We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for grown-ups of all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holehird Gardens

Holehird Gardens
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Holehird Gardens, home of the Lakeland Horticultural Society, 12 acres of volunteer-run stunning gardens, open every day of the year & a partner garden to RHS. Our Visitor Information office is open daily from 10.00 to 16.00 from April to the end of October.
Lake District, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for grown-ups of all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This charity is entrance by donation (big tick in my book) and a very relaxing place to visit. If you can cope with the steady climb and a few steps - there's superb views of Langdale Pikes from the top of this extensive garden, as well as lots of interesting collections of flowers to enjoy. Will be going back to see if the wildlife garden has taken off - it'll be a good contrast to the 'manicured' formal gardens.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    44
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The gardens are a delight but remember that spring is the best time when the rhododendrons are out.
Pity there are not better eating facility's.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BenWalker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A trip through the seasons.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

If you enjoy gardens, Holehird is well worth a visit. Set on a hillside in the grounds of one of the Leonard Cheshire homes the colours change with the seasons. In spring the ground is covered with daffodils, summer brings a multitude of colour, and autumn sees the glorious reds of acer trees.In the winter the snow brings a tranquillity to the gardens and the views over Lake Windermere towards the Langdale Pikes are spectacular.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Discerning055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wrong time of the year”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We walked to this venue from our hotel and I must be honest there was not a right lot to see. I imagine that it is a lovely place however due to being December most of the plants were having a rest.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolehirdGardens, Secretary at Holehird Gardens, responded to this review, June 12, 2016
Correct.... most of our plants are asleep in December, but from late February to early November there is always something of interest to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Well-kept garden with a beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We visited the garden on a sunny summer day. It is really very colorful and impressive. At many places in the garden you have spectacular views of the Lake District scenery. There is no entrance fee but donations are welcome. If you like gardens and if you are in the vicinity a visit is definitely a must.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny19039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holehird Gardens also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Holehird Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing