We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply sublime...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply sublime...”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This place is a tranquil escape from everyday life. We stayed in one of the Garden Suites and did not want to leave. The room and furnishings are of the highest quality and the hot tub was a real bonus.

If you want a getaway with superb food, accommodation and pure luxury then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    133
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
116
1,026
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed for one night at Gilpin Lodge at the end of June. We were in the Lake House & it was stunning! The views over the lake are superb and the rooms excellent. We stayed in the Harriet room which had large comfy bed, iPod player, lush robes/towels/slippers, lovely bathroom/shower area with lots of room. The hot tub is not to be missed & the swimming pool is lovely. You feel that you have the place to yourself as this is not really a hotel but a country pad with rooms. Breakfast in the Lake House was really good too & I had the best veggie breakfast ever outside my own home - thank you :-)

Dinner was over in the hotel and unfortunately we did not rate this as much as the Lake House accommodation. They are trying to be very Heston Blumenthal which is not my cup of tea at all (I love good food without the airbrushing fancies please!). On arrival in the seating area we were generally ignored by the staff for a good 10 minutes before we were asked if we would like a drink. We were then presented with a drinks menu & the waitress left again for 10 minutes. I finally had to catch hold of a passing waiter to enquire if it would be possible to order a drink (spitting feathers by this time!). On ordering our drinks we were left again with a different waitress returning to tell us that the drinks we ordered were not available! I hurriedly then ordered something I didn't really want (2 glasses of wine at £10 each!). So took about 30 minutes in total to get a drink after our arrival (not a good first impression). The canapes arrived but we were beyond interested by this time!

We didn't really like the menu choices (no veggie main course option, you had to ask for this - it's 2011 guys).

The food was very good but as I said, I really can't be doing with the Heston touch just keep it good & simple for me (Nigel Slater for me not Heston/Ramsay).

The head-honcho came around the tables to check if all was o.k. with everyone which was nice.

Service was good but a little over-powering (we poured our own wine from the bottle as our glasses were empty & got a ticking off from the waitress about this).

Expensive stuff but very good just pretentious titivation.

We would like to stay at the Lake House again but don't think we could do anymore than 1 night as the dining experience is a bit of a let down but there looks to be a good local pub at the top of the main road!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louie1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We were on a well earned break at Gilpin Lodge and were booked in for one night. We work in the hotel business in the Lake District and know how hard it can be to please some people. You can't do it all the time and the hotel industry is really hard work. Gilpin Lodge is probably the best place i have ever stayed. From when we walked in, we were made to feel really welcome and we just relaxed from the moment we arrived. The check in procedure is lovely, it's really nice that you dont have the stuffiness of a formal check in. My fiancee went to the room for a spa treatment (Which she told me afterwards was the best facial she has EVER had - big thanks to the lady who did that) and i went to the bar for a well earned G&T! I was surprised with the pricing of the drinks at the bar - i thought it was very fair in this world where hotel bars over-inflate the price of their drinks. The lady behind the bar was really chatty, and somehow knew my name - this was something that Gilpin has down to a tee - all the staff knew our names which was really nice. - So, then to the room - Perfection! We had a Junior Suite which was just perfect - The little touched that we liked was the home made biscuits (YUMMY!!) and the cat doorstop (If you dont want to be disturbed then put the cat out! - Brilliant!!) The jet bath was a really nice touch too - usually in suites the size of the bathroom is compromised but not here -it's massive!

The Food - I dont know what to say about this food - i've been raving about it since i left and cannot stop thinking about it - the menu is brilliant, very creative and not too pretentious. even the fussiest of eaters are catered for. The desserts were just amazing - the souffle is definitely worth the 20 minute wait!!

Juan in the restaurant is an absolute star and his enthusiasm kept us entertained all night. Thank you Juan!!

The whole ambience of the evening is one i'll not forget in a hurry - the lounge area is gorgeous at night and really cozy.

Breakfast was another treat - Everything was cooked really nice and never has a cooked breakfast seemed so healthy!

We really didnt want to leave - Zoe came round and checked we were all okay, a really nice touch. Thanks to all the staff we were lucky enough to meet - you really made our stay one we'll not forget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor. I liked it a lot, but for the price, there were several small things that I would have expected to be better. The bathroom ventilation was weak (and it was very hot when I arrived becuase the towel rail had been left switched on). The room had lots of little things around it, which was nice, but some of them looked like they had been there for a while. Internet didn't really work in the room that well and finally the decor was a little too old fashioned in some cases...

But - the rest of the place was wonderful. The dinner menu was excellent (although didn't change much the two nights I stayed so might get a little boring if you were staying longer). The wine choice was very good and Ziggy was very helpful in picking out the right wine and the service was impeccable. If this has been a £100 cheaper, it would have got 5 stars, but as the third most expensive hotel I have stayed this year it was up against some tough competition.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had the delightful opportunity to stay at Gilpin Lodge for three nights in June 2011. We had booked months in advance, in February, as part of our planned (but too brief) 8-day UK travels through the Peak District/Lake District/Cotswolds. But even that far in advance, the Lake House was already booked for the three midweek days we requested. But all worked out perfectly for us, as we had reserved Troutbeck, a splendidly appointed and wonderfully spacious Junior Suite in the main building that opens onto a large, beautiful private patio. Lovely. Although it was quite cool the days we were there, we still relaxed on that splendid patio, watching the Lodge’s llama peacefully munch its dinner.

While the room was wonderful –big, bright, and welcoming—with a large, beautifully appointed bath, we cannot say enough about how splendid the food was. Truly. The breakfasts were fresh, delicious, and plentiful with all the choices you could want.

But it’s at dinner that Gilpin Lodge works its remarkable magic. The menu is positively inspired, the food beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, and many of the desserts, positively divine. I came back talking about the food I’d eaten at Gilpin—not usual for me.

At meals, the service is exemplary—their young staff stops at nothing to make sure your dining experience is wonderful: for example, the one night they were offering a pre-appetizer with something I didn’t eat, they ran and provided me with something else—a gloriously fresh mushroom soup.

We made it a point to tell the owner (I believe that was Barney Cunliffe) how highly we thought of the meals , and he told us about hiring his young chef. We congratulate Gilpin Lodge—the choice of chef was a splendid one.

I will only mention two very small things —(1) As of June, they hadn’t yet got internet in the rooms, and it was spotty elsewhere. They are working on this and we understood. And (2) when we arrived (midday) we weren’t asked what time we wanted dinner (you have to reserve a time) , so when we finally went down for a drink, they said—well, everything else is full, but we could fit you in an early timeslot. From then on, we were always relegated to that early time slot—they never again asked us what time we wanted to eat. While it worked out for us—the early dinnertime—we didn’t feel as if we could choose a time. That was the one small glitch in the wonderful service-oriented attitude that makes Gilpin such a marvelous place to stay.

So we recommend Gilpin Lodge (as everyone else seems to) wholeheartedly and unreservedly. We hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwriter19118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Afternoon tea is absolutely wonderful and we've tried a few!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emberton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary in the Lake House. The location is beautiful, the staff extremely helpful. The dinner at Gilpin Lodge was by far the nicest food we had up in the Lakes. Well presented and delicious. The staff organised horse-riding locally for me. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,434 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing