We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food, Service and Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Service and Hospitality”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We only went for dinner but the Gilpin experience was so excellent I thought it only fair to post a review.

Due to an illness in the family I I booked a table for dinner at the very last minute for my wife's birthday and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We live locally in Bowness and haven't been for nearly a year but have constantly heard from friends who always seem to have a great lunch or dinner.

The place is as stunning as ever; as are the the people. You feel relaxed and at home as soon as you arrive and when you walk to the stunning cocktail/champagne bar you feel really spoilt. The cocktail menu and wine list are very extensive but my wife and our cousin had amazing cocktails. I was invited into the wine room by Richard to help me find a nice bottle of light red for dinner and he was of great assistance and more importantly exceptionally knowledgeable. After I had gotten down to 3 reds he made a recommendation which turned out to be amazing.

We eat out at many places in the Lakes and this is a real treat. I would say that Gilpin is certainly on a par (if not better) than L'Enclume. The flavours and textures of the food were amazing. An unexpected culinary highlight of the night was the amuse bouche; a tasty ham hock croquette with an excellent sauce accompaniment.

The service was also of top quality and spot on. Wine and water glasses were always topped up but in a very subtle silver service manner. However, when we engaged the servers they were extremely pleasant to talk with and an absolute credit to the place.

I just hope that the michelin people are watching as I feel Gilpin should be given an upgrade.

Thank you all so much for such a fantastic evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
It was a pleasure and thank you for the fabulous review! It is so nice to read such wonderful reviews and we are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us. Everyone at the hotel was really excited reading this particular review so thanks again for your kind words.

We do hope you are able to visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards, Zoe and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    129
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
112
1,010
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It was my partner's birthday and as I usually surprise her, I booked two nights in garden suite at Gilpin Hotel for the weekend. We've stayed at Relais & Châteaux hotels before and the Gilpin was as good as any; the Sargeant Man room was luxurious, private and, once we'd turned the radiator down(!), was extremely comfortable.

The main reason for booking a garden suite is the private hot tub, which at 10pm on a Saturday night is an amazing place to gaze at the stars from.

The food, both at dinner and at breakfast was superb, the service fantastic at all times.

One nice touch in the room, was the Cat which served as a 'do not disturb' sign when placed outside of the door. Naturally, we had to buy one to take back.

The Gilpin is not cheap but, for the amenities and overall quality, is worth it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadster_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and for choosing the Gilpin to spend your special occasion. It is nice to see that like us you fell in love with our Gilpin Cats and decided to re-home one! We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Zoe and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in the Cat Bells garden suite for 2 nights in October and we have to say it's amazing. Beautiful room, fantastic private garden (overlooked by a llama but we didn't mind) and outdoor hot tub, excellent staff and great food.
A great way to spend a weekend.

Room Tip: Go for Cat Bells if you can. The garden is completely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlpeAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review; CatBells is a superb Garden Suite which is always very popular with our guests and our llama’s by the sound of it! We hope we are able to welcome you back again soon…you may even get to see our new baby llama who was born last Wednesday…we are still trying to find the perfect name for her!

Kindest regards,

Zoe and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
729 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,563 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from a weekend with my wife, been here before and it was as good as always. We stayed this time in the garden suite - St Sundays Cragg. The room is well placed in the grounds with a Very private position so you can easily enjoy the outdoor jacuzzi, which was made even more special with the snow fall. The food here is amazing, but what the menu lacks in content it more than makes up with the quality. A must try is the walnut mouse!! Oh and don't forget to ask Eduardo's advise on the wine selection.
The level of service in this Hotel is uncompromising and is shows as to why they are one of if not the best Hotel in Cumbria. A little expensive but trust me its well worth that special occasion.

Room Tip: The garden suites are private and exclusive, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MULCASTER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Wow! Thank you very much for your wonderful review and kind words. Eduardo was over the moon that he was mentioned on Trip Advisor! All the team at Gilpin Hotel work very hard to provide an exceptional and friendly service so it is wonderful to read such positive reviews. Glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us again. Come back soon!

Kindest regards,

Zoe and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went with my sister & brother-in-law for a 'special' meal for my husbands 60th birthday, & I must say we thouroughly enjoyed every minute!! The location, setting, staff & wonderful food, we would recommend to 'anyone'!!! 5 star without a doubt!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mijulie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, really pleased to hear you all enjoyed your meal and I hope your husband had a superb Birthday to remember with us at the Gilpin. Hope to see you all again soon!

Kindest regards,

Zoe and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay at Gilpin Lodge. The garden suite was perfection with its outdoor hot tub inside double bath and rain shower. Previous reviews had questioned their privacy but we sated in 'Haystacks' and it was private enough and it was great to sit in the hot tub looking out to the snow on the hills.

The whole philosophy of Gilpin Lodge is to provide luxurious and designer surroundings whilst still providing a homely, warm, friendly experience. This is no easy task but they really have succeeded. The lounge / bar areas mix fires and comfy settees with a modern champagne bar serving top quality cocktails.

All the staff are friendly and attentive. The evening meal was amazing and I was left wondering why they don't have a michelin star? I can only think its down to small details like not having a Sommelier who had not tasted the wines ??

Breakfast was also great with everything served - no get it yourself here.

I would like to thank the staff for a great stay and hopefully we will be back soon.

Richard and Suzanne Walker


Q

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nrty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thanks for the highly complimentary review. The Garden Suites are terrific rooms and as you stated are even better sitting in a hot tub surrounded by snow and great views!

All of our team work very hard to provide a professional yet friendly service which obviously came across to you. Again, thank you for the positive Michelin star comment we do hope you come back to visit us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Zoe and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January during the snowy period and it was almost perfect. The room we stayed in (Buttermere) was beautifully designed and appointed. The staff were excellent. The cuisine was superb. The dining and living rooms were tasteful. From the outside the place is very unassuming but as you venture inside the building its like a tardis. Only spoilt on our visit by a vulgar and loud group of 4 who were celebrating a birthday to the point of drunkeness and were keen that the whole of Windermere could hear their boasts of visiting L'Enclume et al, but the establishment aren't responsible for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandExpects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing