We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in every way!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Horwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every way!!!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went with my sister & brother-in-law for a 'special' meal for my husbands 60th birthday, & I must say we thouroughly enjoyed every minute!! The location, setting, staff & wonderful food, we would recommend to 'anyone'!!! 5 star without a doubt!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mijulie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, really pleased to hear you all enjoyed your meal and I hope your husband had a superb Birthday to remember with us at the Gilpin. Hope to see you all again soon!

Kindest regards,

Zoe and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    131
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
115
1,016
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay at Gilpin Lodge. The garden suite was perfection with its outdoor hot tub inside double bath and rain shower. Previous reviews had questioned their privacy but we sated in 'Haystacks' and it was private enough and it was great to sit in the hot tub looking out to the snow on the hills.

The whole philosophy of Gilpin Lodge is to provide luxurious and designer surroundings whilst still providing a homely, warm, friendly experience. This is no easy task but they really have succeeded. The lounge / bar areas mix fires and comfy settees with a modern champagne bar serving top quality cocktails.

All the staff are friendly and attentive. The evening meal was amazing and I was left wondering why they don't have a michelin star? I can only think its down to small details like not having a Sommelier who had not tasted the wines ??

Breakfast was also great with everything served - no get it yourself here.

I would like to thank the staff for a great stay and hopefully we will be back soon.

Richard and Suzanne Walker


Q

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nrty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thanks for the highly complimentary review. The Garden Suites are terrific rooms and as you stated are even better sitting in a hot tub surrounded by snow and great views!

All of our team work very hard to provide a professional yet friendly service which obviously came across to you. Again, thank you for the positive Michelin star comment we do hope you come back to visit us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Zoe and Barney Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January during the snowy period and it was almost perfect. The room we stayed in (Buttermere) was beautifully designed and appointed. The staff were excellent. The cuisine was superb. The dining and living rooms were tasteful. From the outside the place is very unassuming but as you venture inside the building its like a tardis. Only spoilt on our visit by a vulgar and loud group of 4 who were celebrating a birthday to the point of drunkeness and were keen that the whole of Windermere could hear their boasts of visiting L'Enclume et al, but the establishment aren't responsible for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandExpects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ME
Level Contributor
169 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Not cheap but well worth the cost. Beautiful rooms, great staff, superb restaurant, lovely location behind Bowness. Food and wine really was special and the public rooms are better than a number of London 5 star hotels. Downsides; TV remote control not functioning (as normal..), quirky plumbing which would repay some TLC, service a little variable but always cheerful. Safe too small for anything except jewellery. Suite did not have a king size bed but many apparently prefer a double. Plenty parking. Lots of unique touches making it stand out from the chains; we really liked the toy cat to indicate DND. Overall one of the best hotels I've stayed in for a long time, and a return visit is likely.

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with the staff beforehand and get the room that suits you best. Worry about the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toomanybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our first visit to Gilpin was in October 2010 for my 50th birthday and it was excellant. We returned for 2 nights in October 2012 and again had another good experience. Its pricey but faultless particularly when you live locally and dont have to drive too far to start a relaxing break.
I recommend this Hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scmliq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have just celebrated my wife's birthday by staying at Gilpin Lodge for the weekend. The room was wonderful - beautifully clean and well appointed with the shortbread being replenished every day. The service throughout our stay was very friendly and attentive without being intrusive - Sarah was especially helpful. Breakfast and dinner was excellent, especially on the Saturday night - with a good selection of wines ranging from basic to very expensive. The canapes and amuse bouche were delightful and, together with a couple of glasses of champagne started both evenings off very nicely. The only suggestion I'd have to improve the experience, is for some quiet background music in the dining areas to provide a little more privacy as one couldn't help hearing others' conversations and so others could probably hear ours. It was not a cheap weekend, but we thoroughly enjoyed it and would go back again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel, we booked a hot tub room which we took advantage of and the rooms are spacious and have everything you need. The bathrooms are really nice with a lovely shower or a massive bath. We found it highly amusing that you have to put a stuffed cat outside the room as a do not disturb sign.

The restaurant and food is beautiful, the service is excellent, and attention to detail is out of this world and really make you feel welcome. The only criticism is they need background music on in the restaurant, everyone is whispering and it takes away the atmosphere, a little bit of soft music would do the trick. Loved the little touches of pre dinner starters and desserts.
Overall I can't fault this hotel and will be returning very shortly as we both loved our stay at the Gilpin lodge.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,141 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing