We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Wensleydale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Just home after staying at Gilpin Lodge for my birthday treat. The perfect escape, the hotel has a lovely warm homely atmosphere whilst still maintaining a level of formality that makes it a place for a special treat. We stayed in St Sunday Crag Garden Suite and enjoyed watching the sun go down on a very chilly evening whilst sitting cosy in the outdoor hot tub. The room had everything you could possibly need, and a luxurious contempory feel. The bathroom was stunning and so cosy with the underfloor heating. The room had one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a lovely meal and a superb bottle of wine. The service across all parts of the hotel was excellent and it is so obvious and refreshing that it is family run, it shows in the level of care. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wensleydalelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Amazing review; many thanks! Glad we were able to create the perfect break away for your Birthday treat and we can’t wait for you to return and see us again soon!

Kind regards,

Barney and Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    128
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
108
980
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night a little while ago. The hotel has Super rooms especially the ones with the outdoor hot tubs. Very relaxing. Great service. Beautiful food! Definitely one of the best hotels in the lakes.

Room Tip: Have a room with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely Trip Advisor review it is super to read that you enjoyed every part of your stay and we hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Barney and Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'm picky about where I stay, and this little hotel is absolutely fantastic. The meal we had in the evening was superb. I had booked it as a surprise birthday gift for my husband who was in desperate need of a break from work. After a 6.5 mile walk on Sunday afternoon in the snow, and rain, we returned filthy, cold and wet but knowing I was going to be getting into a hot tub in our private garden was the only thing that kept me going. It did not disappoint and the 5 course meal was excellent.
Absolutely no reason why you wouldn't go to this hotel and I can't think of anything else to say other than go and visit it yourself!

Room Tip: We booked the Garden Room, so we had a hot tub to ourselves. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Amazing! Thank you very much for the perfect review! We aim to please and in this case definitely succeeded!!

Hope to see you both again soon.

Kindest regards,
Barney and Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spent three nights here in March and were blessed with two fine sunny days which gave us two excellent walking days around the hotel to several fine country inns.
The staff were helpul and it was so nice to have members of the family, who own and run the hotel, come round the dining room at breakfast and dinner for a general chat.
We spent one night in a Junior suite (kentmere) with nice double doors onto a patio and lawn and a huge corner whirlpool bath (unfortunately the taps were in the wrong place for two people to enjoy it); and two nights in a garden suite (Sergeant Man) with outside hot tub. Both rooms and bathrooms were very spacious with all the usual facilities.
The hotel is built into the hillside so that although you go upstairs inside the building you end up at ground floor level. The garden suites are reached by a short outside path and are all in a newly bult extension.
Most rooms have good views of the garden and the llamas!
The restaurant and bar were top class with very knowledgable staff and a fine selection of beers, wines and spirits. The food again was of a very high standard but the menu was limited to half a dozen starters and main courses. This was no problem to us staying three nights but may be if staying longer.
Altogether a fabulous stay which we hope to repeat.

Room Tip: Sergeant Man for a secluded hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a fine review. It is great to read that you enjoyed staying in both a Junior Suite and also a Garden Suite alongside loving the food and general atmosphere of the hotel. Our head chef Dan is wonderful and is always more than happy to offer guests more menu options.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,
Barney and Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had stayed in another hotel in the Lake District which did not quite come up to the mark so, having found the Gilpin Hotel on the web, I managed to persuade my husband to spend another night away from home. I am so glad I did. From first ringing up to find out what accommodation was available, the service and friendliness of the staff was perfect. We were upgraded to a master room which was perfect for us. It had a nice view over the garden to the hills beyond. We usually have a junior suite when staying in hotels, but this was perfectly adequate, with a sofa and chair and plenty room. The bathroom was a good size too. The staff have to be commended on their service and their ability to engender the feel good factor. Nothing was a problem or too much trouble for any of them. Dinner was as tasty as we have had in quite some time and the quantities were right for us. My allergy to nuts was recognised at all times and decaf TEA specially supplied in our room, and there was no need to remind staff, they knew what was needed and ensured it was supplied. My husband was taking luggage to the car and I was passing what had to go from our room. While he took a couple of items to the car, I made my way downstairs with something so he did not have to come back upstairs. While doing this two staff offered to take it, then after I have given him the last bags, a man quickly appeared, as if from nowhere, and took one of the bags immediately. It may seem like nothing but it was the way it was done - just so easy. Once the bag was loaded, the man introduced himself and had a quick chat. I was sorry we had to leave as I could have stayed for a few days quite happily. We will definitely go back and enjoy being cared for - there aren't many hotels can get it right all the time but the Gilpin did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willows6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are really pleased you managed to persuade your husband to let you stay an extra night too and that you chose to spend it with us!

Thank you very much for the superb review and your right nothing is ever too much trouble for our guests at the Gilpin Hotel and Lake House. We hope you come back soon!

Kindest regards,
Barney and Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I booked GIlpin lodge as a surprise for my husbands 30th birthday. The staff were most helpful when deciding which room to stay in.
I decided on the suite with a hot tub! This was amazing!
When we arrived, the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. The room was fabulous, just as it was described on the website.
We relaxed in the lounge on the afternoon and just enjoyed making use of the hotel. The manager came over and introduced himself which was lovely and all the staff were so lovely.
The meal was delicious and the service was great. Couldn't have asked for a better place to be!
Definitely worth a visit! I couldn't recommend this hotel more. We will definitely be back. I had a very happy husband!
The pool and fitness centre is at another hotel which is fine.

Room Tip: Cat bells room was amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkprincess50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review it is great to read that you both thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us especially the outdoor private hot tub in one of our Garden Suites Cat Bells…a very popular suite with our guests!

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,
Barney and Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our first visit and I hope it won't be our last! We stayed here for one night as a treat for my husband's birthday - and that may be the reason we were upgraded from a classic room to a junior suite which was a lovely surprise.
We were met on arrival (having had a phone call the day before to check our ETA.) Having booked in, we were given a tour of the public rooms before being shown to our room. It really is a beautiful hotel, all the furnishings are in very good taste but it all feels very comfortable and easy.
Our room was very spacious with a sitting area and doors opening onto our patio. And even in March it was warm enough to sit outside in the garden before having a cup of tea with lovely homemade shortbread biscuits (which along with the jug of iced water, were replaced while we were at dinner that evening).
And what a dinner - don't know where to start but it was possibly one of the best meals we have ever eaten. Starting with canapes in the bar, amuses bouches before the starter, a pre dessert and petits fours with our coffee it was all delicious, including of course the starters, mains and desserts themselves. Service was excellent, friendly to just the right degree and the different dining rooms only add to the general relaxed ambience.
Breakfast the following morning was just as good - a huge choice all served to us - no buffet tables here - with offers of more of juices/coffee/toast/pastries etc etc. Eating this while looking out to the garden and bird feeders - wonderful.
It was nice to meet Zoe who made a point of talking to each table of guests - and the llamas put in appearance this morning as well (for the reviewer who felt shortchanged that they didn't put in an appearance for them!!)
It might have been our first visit, it might only have been for one night, but we felt as valued as any of the returning customers. I know it's quite pricey but we felt it was value for money and just can't understand why it isn't rated the number 1 hotel in Windermere.
I can't believe you could ask for anything more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review and for spending your husband's Birthday with us! We are really pleased you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade into one of our lovely junior suites overlooking and hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Barney and Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing