We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,343)
Filter reviews
1,343 results
Traveler rating
1,203
106
28
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,203
106
28
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house orrest head suite owners jonathan and caroline wansfell room lake district small hotel fresh milk in the fridge beautiful hotel perfect hosts spa bath high standard breakfast and dinner both nights sitting room wine list my partner eggs benedict
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,343 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a surprise birthday meal in the restaurant and couldn't fault the quality, staff excellent. We had booked a different hotel for our accommodation but based on what we saw at Cedar Manor, we should of booked this. Next time we are in the lakes it will be top of the list. Well done for going the extra mile with simple but attentive touches.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PhilDonaghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for reviewing your surprise dinner at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and look forward to welcoming you as a hotel guest next time too!
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Beautiful manor home with excellent service. Our suite was lovely-Orrest’s Head. It seemed newly decorated. The entire place was very tastefully decorated, and the bed was super comfy. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed dinner in their restaurant, in addition to the daily breakfast, and it was all really delicious.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bonniefoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Orrest Head Suite and dinner/breakfast in our restaurant. We hope the rest of your trip was equally enjoyable.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

Hotel is lovely and quiet set back from the road.
Garden immaculate with gigantic cedar tree.
A very warm welcome and our room and bathroom were beautifully designed and colour co-ordinated.
The owners are so friendly and helpful.
Our weather was typical lake district..rather wet but we had a great weekend revisiting places we had not seen for some time.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JEll456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent weekend break at Cedar Manor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and bathroom, shame about the weather but as you say, its rather typical of the Lakes.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Another year, another meal. We can never fault this place for its wonderful food, always a lovely choice on the menu, always beautifully cooked; or the welcome and the service. Its a great ambience - like being in a good friend’s house for a private dinner party. Many thanks again for another wonderful evening.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank rabandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much for reviewing your annual dinner at Cedar Manor. Really pleased that you enjoyed your return and we have to say that it never feels like a year since the last visit!
We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2020, but do get in touch as we hope to be launching afternoon tea during the winter and it could be another dining option for you.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

Unfortunately room was far too hot even with windows open only one choice of pillow and duvet and again thick heavy hot and not appropriate for everyone, home and staff wonderful. Food not to our standard again pretty but bland. No atmosphere in food lounge again pretty candles but no one talking had to whisper, needed music or a bit of something other than lights off and candle on table.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gilchristemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay and also providing us with feedback directly.
It's a shame that you didn't enjoy your stay at Cedar Manor. Radiators and heated towel rails can easily be turned off with the thermostatic controls. There is a large fan in the room also, which we keep in the wardrobe, this can help keep the room coolers on warmer nights.
As you say there is just one choice of pillow and duvet from our chosen supplier, The Fine Bedding Company. We can easily swap for sheets and blankets, and we have thinner pillows on request. We find it a bit strange that you didn't say anything after your first night, it could have been rectified for your second night.
With regards to the food, perhaps it's just not to your taste, it's of a very high standard and without going on too much, we source locally where possible, keep it seasonal and interesting and our chefs have been preparing delicious food for our guests for years.
Background music is played, gently and we certainly don't have it blaring out. The combined effect of gentle music, fresh flowers and candles usually adds to the romance of the restaurant and evening, we are sorry that it didn't appeal to you.
So, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, it could have been improved massively if you had just had a word with any staff member, they are all very friendly and do their best to look after all our guests and will be very disappointed that they weren't given the opportunity to improve your experience.
Best regards
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews