We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gemstone:)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greystone Cottage B&B
Ranked #34 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Gemstone:)”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I spent 3 nights here with my friend,Emma.Had a wonderful time hiking and exploring the area.Greystone cottage is well situated,the breakfasts were lovely,the house is charming and spotless.Jenet,the owner is just the loveliest hostess.She knows the area extremly well: from the little walks to the best shopping or reastaurants:)I would come back anytime and would stay nowhere else:)Bet

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erzsebet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
152
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our first stay at Greystone Cottage and will certainly not be our last. Our host, Janet, was very welcoming and full of local knowledge giving us some great advice of where to visit during our stay etc. The room was very comfortable, clean and warm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
Thank Karen19602410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This B&B is home from home, Janet is very welcoming and accommodating. The Blue Room was clean, spacious and cosy. Located on a quite road just 5 minutes walk from Windermere town centre. Janet has a lot of local knowledge which added value to our trip, the breakfast is brilliantly cooked and there is also a wide range of cereals and fruit. We would highly recommend staying here and we would definitely be going back when we next go to The Lakes. Cannot fault this! Thanks very much!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just returned from our 4th visit at Greystone Cottage and stayed In our favourite room The Blue Room.
The room's are all gorgeous and very clean, I always have a great night's sleep In the comfy bed In a peaceful location. Nothing Is to much trouble Janet Is a fantastic host and makes sure you have everything you want, and need. I highly recommend Greystone to anyone wanting a home from home break In a lovely location, we are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Von43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed at Greystone Cottage several times. Janet is a brilliant host she is very warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
All the rooms are spotlessly clean and each has its own individual charm.
It is ideally situated for exploring the whole of the Lake District.
Janet is highly knowledge able about the local area and has books with maps and walks which the guests can borrow.
All in all probably the B & B in Windermere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My partner & l stayed here 10th oct 2013, we only stayed the one night but would have loved to have stayed longer! Janet was brilliant host, made us feel really welcome, the room was very nicely decorated & the en -suite was huge with lovely double shower, good breakfast too! All in all a lovely warm & friendly place to stay, hope to stay again one day!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Me and my sister booked to stay the night at the end of September,
We shared a double bed as there wasn't a twin room available, but the rooms were quite spacious, clean and had everything u could need (including full size bottles of body wash)
Although the BnB was fully booked we never heard any one entering or leaving, so had a wonderful night sleep.
It was like walking into some ones home, every spare space was filled with nick nac's, frames, and plaques......
We payed for bed and breakfast (and to the delight of me and my sister) we could choose our breakfast time so we didnt have to get up too early. It was lovely to wake to the smell of breakfast drifting up the staircase.
There was everything you could think of for breakfast, all very fresh and tasty.
Janet was very welcoming, chatty and very helpful at pointing out the best places to go both local and surrounding villages !!

All in all it was a lovely stay and we have already mentioned going back next year !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#13 of 108 in Windermere
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#90 of 108 in Windermere
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#28 of 108 in Windermere
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#10 of 108 in Windermere
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 108 in Windermere
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Cottage B&B

Property: Greystone Cottage B&B
Address: 6 Ellerthwaite Road, Windermere LA23 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Greystone Cottage B&B Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing