We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find and a fabulous venue for a very special treat.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Well worth a visit. A truly stunning location and the team there make you feel very special. This is as expensive as it gets for a UK hotel outside London, however you're paying for the seclusion, individually tailored service, quality of the product and the popular location. My preference is to stay at the Lake House and take advantage of the complimentary car service that takes you to the main hotel for dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooner12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your splendid review, the Lake House is beautiful and is definitely the place to be for a relaxing treat away! We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hope you come back and visit us again.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,388)
There are newer reviews for Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've been coming to Gilpin Lodge for around 18 years and have seen it go through various stages of evolution as new chefs have come and gone, original owners have retired and the next generation taken over etc. We recently stayed at the hotel for a few days and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was quite exceptional and a real credit to the current chef - who is clearly on a mission to secure a Michellin star for the hotel.

We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family-of-4-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wonderful food (though not the heartiest breakfast), fantastic setting, attentive yet polite and discreet staff, fabulous rooms. Not enough? Superbly furnished, this is a dream getaway. Ideal for a special occasion. It's not cheap!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a four day stay in a Garden Suite at the Gilpin Lodge.

This is a very well managed and family owned hotel that was able to respond quickly and competently to an unexpected power cut one morning just before breakfast. The residents were kept informed of what was happening, breakfast was made available, albeit with a reduced menu and the sanitary system was kept working - this shows how capable the team is at the Gilpin Hotel.

We had a virtually flawless stay and the only glitch was a muddle in our reservation where our preferred suite had been allocated to someone else; it may be worth checking that all is in order before you go; we were moved to an equivalent grade of suite without delay so no real problem there.

The food is very good indeed although the amuse bouche on two nights was of major proportions! We ate swordfish from the Grill Menu on two occasions and it was the best we have ever tasted - 12/10 to the chef.

The staff are exceptionally friendly without being over familiar, the restaurant service was attentive without being over fussy - just perfect. We also found the staff at reception to be very helpful with advice on where to visit and when and that helped us a lot as it rained a lot during our visit.

Perhaps the only negatives are the location which is about 3 miles from Bowness and Windermere so a car is necessary or one has to rely on local cabs and the absence of a gym/pool although the staff can arrange for access to these elsewhere.

We ate at Hooked in Windermere one evening and that is well worth a visit - it is a bit quirky but has superb fish.

In summary; this is not a cheap hotel but it is very good value for an exceptionally well managed and friendly hotel that serves excellent food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Fantastic review thank you very much we are really pleased you enjoyed your four night stay with us. It is lovely to read that you were still able to enjoy the local area and make the most of your stay even with the typical Lake District weather!

We will look forward to welcoming you back and will try and promise sunshine for you both next time.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times before but not for 3 years, and we needed a reminder about what a beautiful, elegant, comfortable hotel it is! All the decor and furnishings have been well thought out and are of excellent quality, much money must have been spent on it and it shows. There are many delightful places to sit both inside and out on the lovely terrace, we needed more than one night to do it justice! We booked a "basic" room but had been upgraded 2 levels to a beautiful split level room with its own little terrace outside - so thank you very much for that! Dinner was superb, even better than we remembered, very innovative menu, wonderful tastes and textures. The wine list had some very interesting offerings. Hope to be back later this year!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Wow what a delightful review, thank you very much. It is lovely to read that we were able to make your stay even better than last time and will look forward to welcoming you back a little later this year.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

For a start, this hotel is expensive! BUT, worth every penny. My wife took me for 3 nights for my 60th birthday and what a present it was. We were treated like royalty but in a very friendly, homely way. The staff and the family owners could'nt have done more to make us feel special. Each morning we looked out from our bedroom ( The Harriet ) onto their private lake and wooded grounds. So beautiful! The food was superb and seeing as the main restaurant is seperate from where we stayed, we were chauffeur driven to and from the restaurant.
We spent each afternoon sipping champagne in the outdoor hot tub, then went for a swim in their indoor pool finishing off in the sauna. Absolute luxury!!
Cannot wait for my wifes special birthday because we are going back!!

Room Tip: The hotel is split into 2 parts. Where we stayed was called 'The Lake House' which only has...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigginJarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Gilpin Hotel & Lake House to spend your special Birthday and for taking the time to write a superb review. The Harriet Suite at the Lake House is beautiful and is definitely the suite to choose when celebrating!

Thanks once again and we will hopefully see you both again soon.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely place for an entire week, to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. It just could not have been better! It takes a lot of work to deliver an experience like this! Whatever they are doing, they are doing it right. The service was superlative. Everyone was friendly and welcoming without somehow being overbearing. The smallest things were made easy. The food is absolutely top-notch, and you could have it in your room, the lounge, or the restaurant. The common areas are all lovely. And the room itself was huge and beautiful. The bathroom was huge and light and comfortable. We had our own hot tub on a small deck outside our window. Home-made sugar cookies appeared in our room daily. Really, what more could you ask? I will note that this is an expensive area, because it's a top UK destination. The room was not cheap. But, this is a clear case of value for money. You cannot go wrong with this place. (One other small note: it's not facing onto the Lake; it's a few miles away. You will need a car. But, that will be the case in this area regardless.)

Room Tip: We were in the Sergeant Man garden suite. It was wonderful! But, just to be clear: it's not pa...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Love the title of this review, thank you very much! We are really pleased we were able to create the perfect location and atmosphere for your wedding anniversary and hope you come back and visit us again.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,186 reviews
2.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
703 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $301 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing