We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great

This must be one of Cumbria's best kept secrets. A wonderful area of beautiful gardens. Great to... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
discerning_critic_11
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
via mobile
Stunning gardens

Absolutely stunning gardens, have been a couple of times at different times of the year and there... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Wendy C
via mobile
Read all 399 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Windermere
from $33.64
More Info
from $62.11
More Info
from $50.47
More Info
from $62.11
More Info
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveler rating
328
62
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
328
62
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden horticultural society national collections run by volunteers for sale suggested donation wonderful garden interesting plants blue poppies herbaceous borders flower beds year round worth a visit langdale pikes different areas stunning views lake district
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 399 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited these gardens on the way home from a holiday in the lakes. They are stunning!! Well kept and a great array of flowers and plants in a delightful setting. We enjoyed the gardens for a couple of hours. There is plenty of seating to sit and relax. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank KP11347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

With an annual rainfall of 1600 mm, we caught the gardens in a week of still sunshine and clear blue skies over the fells. 11:00 Wednesday morning, Maggie guided knowledgeably a group of 6 round the gardens, national collections, and production areas for just over an hour. Coffee, then a circuit of the tarn below completed a most enjoyable excursion.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Dave_from_N_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

As members of the HoleHird Gardens always a lovely visit looking at the truly amazing work
Of all
The members and volunteers that help
Maintain the beautiful
Gardens ...., truly worth a visit you won’t be disappointed also large selection of lovely nurtured plants to
Purchase .....

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank jezza35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

Off the beaten track but worth looking for. Narrow driveway through gates which open as you near them. Not much space so drive slowly up the lane. The gardens are on a slope, so a lot of walking uphill, but there are benches everywhere and the views from them of the garden, Lake Windermere and the hills beyond is stunning. Free parking. Only assistance dogs are allowed. Refreshments are available but I didn't go into the café.

I came away with so many ideas for my own garden, which plants to buy and which to put together. I will be returning for more ideas as the seasons change and to just enjoy .

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

structured garden of the horticulture society. wonderful plants an many inspirations for my own garden.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Claudialoves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews