We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here two nights in the "Harriet" suite in the Lake house. Was absolutely fantastic ! Beautiful views from our suite, fantastic service, superb room and first class cuisine .Staff very freindly and can't do enough for you.Can't wait to go back again. We've stayed in a few places in the Lakes and this is easily the best so far !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Ah yes the stunning Harriet suite! So glad you had an excellent stay at the Lake House and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

It is actually good ,but not very good ,we stayed at the main hotel and in general it was good ,the beds were most comfortable the pillows not so,the tv was a disgrace 28" unheard of object that you needed binoculars to watch, I know you don't come to the lakes to watch tv,but late evening you may.bathroom was probably the best I have seen brilliant,towels must have cost a packet , most luxurious ,there was a black panel on the room wall ,it was a remote controlled pretend fire,now I am sure there are people who like pretend fires half way up a wall I don't ! It was tacky as was the lump of shag pile carpet hung on the wall,but the staff were all very good the grounds good , the biggest disappointment we had here was the food , add in the beef supplement and you paying £68 pp without drinks ,sorry but the cooking is NOT up to that standard 3 AA rosettes or not the box tree is cheaper and hands down better as are many other Michelin stared restaurants ,I would however stay again but would not eat here .

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Belladwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for your review, particularly the comments regarding the pillows. We’ve looked into it and sometimes people ask for a specific pillow (synthetic pillows or harder pillows) and switching them back to the normal pillows can be missed by housekeeping. We’ve now been through and checked every pillow in every room and any that weren’t fabulous we have replaced with excellent quality ones. We do hope you return to Gilpin and perhaps we can show you some of the other rooms if the one you had wasn’t to your taste, and perhaps upgrade you to a tasting menu if you choose to return so we can allay your disappointment? In the meantime we hope you’re enjoying this lovely sunshine!
Kindest regards,
Zoë & Barney Cunliffe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times , we always stayed in a garden room before but we stayed at the lake house on the Saturday night and garden room Sunday night, personally I think the Lake House isn't worth the extra money, didn't know what to expect from it, its a stunning place, the pool is lovely and the Lake is beautiful but it isn't private enough, there's 6 rooms so five other couples around. In the garden rooms you have your own hot tub and more privacy for a couple wanting to get away from everything. That said it's lovely and the standards are the same as the lodge! The food at gilpin lodge is second to none, the wine menu a book! The service at the lodge is first class. Love the newish bar area and the outside area is so relaxing. The only fault with the Lake really is there was one person running around serving drinks in the afternoon, service was slow and they only had two cold bottles of beer, minor gripe! The service at the lodge itself is unbelievable and I thought we would get that there for the money you pay .
Next visit will be to the cat bells garden room ! You come away feeling very spoilt :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chickenegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

We are delighted that you had another brilliant stay with us at the Gilpin Hotel and were able to experience the Lake House also. The Lake House does a full team of staff so apologies if the service was a little slow on that particular day. We will however look forward to getting you booked into the CatBells Garden Suite on your next visit!

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently returned from having the most amazing weekend away in one of the Garden Suites at The Gilpin. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we felt that the staff couldn't have done enough for us, so friendly and helpful are only a few words to describe the lovely staff. We were celebrating our 10th Wedding Anniversay and my husbands 40th Birthday and WOW, what an amazing, memorable treat! The room with its own private garden and hot tub was just fabulous, the food was amazing and the stunning setting was perfect. Thank you to all at The Gilpin for making our stay one we will never forget! We will be recommending you to all and hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review and for spending your special occasions with us at The Gilpin Hotel & Lake House. Please do come back and visit us again soon!

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great 2nights away, food,staff location all fantastic couldn't have picked any thing better, even the weather behaved itself can't wait to return next year. The gardens are lovely a great relaxing area to enjoy your canapé with wine before your evening meal all perfect .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john186353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Wonderful review thank you very much indeed, we even managed to arrange the sunshine for you! We will all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kindest Regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful 2days at Lake House. The Lake House s some 2 odd miles from the main lodge and while breakfast is served at the House, you eat dinner at the main Country Lodge. The House is set in a wonderful location with all 6 rooms having views over either the lake or the fields. While not cheap the facilities and service is awesome and ideal for that special occasion. The House is ideally suited to explore the South Lakes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chefane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at the Lake House. We are so pleased you had a wonderful two day break with us and were very well looked after during your stay.

Thanks again,

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My partner Phil and I recently stayed at the Gilpin Hotel and Lake House in Windermere, located in the Lake District of the UK. The area offers many attractions for all tastes, but the principal reason for us to visit was to enjoy the beautiful setting of Lake Windermere with its majestic views and pastoral setting. The Gilpin Lodge was the ideal place to stay for us to enjoy the area. We found the facilities first rate, the service impeccable and friendly, and the meals first rate. The Lodge is a renovated house built in 1937 exquisitely decorated with all the modern conveniences including free WIFI services. Wile we enjoyed the touring, we looked forward to returning to the peaceful setting of the Lodge where we found quiet elegance and superior service. We highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great vacation. We are certainly coming back to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the Kentemere room which faces the lawn. It is quiet and has a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOjeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,207 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $293 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing