We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely way to see Lake Windermere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Windermere

Lake Windermere
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.84*
and up
Lake District Highlights Day Trip from York with Windermere Cruise
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than ten miles in length, Windermere is England's largest lake that offers a wide variety of summer recreation including cruises, fishing, boating, sailing and scuba diving.
Wirral
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely way to see Lake Windermere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Buy a 'freedom of the lake' ticket and travel to from Ambleside to Bowness then Lakeside (lovely hotel for lunch in the conservatory overlooking the gardens and the lake), return to Ambleside - a lovely day out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,880
    603
    100
    25
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely lake and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have been here a lot of times and it is breathtaking, the views are amazing. You can also hire a motor boat to drive yourself around the lake, it isn't a speed boat but it is good enough for fun and to explore the lake. I hired one myself and proposed to my wife across the lake! Good variety of shops and places to eat especially the carvery overlooking the lake.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A high over Windermere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

End of february,4.30 in the afternoon,enjoying a latte and ice cream in the Waterfront gardens ,overlooking the north end of Lake Winderemer,regretting that I had sold my Boat and couldn't sail off into the wonderful sunset this evening.....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tezzer1lakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

very scenic day out on the lake to Ambleside and to Lakeside, we had tickets to cover 48 hours and did both trips, Ambleside had plenty of shops and pubs, not so much in Lakeside, we went to the aquarium which featured otters and marmosets!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigton, cumbria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“what a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Its a wonderful sight to behold and not too commercialised.There are plenty of things to see and do arround the shore.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank denniskath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Windermere also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Lake Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing