
#41 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn

Address: Brantfell Road, Windermere LA23 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $78 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Windermere
Royal Oak Inn Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing