We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Triumph of style over substance.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Triumph of style over substance.”
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Over the years we have stayed many times at Linthwaite House , just down the road, with virtually complete satisfaction, but, due to many structural improvements, and , apparently ,management changes, we decided to try Gilpin.
From our arrival, we were not happy. The room was very foisty, and, we later learned it was chemicals from the hot tub. The room was huge, and well equiped, but, what is the point of a electric wall "fire" that gives absolutely no heat out.
Frankly, the new garden room we stayed in was a triumph of style over substance,it was souless. But, we pressed on.
That night we dined in the conservatory. We were one of few. The food, was probably, the worst we have ever encountered, due I acknolwedge to high expectations. But,. having dined at Gilpin on numerous occasions, I felt these were reasonble having experienced some equisite food there previously.The two senior managers on duty seemed more interested in chatting to each other.
Next morning we were told they had no sausages for breakfast. Well . When you're paying TOP rates as we were, why didn't SOMEBODY go and buy some, or borrow some from the nearest hotel. Not up to Gilpin standards is the reply I would have expected, but simply could.nt be bothered to solicit.
On balance Gilpin is a stunning place. Some of the staff are lovely, but,.......and this is purely a feeling from within, the place has no spirit of generosity , and believes its own publicity .
We shalln't be going back. Having just been to Whitley Ridge for a night, the gulf is huge.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Gloopy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, July 26, 2009
Thank you for your review. We are extremely sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we clearly failed on more than one aspect. Without knowing the exact date of your stay it is difficult to look into some of the details but we will try and answer some of your comments.

The Garden Suites are very popular and should certainly not be 'foisty', we genuinely haven't had comments of this nature before and the tubs are constantly monitored and maintained with minimal use of chemicals. The suites are modern in design but, we hope, very comfortable with many personal touches; the wall fires are designed so that they can either be with heat or without – we usually explain this during check-in, but obviously didn't do so on this occasion.

Regarding the food and service, we can only apologise. Again without knowing the date we cannot here respond adequately. Without wishing to embarrass you, if you would be so kind as to contact us directly we really would appreciate the opportunity to enlarge on your observations so that we may address them. From what you say your experience was certainly not up to Gilpin standards, which we regret greatly.

In the meantime, may we thank you for your time and once again apologise for our obvious shortcomings on the occasion of your stay. We do hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Warm regards,
John, Christine, Zoë and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    131
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
115
1,016
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I could not resist just quickly complimenting this lovely hotel once again, we’ve stayed here numerous times since 2006, my now husband even proposed here so it is one of my very favourite places. We attended a fantastic wine tasting evening in January of this year, a Christmas present from my husband; the food and wine were superb.

We stayed in one of the rooms complete with hot tub and thoroughly enjoyed the whole stay…if only we’d been able to stay longer!

Again we were made to feel so welcome and special, nothing is too much trouble and all the staff are all friendly and pleasant without being overbearing. I can honestly say as soon as we leave we are already planning our return! Gilpin Lodge is all about the detail and that makes each stay worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 332007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, July 26, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to make such lovely comments, we are very happy to hear that Gilpin holds such fond memories for you both – hopefully both past and future! We do hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
John, Christine, Zoë and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We had just been married two days prior to our stay, this was the perfect start to our honeymoon, we booked last minute on our way up to Scotland and booked the garden suite -Cat Bells. We really cannot say enough good things about this place, the attention to detail is magnificent, from Molten Brown products in the bathroom, the bed turn down service and Barney chats with guests on the terrace. The place really exceeded our expectations, my husbands first visit to the Lake District and I haven't been since I was in my early teens, you forget how breth taking it is. There are Lama's and great walks from the hotel but to be honest we just made the most of our stay, our room had a hot tub, and was so tranquil. We had our evening meal at the restaurant which was up there with some of the michelin star restaurants we have been too. Fantastic location, romantic setting, friendly informative staff yet a relaxed homely feel. Worth every penny and worth the 6 hour drive for us

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisehooley2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, July 26, 2009
Thank you so much for your very kind review, we do hope that the rest of your honeymoon was fantastic. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time you come to the Lakes.

Warm regards,
John, Christine, Zoë and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

just returned from a 3 night stay in one of their garden rooms with hot tub - what a fab experience - wil definitely return. The staff are freindly. The room was fab and kept immaculate - always serviced when you were out at breakfast or tea. Iced water in a jug - just those luxury touches that set it apart. Went in the hot tub every day. Food was different every day and some of the best ever had - and we have been some places.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiePoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, July 26, 2009
Many thanks for your review, it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you for taking the time, we hope to see you back in the Lakes soon.

Warm regards,
John, Christine, Zoë and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yrokshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

What a lovely hotel we stayed at the Gilpin Lodge end of April. We wanted a relaxing place for one night as we where travelling to Scotland. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpfull, but you are left alone to relax if thats what you want. The rooms very nice and the bathrooms nice and large. The food is excellent with lots of choice for breakfast is cooked to order. The dining rooms were small and cosy, (I disagree with one the reviews regarding the background music it was nice not to have any!) Garden lovely. I was sorry we did'nt stay longer but we will be back there very soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, July 26, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to make such lovely comments, we do get quite a few guests staying with us en route to Scotland, perhaps we should do a Scottish picnic for the onward journey! We hope to see you again soon either the next time you're passing through or perhaps even as the final destination?

Warm regards,
John, Christine, Zoë and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
193 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed here in late April, 2009 for 2 nights. The hotel and grounds are immaculately kept and in a beautiful location just a mile or two from lake Windermere. There's not really any need to write a long review of this hotel - everything was pretty much perfect from the check-in to the rooms (which were very spacious) to the food and on to the service which was excellent. All in all it's hard to find fault so if you have a chance to stay then don't think twice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, July 26, 2009
Thank you for your kind recommendation and words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope that you will choose us again if you return to the area.

Warm regards,
John, Christine, Zoë and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed at Gilpin Lodge for a night earlier this month and had a really lovely time. We were looking for somewhere to stay which had lovely (non-chintzy rooms), great food and wine and friendly service - Gilpin Lodge ticked all the boxes. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the Garden Suites on our arrival, which was a nice surprise. The room was spacious and well appointed and we enjoyed making use of the hot tub. Our only criticism of the room was the lack of privacy. We weren't expecting to be waving at the window cleaner as we lay in bed reading the papers, or the gardener for that matter! Dinner and breakfast were delicious and there was a great selection of wine at reasonable prices. We thought the margaritas were pricey at £15 and I would agree that a little background music would be beneficial but other than those few criticisms, everything was pretty much perfect. We look forward to returning some time soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, July 26, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and for your lovely comments. We are sorry that you felt a lack of privacy – we do try and make sure that guests are given as much privacy as possible but we clearly didn't entirely succeed during your stay. The Garden Suites all have individual gardens which we purposely didn't enclose when we designed them (which would have been more private) as we felt that many people come to the Lake District for the views as much as anything; in general we don't have many people walking around the grounds so the rooms are all usually quite private, but sometimes we do need quick access past the gardens. In the dining rooms we no longer play background music as many of our guests prefer none, but we do try to balance out each of the four dining rooms with the right amount of guests (not too crowded, not too quiet) – it sounds as if we didn't quite get this right during your stay. The margaritas are priced at £10.50, please do get in touch with us directly if you were charged more than this as if so this was incorrect.

Our sincere apologies for the things that weren't quite right but thank you for taking the time to review us, and we are so pleased that you still enjoyed your stay. We do hope that we see you again next time you visit the Lake District.

Warm regards,
John, Christine, Zoë and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,141 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing