We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Oak Inn
Nearby Hotels
Windermere Suites(Windermere)
$279
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Howbeck(Windermere)
$167
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$146
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
$188
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willowsmere(Windermere)
$133
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$308
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
45
51
17
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
51
17
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomrooms are nice and cleanlast orderscentral locationwould stay againstayed here for nightslocation is excellentmy partnerlocal attractionsplenty of hot waterbreakfast is servedvery pleasant stayboth morningsfull englishexcellent breakfastlakeale
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 130 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just stayed here for two nights and have to say found everything about this place delightful. The building itself is worthy of a picture as the slate work follows in true traditional Windermere fashion. Rooms were clean, albeit small but ideal given you don't spend much time in it. The location is where this Inn hits the mark, it's perfect for the Lake, shops, bars and restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful especially those serving breakfast. Wouldn't hesitate staying in the Royal Oak again :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coollager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Lovely polite and helpful staff. Food very nice but rather expensive (£6 for 2 slices of bread with ham). Rooms basic and ours was rather small, decor very dated. The towels looked as though they had better days with what looked like bleach stains, bed not attached to headboard and made an annoying noise each time my husband moved. Room was really cold and we asked for the heating to be put on we were told to leave it with them, after a cold night and another word with staff the heating was on. Full English was very nice although not a lot of it and no beans. Fab location for shops and lakes lots of really nice pubs and restaurants. But at 85£ a night we will be booking elsewhere for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Me & my boyfriend stayed at the royal oak for one night. Cannot fault anything at all.
The rooms,bathrooms, bar area, dining area are all very clean & tidy. Food is amazing, especially the sirloin steak (best i've ever had) drinks prices are very fairly priced for the area. Also the staff are very pleasant and welcoming. For £65 b&b each night it was worth every penny. Already looking to return for 2-3 night next time

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legs1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

To start with we would say ignore the 'Negative' reviews!!!

We had just returned from a two night stay at the Royal Oak with mum in law and what a relaxing few days we have had.
The hotel is so well situated, away from the business of Bowness but yet so near and so busy!
The staff are most helpful and cannot do enough for you.
The Royal breakfast does set you up for the day so much so that you then appreciate your evening meal where ever you choose to eat.
Yes the pub does close early but you can purchase drinks to take to your room if you feel the need to have a night cap however you are given a key to the side door so if you want to stay out later you can do with the knowledge that you are not locked.
The parking is not an issue as most of us got to know each other and we moved our own cars around when required and yes you do leave your keys but you will find that the cars are only moved as a last resort.
All in all a fabulas, clean and welcoming little gem and we will be back - thank you....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noswadLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed 1 night and had 3 rooms - arrived a little early but was told rooms would be ready in 20 minutes - not a problem - allowed us to check in and gave us the keys. When we returned later that evening the rooms were very clean. They gave us a 10% off at a restaurant called Rumours and the food was delicious.
Had a great nights sleep and breakfast was delicious the next morning, they had even set us a table up for our 5 people in the party.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: great hotel very close to Lake Windermere.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lxnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews