We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
45
51
17
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
51
17
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomrooms are nice and cleanlast orderscentral locationwould stay againstayed here for nightslocation is excellentmy partnerlocal attractionsplenty of hot waterbreakfast is servedvery pleasant stayboth morningsfull englishexcellent breakfastlakeale
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 129 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stopped in for a drink during a recent visit, good real ale and cosy seating area with a roaring fire which was very welcome on a cold winters afternoon. Bar staff were friendly and customers seemed to be a mix of locals and walkers. Relaxing and unpretentious.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Vantagepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one evening in Janury. The room was ready early, which was a bonus, as my partner had been travelling for many hours! all staff where extremly friendly, and everything you have read about the fantastic breakfast is true!
Our room was very well decorated, ckean and modern.
Would stay again!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizardHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I went to stay at this Inn on Boxing Day as part of a group of ten and really enjoyed the whole experience. It was warm and cosy and the food was gorgeous (cumberland pie definitely a recommendation!) and within walking distance of the lake and some lovely shops. Yes the parking could be a problem but I would say this is the only down side to an otherwise nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Apparently room 2 has a very uncomfortable bed but a good view. We stayed in room 5 and this was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLCOOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I went on boxing day with ten other members of my family, we was pleasently surprised! The pub was just what we wanted nice and cozy with a nice open fire which was always burning.
The food was lovely pub grub the cumberland pie is spot on! avoid the decaf coffee though!

We took most of the rooms up in the hotel all were very different. i stayed in room 7 small but lovely nice comfty bed and nice bay window. apparently room two has best view but bed very uncomfortable!!! room,s get very warm so if you going out at night leave a window open. on a whole rooms nice.

bad things about pub are parking a right funny carry on so don't turn up in ya porche if you are lucky enough to have one!
One of the female staff is very rude not sure of her name but she has long blonde hair.

but having said that we we def go back.

Room Tip: number 7 was fine for us
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This small pub/hotel in nicely located near the centre of the town and within easy walking distance of all the attractions. It has a modest car park which is very necessary in this lakeside town though parking is a little awkward due to the confined space and fairly steep incline.

It is essentially a pub with rooms but has no pretentions to be anything else. The menu reflects the sytle of the place with grilled items and pies predominating. The prices for both food and drinks are reasonable and service was efficient and friendly. The bar area has a lovely open fire which is very welcome on a cold evening.

The bedrooms are a little on the small side but clean and well-furnished.

Overall a well-run establishment which delivers what it promises.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silver70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews