We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the lake district”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greystone Cottage B&B
Ranked #36 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jewel in the lake district”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After spending another week at this lovely B&B (3rd year running) i have finally found the time to input a review to allow others to experience the same. I first came across this little place after arriving at my pre booked B&B 3 years ago to find that they had double booked and my room was not available. After knocking on several doors i was finally greeted by the lovely, bubbly, welcoming Janet (the owner). i was taken to my room which was beautifully decorated with en-suite and tea and coffee facilities, TV and a comfy bed, there are some toiletries in the bathroom which is helpful if you have forgoten you own. This B&B has some nice touches which gives it that warm homely feel with lots of interesting ornaments to look at when having breakfast. Whilst on this subject, the breakfast was a delight, especially when brought to you with the welcoming smile of Janet. This was a well executed breakfast indeed. i hate greasy food and this was done just right with nice quality bacon, sausage and mushrooms. Janet is very informative and helpful about the area so don't be afraid to pick her brains as this may save you a lot of waisted time walking around. I have already booked for next year and can't wait because i now feel that Janet is now a friend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
154
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Greystone Cottage; with Friends; whilst on a month long tour of England and Scotland. We stayed for 3 nights whilst in the Lake District. A typical stone lakeland cottage; perfect from the outside; however the inside!!!! If you like overdone bric a brac covering all surfaces;including the 2 staircases; then look no further! A veritable alladins cave; and in our opinion; a safety hazard on the staircases and in case of fire! Especially when our friends had paint pots in the cupboard under their sink in the bathroom!! The bedrooms were cluttered with little space for ones own belongings; and the beds low and uncomfortable!! Janet; however; was an extremely pleasant hostess; full of knowledge on the local area; and provided us with an excellent breakfast each day.

Room Tip: Staircases narrow, steep and cluttered so access is not ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DevonCountryBumkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We just got home after spending a weekend at Greystones for our 1st wedding anniversary. This was almost as memorable as our wedding day. Janet (landlady) helped my husband organise a large boquet to be in our room for when I arrived. She advised us on places she thought would be enjoyable to us and she was very right!. The whole weekend was perfect. Greystones is a clean, quiet and very welcoming place to stay and Janet very informative, nothing was too much trouble.
The food was of excellent standard with plenty of it and more if needed. The room was comfortable and warm.
We will definately be returning and would recommend this b&b to anyone visiting the Lakes.
Colin & Cath.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was very comfortable and noise free
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have just got back from a weekend in Windermere at Greystone. We have been going there about twice a year for the past 9 years (I wish we could go more!!) & we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in the Lakes.We have ALWAYS received a very warm welcome (It's like staying with family!) & Janet is a wonderful hostess - nothing is too much trouble and she has fab knowledge of the local area. We have stayed in all 3 rooms (Red, Blue & Green). All are very nicely decorated with lovely en-suites (double size showers in the red & green rooms) and I have to disagree with Carole (last review) - I think the knick-knacks make the place feel homely & welcoming, rather than like a business.You truly feel like a welcome guest in Janet's HOME! The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful & certainly fill you up until your evening meal! Thank you so much Janet for another wonderful stay - we will be back as soon as possible & I can't wait already! Diane & Paul

Room Tip: Red & Green rooms are on the first floor with double size showersin the en-suites. Green at fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane-Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in March to celebrate a friend's birthday. The cottage only has three guest bedrooms so the six of us had the whole place to ourselves which was lovely. It is on the edge of Windermere village on a quiet side street but only a couple of minutes walk into the village. A walk to Bowness took about 20 minutes, easier on the way down than on the way back which is uphill.
The rooms were of a decent size, with large bathrooms and everything was spotlessly clean.
Probably a few too many ornaments and knick-knacks around for my taste , but the place certainly had character. The landlady was incredibly welcoming and friendly, she certainly deserves to be busy. The breakfast was delicious, the full English being supplemented with fruit, toast, cereals etc.
We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolemh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaglescliffe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of this little piece of heavan :-) Since finding this little nugget about 7 years ago now we would not consider staying anywhere else when we visit the Lake District, we always feel that we are going back to visit an old friend. The rooms are so welcoming with the decor quite luxurious, they are spacious and very clean, the bathrooms are large and showers very powerful, the beds are sooooooooooooo comfortable, just the ticket after a hard day walking/shopping :-). What can I say about Janet the owner................the hostess with the mostess:-) her naturaly warm cheery nature makes you feel so welcome and 'at home'. Nothing is too much trouble for her, she is a mine of information regarding places of interest, eataries and walks and her breakfasts are superb and set you up for the day , believe me ,my husband has a big appetite and LOVES Janets breakfasts :-).
The B&B is very well positioned in the centre of Windermere , an easy walk from the station if your not driving, and within a few minutes walk of Bowness and all its bars and the Windermere Lake cruisers.
I wasnt sure about writing this review as the more people that become aware of this little gem increases the possibility of 'No Vacancy' the next time we want to visit.....but decided that a) It would be selfish to keep this place to ourselves, b) Janet deserves acknowledgement /praise for her gold standard B&B and hospitality and c) we would willingly change our holidays to coinside with her vacancies.
Thanks again Janet , you know you will be seeing us again :-)
Take Care
Stuart and Annette x

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

What a fantastic B & B. Arrived late Friday afternoon, about 5.30 to see a lovely Blue & White cottage, with plenty of parking outside. We rang the doorbell and were welcomed by Janet the owner. After introducing herself she took up us up to our room for the weekend. ( The Blue Room) The room was spotless, and smelled so fresh with superb views of the mountains. Janet advised us both were to go that evening for food and drink and these were excellent venues. Breakfast was booked for 9 A.M. the following morning, and we must say this was outstanding, plenty of fruit juice, hot plates, and the most delicous cooked breakfast with plenty of toast , proper butter, jam and marmalade. We would highly reccomend Greystone Cottage. Thank you Janet. Brian & Sue.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#11 of 107 in Windermere
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#38 of 107 in Windermere
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#94 of 107 in Windermere
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#4 of 107 in Windermere
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#7 of 107 in Windermere
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Cottage B&B

Property: Greystone Cottage B&B
Address: 6 Ellerthwaite Road, Windermere LA23 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Greystone Cottage B&B Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing