We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An exceptional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An exceptional hotel”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Gilpin Lodge for our honeymoon and we are so glad that we chose this hotel! We had a perfect stay. Our room was stunning – large, luxurious, yet cosy with beautiful views over the surrounding fields. It was romantic and relaxing. We also had a gorgeous private hot tub complete with a romantic winter sunset.

All the staff were professional, incredibly friendly and they made us feel special.

We were totally blown away by the food at Gilpin Lodge. Each night we had five courses of food heaven. The evening would start in the lounge with canapés and a drink (usually a large, well mixed G&T), and then we’d salivate over the menu. Considering that the two of us ate five courses each for three nights we couldn’t believe how consistently exceptional it was. The presentation was beautiful, and the food itself was well thought out and delicious.

We’d both highly recommend Gilpin Lodge and we’d love to come back one day in the future, perhaps for our anniversary next time...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caffeinate_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
First of all another big congratulations! Thank you so much for choosing Gilpin Hotel to spend your honeymoon, it is so lovely to read that you had a stunning stay with us and we were able to make your romantic break away so relaxing and special for you both.

Please do come back and see us again for your anniversary!

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    129
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
112
1,009
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I went in April 2013 (only recently signed up to trip advisor) hence the late review

Excellent 2 nights. We stayed in the haystack room with hot tub. Beautiful atmosphere, clean bathroom with sunken bath and plenty fresh towels.

Staff very attentive. Excellent menu at their restaurant. Pleasant music in the background.

The owner and his son takes time out to make effort and personally greet their customers in the morning asking how their stay were etc etc. very impressed with their service, will visit very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing Gilpin Hotel for your break away. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this hotel at short notice for a couple of nights between Christmas and New Year and were lucky that they had a late cancellation.

The room was really comfortable with lots of little touches like a pot of washing suds to soak your socks in after a day's walking, a bowl of fresh fruit and a jug of water.

The lounge / bar area is a really sedate and relaxing place to have a drink either after a day's walking or before / after dinner. The food is very good and the 3 small dining rooms provide a really intimate place to eat.

Above all of that though is how welcome we were made to feel. Everyone is incredibly friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

We will definitely be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your superb recent review and for coming to spend ‘Twixmas’ with us.

Receiving such wonderful reviews makes all the hard work put in by the whole team really worthwhile.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

i went to the Gilpin Hotel & Lake House for a short break with my friend and I absolutely loved my stay, i didnt want to leave, everything about the place was great and relaxing, i would highly recommend to visit the Spa, i had the best massage ever in my life. A

Room Tip: I would recommend to book your room in the lake house. its so beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmalAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Love the title of this review, thank you very much for such excellent feedback. The Lake House spa is beautiful isn’t it..? So pleased you both had a lovely stay with us, thanks again.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Thank you for a delightful stay back in September. We only stayed for one night, but it could not have been better in every respect. The Spa and Dinner were just superb. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Super short and sweet review, thank you very much! We hope to welcome you back again.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We decided to go away for Christmas at very short notice this year as we'd had a very close family bereavement & just couldn't face staying at home. We were really lucky to benefit from a last minute cancellation at The Gilpin. We felt like we really needed looking after & from the moment we arrived, where we received the warmest of welcomes, we knew we had chosen to spend Christmas in the right place & we enjoyed a truly lovely stay. The Cunliffe family (it's a family-run hotel) and their team did everything possible to ensure their guests enjoyed every minute of their time at the hotel. We received un-stuffy, warm & personal service from everyone. We absolutely loved the food (and boy did we eat a lot of it whilst we were there!) We were treated to 5 course evening meals, a delicious 7 course Christmas Day Feast with a light buffet supper, for those who could fit anything else in (we somehow managed to!) There was an organised walk to the Lake House on Boxing Day where there was an alpine type party - blazing fires, reindeer, hot punch, beer, wine, hay bales to sit on & yummy curries with lots of lovely accompaniments. We couldn't think of a better way to spend our Boxing Day & upon return to the hotel afternoon tea was put on for the guests. We had some outstanding food during our stay, including some of the best dishes we have ever eaten anywhere. The lounge was a great place to cosy up in the day with a good book & the bar at The Gilpin is as trendy as any bar we have come across when visiting London. We loved our stay so much that upon departure we booked for a 5 night break for next Christmas - bliss!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnSCreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us over the Christmas break, it is lovely to read that from the moment you arrived you were well and truly looked after to the best possible standard. Christmas at the Gilpin is always a fantastic few days and we can’t wait to welcome you back again this December!

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked a stay here at the beginning of December to have a break before Christmas. I had eaten at the restaurant a couple of years ago but had always wanted to stay here, so as a treat, we booked the platinum package which included a night at the Lake House with champagne and chocolates, dinner and also the spa jetty trail. What an amazing experience! I have never felt so welcomed to a hotel, the Lake a House was beautiful and the chauffeur driven car to the restaurant and the meal we had there was superb. The best part of the whole stay had to be the spa jetty trail, the spa place is absolutely amazing, where we enjoyed a treatment, then afternoon tea in the boat house and finally the hot tub with champagne. I have never felt so spoiled, I think this might be my new Christmas tradition every year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Pure luxury…we can’t do much better than that can we? It’s a popular little break to escape just before Christmas so we are glad you had a wonderful experience with us. Glad to see that you tried out our new Magic Moments package.

We hope you choose to come and stay with us again soon.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing